Parkland Press

Tuesday, May 26, 2020

Education foundation announces alumni wall of honor inductees

Friday, March 13, 2020 by The Press in School

Parkland’s education foundation has announced the Distinguished Alumni Wall of Honor Inductees for 2020.

The Wall of Honor, located inside the main entrance of the high school was established nine years ago.

Wall plaques highlight inductee achievements and include a current photo as well as the inductee’s senior picture.

Individuals on the wall serve as an inspiration to all students to achieve excellence and remind the entire community of Parkland’s commitment to a quality educational program.

Inductees will be honored at the foundation’s ninth annual Distinguished Alumni Gala presented by St. Luke’s University Health Network on May 20 at Muhlenberg College.

Distinguished alumni wall of honor inductees include:

·The Honorable Anna Kristie Morffi Marks, 1998, judge Lehigh County Court of Common Pleas;

·Capt. Erin Williams, 2007, U.S. Army; professor of Systems Engineering at West Point;

·The late Peter Denitz, 1972, vice president of Brinckeroff Transit and Rail Technical Excellence Center;

·Vikas Joshi, 1990, owner Joshi Hotel Group; and

·Lt Col. John Trombetta, 2000, experimental test pilot for fighter aircraft U.S. Air Force.

Last fall, the Parkland community was invited to nominate alumni/alumna for the Wall of Honor.

Nominees are evaluated on the following criteria:

·Accomplishments in his or her chosen career;

·Volunteer work or acts of service;

·Positive impact on people or contributions to others; and

·Special recognition or awards.

A selection committee comprised of one member from the education foundation board, school district administration, seasoned Parkland teacher, gala committee volunteer and a member from the local business community reviewed the applications and scored them using a rubric.

The five finalists were then approved by the foundation board of directors.