Parkland Press

Friday, December 14, 2018

LIVING THE VINTAGE YEARS: In-home care can keep seniors independent

Thursday, November 22, 2018 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK in Opinion

Sometimes others’ bad experiences scare us so much we become afraid to try similar endeavors ourselves.

Such was the case with me.

I had heard so many horror stories over the years from friends, neighbors and relatives about hiring home-care aides, when I recently was faced with that task, I was paralyzed with fear.

Reports of stolen watches and jewelry, cash and other valuable belongings filled my thoughts, making any meaningful action impossible.

It seemed every person I talked to gave me dire warnings.

Startups for Soldiers helps veterans to own businesses

Thursday, November 22, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

With November commemorating Veterans Day and highlighting National Veterans Small Business Week, I wanted to spotlight a program I created to help those veterans seeking to start a business in Pennsylvania.

The Startups for Soldiers program was signed into law in 2016.

The law waives state business startup fees for individuals transitioning to the civilian workforce from the U.S. Armed Forces, as well as those serving in reserve units and the National Guard.

Startups for Soldiers is based on a similar program that has been successful in Missouri.

Another View

Thursday, November 22, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Remembering our blessings in these uncertain times

Thank goodness. It is finally Thanksgiving, and Christmas is right around the corner.

That means it is publicly acceptable for me to watch the holiday movie “Miracle on 34th Street.” (I may or may not have started to watch this film before Halloween. Don’t ask my husband.)

I’m talking about the 1994 version. To be honest, I’m not one to watch many black and white movies. Some of my favorite movies are from the

’90s — “Sleepless in Seattle,” “Stepmom,” “Little Women,” “Mr. Holland’s Opus,” “You’ve Got Mail” and, of course, “Miracle on 34th Street.”

Pa Dutch

Thursday, November 22, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Der Baydawg is widder doe,

Un es glabbert yo so in der Kich;

Blendy arwet fer mich,

Welsh-hawna un lots funn socha,

Muss ich now ready

macha in der Kich;

Es is g’shpboss fer mich,

Kucha un feel boi,

Shtana shunt in ra roi In der Kich;

Oh, es shwitzed mich.

De kinner kumma ol hame,

Wil wetta se acta wider

es same in der Kich;

Ei, es lechered mich.

Eb mer essa, duhna mer bayda,

Shpater shwappa mer

resayda in der Kich;

Blendy harlichkate fer mich.

Der baydawg kumt un gayed,

volunteer OPPORTUNITIES

Thursday, November 15, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·ITN Lehigh Valley needs volunteers to help seniors age in place and remain independent by volunteering to drive to medical appointments, grocery stores and/or church services.

Contact Lois Favier at 610-419-1645 or email lois.favier@itnlehighvalley.org.

·Salvation Army, Allentown, is seeking volunteers to help with sign ups during the Christmas assistance application process.

Contact Deirdre Govan at 610-432-0128 or email deirdre.govan@use.salvationarmy.org ***

Guest View

Thursday, November 15, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Working to strengthen protections for domestic violence victims

October was Domestic Violence Awareness Month, and on Oct. 3, the Pennsylvania House of Representatives approved legislation that has been signed into law to strengthen protections for those who are victims of domestic violence.

Under House Bill 2060, now Act 79 of 2018, those who are convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence will be required to turn over their firearms to a sheriff (or a third party) within 24 hours, instead of the previous requirement of 60 days.

Chosen Words

Thursday, November 15, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Humble and Kind

Always be humble, always be kind,

Are words I heard in a song;

I believe if you follow the advice that I heard

You will never, never go wrong.

The kindest of people are always polite.

It seems they know how to

do everything right.

They open the door for people in need;

They help the poor people,

and never show greed.

To open the door for people in need

To always say “thank you”

and always say “please,”

Is showing good manners to others, indeed!

It will not hurt you to offer a smile

Editor’s View

Thursday, November 15, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

REAL ID — here’s what you need to know

A few months ago, two postcards were delivered to my mailbox. They were sent by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation and addressed to my daughters.

The subject of the mailing was “Important Information from PennDOT About REAL ID.” According to the postcard, because their very first driver’s licenses were issued after September 2003, PennDOT might have all the information required for a REAL ID and they might be able to avoid going to a driver’s license center.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, November 15, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Writer supports increase in minimum wage

To the Editor:

Increasing the minimum wage would spur much more growth and stability to the American economy than the $1.8 trillion dollar tax cut for the 1 percent and large corporate entities.

Corporations are using the windfall to buy back stock and increase shareholder value. That doesn’t do anything to stimulate the economy as the White House and Republicans promised. Only a massive increase in economic activity would pay for the tax cut.

Increasing the minimum wage is the biggest, fastest and most prudent way to stimulate the economy.

Another View

Wednesday, November 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Remembering why we celebrate Veterans Day

Veterans Day celebrates all who have served our country honorably in both war and peace.

According to the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, Veterans Day was originally called Armistice Day and observed the anniversary of the end of World War I, Nov. 11, 1919.

This day has continued as a celebration of those who served our country. The day was declared a national holiday in 1938, and the name change became official in 1954.

Armistice Day was made a national holiday “to be dedicated to the cause of world peace,” according to the USDVA.