Parkland Press

Sunday, October 20, 2019

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, September 20, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

·Miller-Keystone Blood Center, Bethlehem, is open Sundays for blood donors at the Bethlehem site and volunteers are needed to serve as canteen attendants.

Contact Naomi Pratt at 610-691-5850 or npratt@hcsc.org.

·Downtown Bethlehem Association has volunteer opportunities for the Bethlehem Fashion Event Sept. 22.

Contact Kasara McLaughlin at 610-577-6962 or kasaram@lehighvalleychamber.org.

·Eastern PA Down Syndrome Center, Trexlertown, needs volunteers for its 13th annual Lehigh Valley Buddy Walk at the Bob Rodale Cycling and Fitness Park and Valley Preferred Cycling Center Sept. 29.

Email Julie Dody at dody6pa@yahoo.com.

·Historic Bethlehem Partnership is looking for volunteers to help with grounds maintenance at Burnside Plantation.

Contact Jill Caggiano at 610-882-0450 ext. 20 or jcaggiano@historicbethlehem.org.

·Sixth Street Shelter, Allentown, needs volunteers who love working with kids.

Contact Lauren Schwartz at 610-435-1490 or lschwartz@caclv.org.

·Special Olympics, Bethlehem, is having its third annual car show Oct. 21 and many volunteer opportunities are available.

Contact Bob Sehee at 610-419-3285 or volunteers@bethlehemsopa.org.

·Coco Foundation, Bethlehem, needs volunteers for its annual Tee Time for Coco Golf Tournament Sept. 29.

Contact Lisa Walker at 570-954-8024 or lisa@thecocofoundation.org.

·Cedarbrook Nursing Home, Allentown, is in need of volunteers to transport residents to programs 6:30-8:30 p.m. Mondays, Tuesdays and some Thursdays.

Contact Darlene Altrichter at 610-336-5684 or darlenealtrichter@lehighcounty.org.

·Community Bike Works, Allentown, needs "Earn a Bike" Instructors to mentor and assist children ages 9-17 repairing bicycles.

Contact James Williams at 610-434-1140 or james@communitybikeworks.org.

·Lehigh County Conference of Churches, Allentown, needs volunteers to pair with Allentown high school students who want to improve their lives.

Contact Abby Goldfarb at 610-439-8653 ext. 14 or agoldfarb@lehighchurches.org.

·Moravian Hall Square, Nazareth, has several opportunities for people who enjoy playing games.

Contact Peggy Hanzelman at 610-746-1334 or peggyh@moravian.com.

***

Contact the Volunteer Center to receive a brochure listing agencies needing volunteers at 610-807-0336 or vc@volunteerlv.org.

Visit volunteerlv.org for a larger listing of volunteer opportunities.