Parkland Press

Sunday, April 5, 2020

Board readies for 2020

Wednesday, January 22, 2020 by SUSAN RUMBLE Special to The Press in Local News

Diane Kelly, Matthew Mobilio and Michael Wolk took their oaths of office on Jan. 6 to join the South Whitehall board of commissioners.

They won their positions in the general election last November.

The public meeting room was filled with family members and friends and a feeling of good will as the new board members were applauded.

Joe Setton, who was appointed to the board after the resignation of Mark Pinsley, took his oath previously at the office of Magisterial District Judge Jake Hammond.

Setton already was seated on the board for the two December 2019 meetings.

President Christina “Tori” Morgan, the only person remaining from the previous board, commented before the election of officers.

“It’s an exciting future for all of us,” Morgan said. “We have four out of five new board members. It is essential we do not create instability.”

Setton nominated Morgan for president. Mobilio seconded the motion.

Mobilio, Wolk, Setton and Morgan voted in favor. Kelly voted no.

Setton then appointed Mobilio as vice president. This was seconded by Morgan.

The motion failed 3-2, as Kelly, Mobilio and Wolk voted against, and Morgan and Setton in favor.

The next open position was assistant secretary. This person serves if the board secretary from South Whitehall staff, Tracy Fehnel, is unable to be present.

Morgan nominated Wolk for assistant secretary which was approved with all five voting in favor.

The newly constituted board of commissioners then turned to the agenda and got to work on township matters.