Parkland Press

Sunday, April 5, 2020

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, April 1, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Coronavirus is bad; we’ve overcome worse

So now we know what we are up against.

The federal government is preparing for up to 200,000 dead Americans and at least another month of social distancing.

The United States now has fully mobilized its national power against the coronavirus and President Donald Trump is preparing the nation for a long and difficult challenge ahead.

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, April 1, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

The fight against COVID-19 is a war:

War and conflict have been a ceaseless part of human history. The battle against the COVID-19 virus is an enemy no nation has ever met.

COVID-19 never tires. COVID-19 ceaselessly attacks, and COVID-19 is a survivor. COVID-19 is an awesome enemy but like all enemies in all wars, COVID-19 will be defeated.

In the battle to defeat COVID-19, there are an amazing number of organizations adopting military-style principles to defeat the disease and win the war for human health.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, April 1, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Four little words

It is a scene being played across the nation, county and in the Lehigh Valley.

Employees may be asked to gather in the corporation auditorium, meet in smaller groups in a conference room or large office, or close the door behind them as they cross the threshold of their immediate supervisor’s office.

Some gatherings may need to wait for an owner or company CEO or upper level manager to appear. Nervous whispers may be exchanged. Throats are cleared.

And then the words, heard frequently right now, are spoken.

You are laid off.

Election Policy

Wednesday, April 1, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates and readers

Gov. Tom Wolf signed SB 422 on March 27 postponing the General Primary to June 2 due to the coronavirus pandemic.

As we approach the June 2 General Primary, the Parkland Press and the Northwestern Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the April 30 edition.

Another View

Thursday, March 26, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

‘We’re all in this together’

My last Another View opinion piece was published Feb. 5 and 6 in The Press newspapers.

The headline — “Coronavirus is not what you should be worried about in U.S.”

I was wrong. I never thought our country would see the troubles it currently is having.

The actions being taken to combat COVID-19 are disrupting every part of American lives — work, education, places of worship, hospitals, businesses for leisurely activities, family and friend gatherings and more.

GUEST VIEW

Thursday, March 26, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Coronavirus: A test of who we are

A little more than three months ago, China reported a cluster of pneumonia cases which became the genesis of the novel coronavirus.

A month later, there were about 10,000 cases worldwide, including the first one in the United States.

And now, a little more than a month after that, there have been more than 425,000 cases with nearly 20,000 deaths worldwide, more than 8,000 cases and more than 130 deaths in the United States, including more than 900 cases in Pennsylvania and two deaths in Northampton County.

CHOSEN WORDS

Thursday, March 26, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

It couldn’t hurt

If you know someone

Who is down and out,

And is flailing all about,

Give them a call

To say hello,

It couldn’t hurt.

If you have a friend you know is sad,

Listen to them if they’re feeling bad.

Let them talk and let it out,

It couldn’t hurt.

If ever you get in a situation where

You are lonely, and hoping for someone to care,

Simply fold your hands and say a prayer,

It couldn’t hurt.

By Shirley Binkley

Cedar View Apartments

shrobi53@gmail.com

Editor’s View

Wednesday, March 18, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

‘It is more blessed to give than to receive’

There’s a saying, We plan, and God laughs.

News of COVID-19, the new strain of the coronavirus, creeping ever closer to our neighborhoods has brought much anxiety to our lives. Add to that the cancellations of community activities, some of which we rely on to bring happiness and a sense of calm.

Daily we find ourselves looking for ways to keep our loved ones safe.

This requires some planning. But for so many, this planning can be overwhelming — even seemingly impossible.

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, March 18, 2020 by The Press in Opinion

Their secrets are not safe with us

Most of us prefer sunshine. It’s rare to hear someone say, “That was a nice, cloudy day.”

We’re invigorated by a glorious sunrise and spend hours outdoors on brilliantly sunny days.

As John Denver so succinctly sang, “Sunshine on my shoulders makes me happy.”

In journalism, the reference to sunshine takes on an equally important meaning. Each year in March, news media organizations across the country celebrate Sunshine Week.