Parkland Press

Sunday, April 21, 2019

volunteer OPPORTUNITIES

Wednesday, March 27, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

·Cedarbrook Senior Care and Rehabilitation, South Whitehall, has residents who love going to the in-house beauty shop, but these residents often need someone to push their wheelchair or walk beside them.

Contact Kerry Magliane at 610-336-5684 or kerrymagliane@lehighcounty.org.

·Community Bike Works, Allentown, is looking for volunteers to teach the class in the Earn-a-Bike program.

Contact Hannah Miller at 610-434-1140 or Hannah@communitybikeworks.org.

·Lehigh Valley Active Life, Allentown, is looking for volunteers to help with bingo on Wednesdays.

Guest View

Wednesday, March 27, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Robocallers: Knock it off

When I visited the Panther Valley recently, some friends and I agreed one of the most annoying disruptions is the unsolicited and unwanted marketing call.

When I gave up my home telephone about three years ago to rely exclusively on my cellphone, I anticipated these robocalls were going to be a distant memory. Obviously, I had another think coming.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, March 27, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Journalists’ privacy takes flight like mythology’s winged horse

The reality of author George Orwell’s “1984” hit me one night when I coughed while sleeping.

A voice from my smartphone, which was on a nearby table, replied to the sound I had just made saying it was sorry, but it did not understand what I had just said.

The phone had been listening to me just like the telescreens of Orwell’s dystopian novel.

Egads! I wonder if I ever talked in my sleep.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, March 27, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Goodbye Winter! Hello Spring!

Goodbye winter; it’s time for you to go!

Goodbye to all your cold and wind,

And, all your ice, and snow.

Hello spring! It’s nice to see you here;

Your warmth and fragrant flowers,

Will be welcomed, everywhere.

Winter was a wonderland,

of that there is no doubt;

But sunshine, warmth, and showers,

Will bring the beauty out.

The hidden beauty ’neath the snow,

Was waiting for its time,

To raise its head and spread its joy

Of excellence, sublime.

The trees will bud and spread their leaves,

Letters to The Editor

Wednesday, March 20, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Writer concerned with lack of N. Whitehall meeting coverage

To The Editor:

On March 7, there was a North Whitehall Township meeting. Jeff Bartlett presented the township board and a crowded audience, a plan to rezone a track of Kernsville Road and another track of Route 309 in Orefield to light industrial.

I feel it is important that all North Whitehall residents are informed that such an action is being discussed for approval.

Several residents shared complaints about the trucking company on Kernsville Road, and how they are not being compliant with ordinances.

Born or unborn: Made in God’s image

Wednesday, March 20, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

I was appalled to recently see Hillary Clinton and the New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo celebrating the Pro Choice Law passed by the New York state Legislature permitting abortion to take place on babies from the time of conception to and including full-term births.

Children are a gift from God who are made in this His image. They each have their own DNA.

Is there no value to life anymore?

The abortion industry is making millions of dollars to kill innocent children and then selling their body parts. Our tax dollars support this industry, unfortunately.

People of all faiths come together to mourn those lost in mosque shootings

Wednesday, March 20, 2019 by PAUL CMIL in Opinion

Muslim Association of Lehigh Valley hosts conference

The Muslim community called a news conference in Whitehall Township March 15 to express its sorrow and outrage at the attack earlier that day on two New Zealand mosques.

The loss of life from such a wanton violation of human decency shocked the world.

The Muslim Association of Lehigh Valley opened its doors to others in the community. Dr. Mirza Baig, MALV vice president, welcomed members of all different faiths who had gathered.

In his address, Imam Basheer Bilaal described Islam and how the death of one member of the Muslim family affects all.

Another View

Wednesday, March 20, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Every day should be devoted to healthy nutrition

For months, I have been looking for a good nutritional plan/diet I can follow that would help me change my poor eating habits; however, choosing one has not been easy.

Even after months of researching different plans, I am more confused by the nutritional information I have read on the Internet.

As I still have not found one that fits all my specific nutritional goals, I opted to begin March eating healthy nutritious foods.

And, what better timing as March is National Nutrition Month.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, March 13, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

‘Drop dozens now: Who wants to be fat?’ Do they think I’m fat?

I don’t want an automatic pet feeder.

I wouldn’t mind making engraved items at home or receiving a luxury car rental coupon.

“Drop dozens now: Who wants to be fat?” was in my email today. I don’t want to be fat. Do they think I’m fat?

Yes, I want to sleep better, and I don’t need a levitating moon lamp.

And yes, today, I received several messages on how to safely remove earwax.

Did I ask for these messages? Absolutely not.