Parkland Press

Sunday, July 23, 2017

One-in-three U.S. drivers can’t pay

Thursday, July 20, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

According to a new AAA survey, 64 million American drivers would not be able to pay for an unexpected vehicle repair without going into debt, highlighting the importance of taking every precaution possible to keep your car running smoothly.

Although an average repair bill can cost a driver up to $600, the price can soar higher when a vehicle has been poorly maintained.

LIVING THE VINTAGE YEARS The world is our classroom

Thursday, July 20, 2017 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK in Opinion

I am a lifelong student. I try to learn something new every day.

No, I don’t sit in a classroom semester after semester, year after year, or take courses on the Internet, although I would enjoy both of those pursuits, too.

I always loved school, from first grade through grad school.

To me, the whole world is a gigantic classroom, full of fascinating free lessons for all of us.

Some folks partake of this wonderful opportunity to gain more knowledge, while others pass up the chance.

ANOTHER VIEW

Thursday, July 20, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Let’s Build Construction Camp for Girls has a full house during inaugural week

Last month, the Lehigh Valley celebrated a first when it became home to the debut of the Let’s Build Construction Camp for Girls.

The camp welcomed teen girls ages 14-18 for a week of instruction, study and hands-on experience in construction trades, architecture, engineering and construction manufacturing.

Chosen Words

Thursday, July 20, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

God’s World

It truly is God’s world! I thank him every day, as I awake

And see the sun as nighttime rolls away.

When I arise each morning, there’s color everywhere;

The trees, the grass, the flowers, all swaying in the air,

The colors of the rainbow reflecting from the sun,

The vast blue sky, with wispy clouds, they float by one by one.

The shades of green are varied, and as you look around,

The yellows, reds, and purples are poking through the ground.

The time of year won’t matter; in summer, spring or fall,

Guest View

Wednesday, July 12, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Protect yourself against identity theft

It is a sobering fact to learn that more than 10 million Americans annually have their personal information stolen by identity thieves.

That is why it is more important than ever for individuals to safeguard their personal information.

Identity theft can devastate a person’s finances and credit rating, which can impact one’s ability to get a loan, purchase a car or even get a job.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, July 12, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

I Wonder

I wonder ‘bout a lot of things,

I wonder every day,

I wonder why we fight and kill,

Just to have our way.

I wonder why our Lord don’t stop

The ugliness we see;

I wonder why the world has changed,

And why it has to be.

I wonder what protesters feel

As they march along and scream;

I wonder what they scream about,

Or if they ever dream.

There is a LOT to shout about,

There’s love and hope and joy!

I wonder if all people

Could find love they could employ.

Another view

Wednesday, July 12, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Engage your child’s mind!

Ahhh … it’s the summer — when kids rejoice in having no homework, assignments and school responsibilities for a few months.

But is that really a good thing? A New York Times Op-Ed contributor says no, it’s not, according to a July 27, 2011, article.

Jeff Smink said, “If students are not engaged in learning over the summer, they lose skills in math and reading. Summers off are one of the most important, yet least acknowledged, causes of underachievement in our schools.”

Guest View

Wednesday, July 12, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Dangerous road conditions arise from downpours AAA East Central offers rainy day driving tips

With more summer rain in the forecast, AAA East Central reminds motorists that driving in adverse weather conditions requires preparation, good tires, well-maintained brakes, and streak-free wipers. To maximize driving safety be aware of road conditions, reduce speed appropriately, and be prepared for challenging situations.

Chosen Words

Thursday, July 6, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

I believe in all things good,

I believe in doing as you should.

I believe all people are good,

Some are simply misunderstood.

I believe in helping each other,

I believe in loving one another.

I believe in broken hearts

I believe in brand-new starts.

I believe that hearts can heal,

I believe that God is real.

I believe in Santa Clause,

Although he’s just a myth.

I’ll always think it’s Santa, who

Brings us all our gifts.

I believe in love at first sight,

I believe in moonlit nights.

Chosen Words

Thursday, June 29, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A Patriotic March

God bless America!

She means so much to me

Glory laud and honor, and love for my country.

Our forefathers died for us,

so we could be free,

With their lives they paid the price, for our liberty!

Hail to our red, white and blue

Always hold them close to you.

Proudly fly our flag on high —

let it lead the way

As we proudly stand and say,

I LOVE THE USA!

Come, march along with me.

Come along and sing,

Let our flag forever wave and

LET OUR FREEDOM RING!!!

Shirley Binkley