Parkland Press

Friday, November 15, 2019

VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

Thursday, September 13, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·Center For Animal Health and Welfare, Easton, is seeking volunteers to walk dogs, assist with morning cleanings, attend off-site events to promote the shelter, cat and dog enrichment and general shelter help.

Contact Walt Hoffman at 610-252-7722 ext. 4 or cahwvolunteercoordinator@rcn.com.

·Center For Vision Loss, Allentown, needs volunteers to assist clients with visual impairment during a weekly walk at the Lehigh Valley Mall 9-10:30 a.m. every Wednesday. Current FBI criminal background check is required.

Contact Rita Lang at 610-433-6018 ext. 225 or rita.lang@centerforvisionloss.org.

·Compeer of the Lehigh Valley, Allentown, needs volunteers for one-on-one friendship matches. Compeer matches volunteers with members who are in stable, mental health recovery.

Call 610-774-1450 or email compeer@pbfalv.org.

·Habitat For Humanity of the Lehigh Valley ReStore, Whitehall, seeks volunteers for ReStore crew. Help needed Tuesday-Saturday; flexible hours; some training provided.

Contact Camille Urbano at 610-776-7737 ext. 318 or Camille@habitatlv.org.

·Pennsylvania Outdoor Veterans, Lehighton, a 50l (c)(3) nonprofit organization serving veterans and their families throughout Pennsylvania, is seeking letters of interest for board of directors. Volunteers are also needed to help with fundraising, grant writing, events, programs and administrative duties. Website is pennsylvaniaoutdoorveterans.org.

Contact Ryan Bowman at 484-629-5454 or rbowman430@gmail.com.

·Second Harvest, Nazareth, needs volunteers for warehouse sorting. A volunteer receptionist is needed three times a week.

Contact Angelie Roche at 484-287-4015 or aroche@caclv.org.

·SpiriTrust Lutheran Home Care and Hospice, Allentown, is looking for friendly people to visit hospice clients.

Contact Cathy Sweeney at 570-453-5265 or csweeney@spiritrustlutheranhc.org.

·Gress Mountain Ranch, Orefield, has volunteer opportunities for youth age 10 with adult or 14 and older without an adult.

Contact Kathryn Gress at 610-398-2122 or gressranch@gmail.com.

***

Contact the Volunteer Center to receive a brochure listing agencies needing volunteers at 610-807-0336 or vc@volunteerlv.org.

Visit volunteerlv.org for a larger listing of volunteer opportunities.