Parkland Press

Thursday, November 14, 2019

Area state senators

Wednesday, November 13, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

State Senate

Sen. Lisa Boscola, D-18th

Office: 1 E. Broad St., Suite 120, Bethlehem

Phones: 610-868-8667; 717-787-4236.

Sen. Pat Browne, R-16th

Office: 702 Hamilton St., Allentown

Phones: 610-821-8468; 717-787-1349.

Sen. Mario Scavello, R-40th

Offices: 2 N. Robinson Ave., Pen Argyl;

2989 Route 611, Unit 103, Tannersville, Monroe County

Phones: 610-863-1200; 570-620-4326; 717-787-6123.

State House

Rep. Gary Day, R-187th

Office: 6299 Route 309, Suite 302, New Tripoli

Phones: 610-760-7082; 717-787-3017.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, November 13, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Meeting a childhood idol

Do you have a childhood idol? Someone you would like to meet?

My sister, Donna’s childhood idol, Gene London, was the host of the children’s show “Cartoon Corners” or “The Gene London Show.”

Based out of Philadelphia, he was on WCAU-TV Channel 10 from 1959 to 1977.

During his show, London would tell stories and use a large drawing pad to illustrate key scenes and characters.

Then there was the theme song:

“Come right on in to the General Store,

We have licorice, gumdrops and sourballs;

Anything that you’re hankering for,

Chosen Words

Wednesday, November 13, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Home of the free

I read two verses the other day,

And enjoyed what they had to say.

“Our flag does not fly because the wind moves it,

It flies with the last breath of each soldier,

Who died protecting it.”

And

“Home of the free, because of the brave.”

This brought me back to my youth, when we were at war,

When our children came home battered and sore;

They served with honor, but never complained,

Many of them re-enlisted again.

Many soldiers never came home. Their families took such a loss;

GUEST view

Wednesday, November 13, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Honoring our veterans through various programs

Our servicemen and women have put their lives on the line, serving our country with honor and dignity.

Their sacrifices have not gone unnoticed, which is why I want to highlight several programs I have championed to help benefit our veterans.

Startups for Soldiers

I created the Startups for Soldiers program to help veterans seeking to start a business. The program, signed into law in 2016, has proved to be a great success.

Since January 2018, 5,403 veterans and reservist business owners have saved more than $604,720 in business startup and licensing fees.

‘Fall back’ driving tips as daylight saving time ends

Friday, November 8, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

With the end of daylight saving time, motorists will be presented with challenges during their commutes that could impact pedestrian safety.

AAA East Central recommends that motorists and pedestrians make changes in their daily habits to adjust to reduced visibility caused by sun glare in the morning, and earlier darkness in the evening.

CHOSEN WORDS

Friday, November 8, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

I heard those words the other day,

My mind began to run away;

Thinking of all the “things” we possess

To brighten our lives every day.

All of our creature comforts,

All of our friends that we share;

The sun, the moon, the sky, the stars,

The beauty everywhere.

God gave us eyes so we could see,

And, ears so we could hear;

A mouth so we could talk,

And, legs so we could walk.

He gave us feet, and arms, and hands,

So we could stand, and hug and feel;

A body big and strong,

Guest View

Thursday, October 31, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

New law requires construction industry employers to use E-Verify system

A new law I authored, known as the Construction Industry Employee Verification Act, recently became law and will take effect next year.

This law will require employers in the construction industry to use the federal E-Verify system to ensure their new hires do not include individuals not authorized to work in the United States.

Unfortunately, there are many unscrupulous employers who hire individuals not authorized to work in the U.S. for their construction teams.

Election Policy

Thursday, October 31, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 5 Municipal Election, the Parkland Press and the Northwestern Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office was the Oct. 3 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Chosen Words

Thursday, October 31, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Halloween

It’s Halloween, time to be scary or corny

All costumed up, also acting the real phony

Going trick or treating around, door-to-door

Receiving tons of candy, apples and lots more

Please do not eat everything in an hour

Or your stomach will turn overly sour

Now for the cause of why the reason

Get chocolate bunnies, jelly beans at Easter season

Ann Raubenhold

South Whitehall

Recalling an eerie visit to Gettysburg

Thursday, October 31, 2019 by ANN RAUBENHOLD in Opinion

About 10 years ago, my parents and I went on a one-day bus trip to Gettysburg.

We had three guides walking us to different places.

The first site was across the street from the orphanage which later became a museum.

Suddenly a lady in our group collapsed. Another person gave one of the guides his cellphone, but when the guide tried to call 911 the call would not go through. The call for help was tried again with the same results. Finally on the third try, the call went through.