Parkland Press

Wednesday, November 21, 2018

volunteer OPPORTUNITIES

Thursday, November 15, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·ITN Lehigh Valley needs volunteers to help seniors age in place and remain independent by volunteering to drive to medical appointments, grocery stores and/or church services.

Contact Lois Favier at 610-419-1645 or email lois.favier@itnlehighvalley.org.

·Salvation Army, Allentown, is seeking volunteers to help with sign ups during the Christmas assistance application process.

Contact Deirdre Govan at 610-432-0128 or email deirdre.govan@use.salvationarmy.org ***

Guest View

Thursday, November 15, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Working to strengthen protections for domestic violence victims

October was Domestic Violence Awareness Month, and on Oct. 3, the Pennsylvania House of Representatives approved legislation that has been signed into law to strengthen protections for those who are victims of domestic violence.

Under House Bill 2060, now Act 79 of 2018, those who are convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence will be required to turn over their firearms to a sheriff (or a third party) within 24 hours, instead of the previous requirement of 60 days.

Chosen Words

Thursday, November 15, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Humble and Kind

Always be humble, always be kind,

Are words I heard in a song;

I believe if you follow the advice that I heard

You will never, never go wrong.

The kindest of people are always polite.

It seems they know how to

do everything right.

They open the door for people in need;

They help the poor people,

and never show greed.

To open the door for people in need

To always say “thank you”

and always say “please,”

Is showing good manners to others, indeed!

It will not hurt you to offer a smile

Editor’s View

Thursday, November 15, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

REAL ID — here’s what you need to know

A few months ago, two postcards were delivered to my mailbox. They were sent by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation and addressed to my daughters.

The subject of the mailing was “Important Information from PennDOT About REAL ID.” According to the postcard, because their very first driver’s licenses were issued after September 2003, PennDOT might have all the information required for a REAL ID and they might be able to avoid going to a driver’s license center.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, November 15, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Writer supports increase in minimum wage

To the Editor:

Increasing the minimum wage would spur much more growth and stability to the American economy than the $1.8 trillion dollar tax cut for the 1 percent and large corporate entities.

Corporations are using the windfall to buy back stock and increase shareholder value. That doesn’t do anything to stimulate the economy as the White House and Republicans promised. Only a massive increase in economic activity would pay for the tax cut.

Increasing the minimum wage is the biggest, fastest and most prudent way to stimulate the economy.

Another View

Wednesday, November 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Remembering why we celebrate Veterans Day

Veterans Day celebrates all who have served our country honorably in both war and peace.

According to the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, Veterans Day was originally called Armistice Day and observed the anniversary of the end of World War I, Nov. 11, 1919.

This day has continued as a celebration of those who served our country. The day was declared a national holiday in 1938, and the name change became official in 1954.

Armistice Day was made a national holiday “to be dedicated to the cause of world peace,” according to the USDVA.

ArtsQuest at SteelStacks honors Hometown Heroes

Wednesday, November 7, 2018 by ANITA HIRSCH in Opinion

ArtsQuest at SteelStacks, Bethlehem and Embassy Bank honored those who served or are serving in the U.S. armed services by posting photos of the men and women in uniform May 26-28.

This was the eighth year photos honoring those in the military were posted.

The photos together were called Hometown Heroes and were displayed to honor them for their contributions.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, November 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Missing in Action: Another Euphemism

What do these words mean?

Missing ... disappeared from the earth?

Does “in action” mean inaction on our part?

Action ... what kind of action?

Why not call it war?

Seeing my dad anguish over the loss

Of his beloved nephew throughout his life

Just one of many

Sailors, soldiers, nurses, pilots

Never to be seen again

My only hope is that now

Having passed on to the other side

They are reunited once again

And that some day we will learn

That euphemisms do not speak truth

D.J. Hausman-Hill

Lititz

American Legion Post 16 honors those lost in war

Wednesday, November 7, 2018 by ELSA KERSCHNER in Opinion

Allen O. Delke Post 16 American Legion of Slatington recently had a memorial service at Union Cemetery, Slatington.

The service began with a parade from the Legion Post to the cemetery. Boy, Cub and Girl Scouts were marching with the Legion members.

Slatington High School band, under the direction of David Carroll, played several numbers.

Charles Rowlands was honored as the oldest Post member at age 97 with 76 years of membership.

Henry Distler of St. John’s UCC gave the invocation.

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, November 1, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

MALV stands with Jewish community following mass shooting

To the Editor:

The Muslim Association of Lehigh Valley is deeply shocked at the horrific incident of mass shooting at the Tree of Life Synagogue in Pittsburgh.

There is absolutely no justification for such an act in any religion.

We offer our heartfelt condolences to the families of those killed or injured. Our prayers are with all those that are affected by these senseless atrocities.