Parkland Press

Tuesday, September 26, 2017

volunteer Opportunities

Wednesday, September 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

·Center for Animal Health and Welfare, Easton, is seeking volunteers to walk dogs, assist with morning cleanings, attend off-site events to promote the shelter, cat and dog enrichment and general shelter help.

Contact Walt Hoffman at 610-252-7722 ext. 4 or email cahwvolunteercoordinator@rcn.com.

·Allentown Rescue Mission, Allentown, is looking for volunteers to help plan its WAEB Spaghetti Dinner on Oct. 14.

Contact Deirdre Federico Snyder at 610-740-5500 ext. 322 or dfederico@armspa.org.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, September 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Football

What is all that ruckus that we hear in football season?

For wives to be so darn upset — I just don’t see the reason.

To watch some men who run around and try to catch a ball,

Some times is rather funny, especially when they fall.

At times they look quite silly while running in the rain;

Although they don’t give up, no way, they want that ball again!

They act like little children, sometimes they even fight;

They push, they shove, they grunt, they groan, and run with all their might.

Guest View

Wednesday, September 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Now is the time to focus on future jobs

Labor Day is a day dedicated to recognizing the social and economic achievements of American workers and their contribution to the strength, prosperity and well-being of our wonderful nation.

When the first Labor Day was celebrated in September 1882, it was at a time when American cities were the hub of industrial employment.

That being said, times have changed, and Pennsylvania must change in order to be able to provide first-rate jobs for our residents.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, September 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Sixteen years and counting

Dear reader:

Monday marked the 16th anniversary of the fall of the World Trade Center towers. Sixteen years.

In 2013, soon after I came to the office of The Press newspapers, my opportunity to write an editorial fell on Sept. 10.

I wrote of personal recollections of that day; vacuuming the floor in my parents’ home in Upper Milford Township when news images began to flood television screens, anxiously awaiting for word of the whereabouts of my sister who was in New York City that day and others.

volunteer OPPORTUNITIES

Thursday, September 7, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

·Center For Animal Health and Welfare, Easton, is seeking volunteers to walk dogs, assist with a.m. cleanings, attend off site events to promote the shelter, cat and dog enrichment and general shelter help.

Contact Walt Hoffman at 610-252-7722, ext. 4 or cahwvolunteercoordinator@rcn.com.

·Bethlehem Special Olympics is in need of a training coordinator.

Contact Dana Lindsay at 267-221-7740 or bso.dana@gmail.com.

·St. Luke’s University Health Network, Bethlehem, is in need of volunteer escorts and dispatchers.

Another view

Thursday, September 7, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

National Emergency Preparedness Month

A few weeks ago, I was making some toast in the toaster oven for breakfast. Little did I know, there were crumbs on the bottom just waiting to be burned.

Within a few seconds to a minute, a small flame started in the toaster oven, and I had a mini freak-out.

Not knowing exactly what to do correctly, on the spur of the moment, I unplugged the toaster oven and waited for a few seconds to see if the flame decreased. Thankfully, it did.

Chosen Words

Thursday, September 7, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Hair

I wonder why when God gave us hair, he didn’t take a bit more care.

It seems as though he got confused and got mixed up with what he used!

The heads with lots of hair on top complain it’s too much work to crop,

While balding ones would surely pay to keep the hair some throw away.

The ones with natural curly hair don’t seem to want the curls up there.

Still others have to work and save to get their super-curly wave.

Red heads change their hair to black, then turn around and grow it back.

Another view

Thursday, August 31, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Saying goodbye to the job I love

Sixteen years is a long time. I don’t think I realized just how long until I started cleaning out my office desk.

It’s been 16 years and about nine months since I first came to work for East Penn Publishing, now the Lehigh Valley Press weekly newspapers.

In a short time, I will step into a life of retirement — a season of my life which I hope will also last a long time.

In anticipation of that final day in the office, I’ve been cleaning out my desk, one file at a time, and I have come across a lot of memories.

Guest View

Thursday, August 31, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Property tax reform referendum to be placed on November ballot

Property taxes continue to be a top concern and an overwhelming burden for many Pennsylvania homeowners.

This onerous tax has jeopardized the American dream of homeownership for countless individuals, especially our seniors who may have paid off their home, but can no longer afford to keep it due to high property taxes.

In the latest effort to address this issue, the state legislature has passed legislation that will allow for a referendum on property tax reform to appear on the ballot during the November general election.