Parkland Press

Saturday, November 18, 2017

Guest View I

Thursday, November 16, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Day’s school safety security bill now law

Gov. Tom Wolf has allowed my legislation, House Bill 178, to lapse into law and become the Public School Code of the 2017-18 budget package.

Overall, I am pleased that important measures to allow schools to better prepare for safety and security threats, along with other significant improvements to our educational system.

Our children and their education must be at the forefront when we consider any type of public policy.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, November 16, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The gift that keeps giving must be the right fit

If you have ever loved and lost a pet, you will understand my family’s hesitation in getting another.

I have written about my pets before — a 16-1/2-year-old Old English Sheepdog and an indoor shelter cat we had for more than 16 years.

Both died recently within six months of each other. We have been in mourning.

My Editor’s Views in the past have been about understanding the responsibilities of pet ownership before acquiring a pet for yourself or as a gift for someone else.

Guest View II

Thursday, November 16, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Time to start winning in Washington

America is home to the best military in the world, the best system of higher education, the most innovative entrepreneurs, and most importantly, the hardest workers.

In many ways, we can see how God has blessed America.

Unfortunately, we also have a Congress that is failing us and is holding our country back from achieving greater heights.

Congress seems totally incapable of solving the biggest challenges facing us today.

Pa Dutch

Thursday, November 16, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

En Glee Bissell des un Sell

Der Baydawg is widder doe,

Un es glabbert yo so in der Kich;

Blendy arwet fer mich,

Welsh-hawna un lots funn socha,

Muss ich now ready

macha in der Kich;

Es is g’shpboss fer mich,

Kucha un feel boi,

Shtana shunt in ra roi In der Kich;

Oh, es shwitzed mich.

De kinner kumma ol hame,

Wil wetta se acta wider

es same in der Kich;

Ei, es lechered mich.

Eb mer essa, duhna mer bayda,

Shpater shwappa mer

resayda in der Kich;

Blendy harlichkate fer mich.

Another View

Thursday, November 9, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Thank a veteran and his or her family members, too

President Donald Trump recently proclaimed November 2017 as National Veterans and Military Families Month.

Veterans Day, Nov. 11, is the time American people nationally thank veterans for their courage, sacrifices and years of service.

Trump’s proclamation begins: “During National Veterans and Military Families Month, we honor the significant contributions made by American service members, their families and their loved ones.

GUEST VIEW

Thursday, November 2, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Gov. Tom Wolf signs new law to reduce tax collector fraud

Gov. Tom Wolf has signed into law House Bill 16, my legislation designed to reform the local tax collection system to reduce instances of fraud.

Local tax collectors take on a great responsibility with ensuring the proper collection of taxes; however, with little clarity in the law as to best practices, misuse of the system can occur.

My legislation corrects those oversights to eliminate fraud by unscrupulous tax collectors.

Chosen Words

Thursday, November 2, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To Vote

To vote or not to vote

That is the question

Whether it is better

to refrain from voicing

our opinion

Or living with the results

of our decisions

Is something each

citizen of voting age

has to decide

Could it be that you

have always voted for

the WRONG man?

To that, I reply,

Elect a woman!

Could it be that you

feel your vote

will not count?

It will if you

are registered!

Could it be that

you are disappointed

with the quality

of each candidate?

Chosen Words

Wednesday, October 25, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The October

of Our Lives

Crisp bright days

illumine fall colors

Brilliant gold mixed with a tinge of rust

Days of rain laden with sadness

Sadness at the loss of dear friends departed

All these aspects of the October of our lives

Not yet November with its darkness

and debilitation

Looking toward

December’s long night of the soul

The end of our days

But October

Those golden moments

Of playing with the grandchildren

Reunions with old friends

and acquaintances