Parkland Press

Monday, July 22, 2019

Chosen Words

Wednesday, July 17, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Yesterday

Yesterday is gone for good,

It’s gone for evermore!

But today is now upon us,

It’s today we must endure.

Each day that comes has a story to tell,

There is something new every day.

Capture the moment, enjoy every hour,

’Cause today will soon go away!

Tomorrow will come,

We’ll live life again,

Today will be out of our way;

No matter what, no matter how,

Each day turns to yesterday!

By Shirley Binkley

Cedar View Apartments

shrobi53@gmail.com

GUEST VIEW II

Wednesday, July 17, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Legislation is a platter, not a buffet

My dad was the ultimate meat and potatoes guy. Beef and potatoes, sausage and potatoes, pork and potatoes … pretty much every meal.

If I wanted spaghetti one night, I was usually told “you’ll have what mom makes for dinner … this isn’t a buffet.”

Legislation is a lot like dinner was in my house growing up: you ate the platter that mom served.

As much as I would like to, I simply can’t pick and choose the parts of a bill I support; it’s always take it or leave it.

The 2019-20 state budget included a lot that was quite good.

Guest View

Wednesday, July 17, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

State budget is smoke, mirrors and contradictions

After Gov. Tom Wolf introduces the state budget in February, legislators spend a lot of time debating, horse-trading and using it for point-scoring with constituents before its scheduled passing by June 30.

Along the way, there is posturing by both parties and the governor as they plead their respective cases to taxpayers about special interests. It might be education, minimum wage, health care or any of another dozen or so hot-button topics.

Another View

Wednesday, July 17, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

‘The Eagle has landed’: Man walks on moon 50 years ago

“That’s one small step for man, one giant leap for mankind.”

These are the famous words spoken by Neil Armstrong, the American astronaut who was the first person to walk on the moon. Armstrong was also an engineer, a pilot and a college professor.

After the Apollo 11 mission, Armstrong said his microphone didn’t pick up the word “a,” so what he actually said was, “That’s one small step for a man, one giant leap for mankind.”

During Apollo 11, which occurred from July 16, 1969, to July 24, 1969, Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin captured Americans back home.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, July 10, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

A Patriotic March

God bless America!

She means so much to me,

Glory laud and honor,

and love for my country.

Our forefathers died for us,

so we could be free,

With their lives they paid the price,

for our liberty!

Hail to our red, white and blue,

Always hold them close to you.

Proudly fly our flag on high —

let it lead the way,

As we proudly stand and say,

I love the USA!

Come, march along with me.

Come along and sing,

Let our flag forever wave and

Let our freedom ring!

Shirley Binkley

Watching the women’s soccer team win on July 7

Wednesday, July 10, 2019 by DOUGLAS GRAVES in Opinion

People from all over the Lehigh Valley converged on the Steel Stacks PPL parking lot in South Bethlehem to watch the United States women’s soccer team win the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) World Cup on July 7.

The U.S. team won the game 2-0 defeating the Netherland’s team, in France, as local soccer enthusiasts and fans sweltered on the sun-baked pavement in front of a huge, trailer-mounted television screen.

Beer and food vendors kept the crowd well satiated.

Area state senators and representatives

Wednesday, July 10, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

State Senate

Sen. Lisa Boscola, D-18th

Office: 1 E. Broad St., Suite 120, Bethlehem

Phones: 610-868-8667; 717-787-4236.

Sen. Pat Browne, R-16th

Office 702 Hamilton St., Allentown

Phones: 610-821-8468; 717-787-1349.

Sen. Mario Scavello, R-40th

Office: 2 N. Robinson Ave., Pen Argyl; 2989 Route 611, Unit 103, Tannersville, Monroe County

Phones: 610-863-1200; 570-620-4326; 717-787-6123.

State House

Rep. Gary Day, R-187th

Office: 6299 Route 309, Suite 302, New Tripoli

Phones: 610-760-7082; 717-787-3017.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, July 10, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Women’s soccer team focused on scoring goals, equality

The United States Women’s National Soccer Team, USWNT, earned a record fourth title win when it faced off against the Netherlands, the 2017 European champions, July 7 for the FIFA Women’s World Cup.

This 2-0 win marks the culmination of the immense skill and hard work demonstrated by these athletes over the years.

The USWNT has now won four World Cup titles, including the first one in 1991.

The team has also won four Olympic gold medals. The USWNT has medaled in every World Cup and Olympic tournament in women’s soccer history from 1991-2015.

Editor’s View

Tuesday, July 2, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Let’s celebrate!

“When in the Course of human events it becomes necessary for one people to dissolve the political bands which have connected them with another and to assume among the powers of the earth, the separate and equal station to which the Laws of Nature and of Nature’s God entitle them, a decent respect to the opinions of mankind requires that they should declare the causes which impel them to the separation.

GUEST VIEW

Tuesday, July 2, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Schweyer thanks city’s first responders for their actions after Deja Vu shooting

I had originally planned on penning a review of the 2019-20 state budget.

And I still will, but the tragic shooting in the early hours of June 20 in Downtown Allentown that left 10 people hospitalized changed my thinking.

Frankly, I think this is much more important.

I live in Allentown, in fact I have for most of my life, having been raised in Center City.