Parkland Press

Friday, June 23, 2017

Guest View

Thursday, June 1, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Lending a helping hand

Whether you live in a township that’s large or small, it takes a team to run it.

Township supervisors, managers, secretaries, road crews, first responders, code enforcement officials, and many others work together to ensure your family and home are safe and that you get the answers you need when you need them.

Of course, on the surface, your community may appear to be a quiet place.

Another view

Thursday, May 25, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Ronald McDonald House: A home away from home

This is my first Another View since coming back to Pennsylvania from Florida.

No, it wasn’t a vacation. My husband and I adopted a beautiful baby boy, Benjamin, who was born March 21 — three weeks early.

We had been in the general adoption process for about a year and had waited around 6-and-a-half months to be matched with a birth mother.

Two days before Christmas, we got “the call” from our caseworker that a woman who viewed our adoption profile thought we were the ones.

Guest View

Thursday, May 25, 2017 by STATE REP. RYAN MACKENZIE (R-134TH) in Opinion

Constituent idea would improve women’s health

As a state representative, constituents often bring legislative ideas to my attention.

They see a problem and are creative in thinking of a solution, which I appreciate.

Many people do not understand the process of how an idea becomes a law and each elected official has his or her own process when working on legislation.

I want to take this opportunity to share with you my approach to a new idea that was presented to me.

volunteers OPPORTUNITIES

Thursday, May 25, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

·Historic Bethlehem Museums and Sites needs volunteers for its “Rooms to View“ House and Garden Tour June 3.

Contact Tavia Minnich at 610-882-0450 ext. 20 or tminnich@historicbethlehem.org.

·Cedarbrook Nursing Home, South Whitehall, needs volunteers to help residents have some “reel” fun fishing in their on-site fishing hole.

Contact Kerry Magliane at 610-336-5684 or kerrymagliane@lehighcounty.org.

·Gracedale Nursing Home, Nazareth, needs high school students age 14 and older or entering ninth grade) for its summer youth program.

Chosen Words

Thursday, May 25, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Rhymes

If poems do not rhyme, it seems, they make no sense to me.

I read them, then I wonder what I was supposed to see.

I read along and try to follow what the author ponders;

But somehow I get lost between the “hithers” and the “yonders.”

Rhyming keeps the reader straight and lets him know that soon,

The culmination of the words will quickly end the tune.

The rhythm of a poem seems to carry every note.

To always have a poem rhyme would surely get my vote!

You’re never left there hanging; It’s completed every time;

volunteer opportunities

Thursday, May 18, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

·Northeast Ministry, Bethlehem, needs volunteers to assist with the facilitation of its older youth program.

Contact Paula Johnson at 610-691-3355 or johnsonp@northeastministry.com.

·Sharecare Faith in Action, Bethlehem, is looking for volunteer drivers age 18 and older to help safely transport people who are elderly or disabled to and from doctor appointments and with grocery shopping in the Lehigh Valley.

Contact Cheryl Wilson at 610-867-2177 or sharecare8@aol.com.

Editor’s View

Thursday, May 18, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Beware the results of unsecured technological advancements

Many things in life are like a double-edged sword.

A mother’s love can be warm and nurturing. That same “love” can be smothering and controlling.

Fathers and others who coach youth sports teams can draw out the best from young players, or they can be overbearing tyrants more interested in winning than teaching skills that can be used throughout life.

Water and fire are necessary for life. They also can be devastating and deadly.

VINTAGE YEARS Life’s burdens need not defeat us

Thursday, May 18, 2017 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK in Opinion

Whenever I see an ad or a label proclaiming, “One size fits all,” I know the item will fit almost nobody. At least it won’t fit very well.

I get the same feeling when I hear cliché phrases meant to encourage or sympathize.

Recently, I heard a woman tell an acquaintance who had just lost her 11-year-old son, “God never gives us more burdens than we can bear.”

The bereaved mother became irate.

“I disagree. This is much more than I can handle,” she retorted.

Letter to the editor

Thursday, May 18, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

We should just have one organization: Scouting

To the Editor:

Many years ago when I was a Scoutmaster of a Troop, I could not get any help. So I asked if I could have some willing Den Mothers from the Cub Scout Pack to help with the Boy Scout Troop.

I was told Boy Scouts was for men and boys only. Well, after a few years, we all know how that turned out.

With the way so many in America feel about equality, I think we should just have Scouting.

Boy and girls together learning the same skills for the most part.

Chosen Words

Thursday, May 18, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To All the Friends I’ve Known

Or’e all the years that I have lived with

people passing through it

I made a lot of friends along the way.

I can’t remember ALL their names,

but I remember how we played.

As kids we played the simple games,

like jacks, marbles and ball;

We played Simon says, hide and seek, hop scotch and tried hard not to fall.

We played a game called Russia;

not political at all,

We simply threw a tennis ball

upon a solid wall.

You had to go through different things like throw it up and down,