Parkland Press

Friday, March 23, 2018

Chosen Words

Wednesday, March 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Winter is Still Here

It hasn’t snowed for several weeks now,

And the temperature outside is delightful;

We enjoy the splendor

of the warm sunny days,

Then the weather begins to turn frightful.

Winter is still here.

The weather man said

we would have lots of snow

A total of 3-6 inches;

After the snowfall,

the temperature will climb,

Up to 50, without any hitches.

You wasted your time to shovel the snow,

And now it’s nowhere to be seen;

The warmth of the day has melted it all,

Chosen Words

Wednesday, February 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A tribute to Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School, Parkland, Fla.

Our hearts are with you Parkland,

Our tears are flowing, too;

It’s inconceivable, the atrocity,

That was brazenly cast on you.

It’s hard to understand why such

A monstrous thing took place;

To kill 17 people

Is a pure and sad disgrace!

The children never had a chance

To hide or get away,

But the heroes stood in front of them

And took the shots that strayed.

In every situation, there are heroes to be found,

And you discovered many, as you took a look around.

As you gaze upon the empty chairs


Wednesday, February 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

• Center for Animal Health and Welfare, Easton, is seeking volunteers to walk dogs, assist with morning cleanings, attend off-site events to promote the shelter, cat and dog enrichment and general shelter help.

Contact Walt Hoffman at 610-252-7722 ext. 4 or email

• America on Wheels Museum, Allentown, is seeking friendly, dedicated volunteers age 16 and older for the 2018 season.

Contact Linda Merkel at 610-432-4200 or

Chosen Words

Wednesday, February 14, 2018 by The Press in Opinion


Gifts are always fun to get,

Regardless of the reason,

It could be for a special day,

Or simply for a season.

A gift can be most anything,

A tie, a watch, a shirt, a ring;

Some gifts do not require boxes,

Or bows or any pretty things.

A gift can be a phone call,

To a friend who’s all alone.

A gift can be a hug or kiss,

From someone that you miss.

A gift can be a doctor,

Who erases all your pain.

A gift can be another day,

As you awake again.

I feel the greatest gift we have,


Wednesday, February 14, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·Phoebe Ministries, 1925 W. Turner St., Allentown, is seeking volunteers who enjoy sharing stories of faith and interacting with older adults living with dementia, to lead small group sessions at skilled care centers in Allentown, Wernersville, Richlandtown and Wyncote.

The Spirit Alive program is an innovative way of leading worship with residents, who live in Phoebe’s memory support neighborhoods.

The program involves sharing stories with residents that illustrate great spiritual truths, such as God’s love, care and forgiveness.

Another View

Wednesday, February 14, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Protect yourself from scammers

Scammers are becoming more and more sophisticated with their ways to steal money or personal information.

An article, “Grandparent Scam Suspect Arrested, Others Sought,” on the WFMZ TV-69 website reported on a Bethlehem man awaiting extradition to Virginia after allegedly participating in a multistate scam.

The article states Johnnie Vincente allegedly was in possession of an envelope containing $10,000 from a senior citizen in Minnesota when he was stopped attempting to pickup a FedEx package using a fake ID.

More drivers asleep at the wheel than one might think

Wednesday, February 14, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

While trying to juggle all the demands of our daily lives, it can be easy to skimp on sleep.

But that has numerous negative effects — including putting yourself and others at risk on the road, and according to new information from AAA, crashes involving drowsy driving are a bigger threat than many realize.

The most in-depth drowsy driving research ever conducted in the U.S. using footage of everyday drivers found the percentage of crashes involving drowsiness is nearly eight times higher than federal estimates indicate, according to the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety.

Guest view

Wednesday, January 31, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

‘Dreamers’ deserve to stay in a ‘compassionate’ country

During my years as district attorney, I have often spoken out about the problem of illegal immigration and the need to enforce our laws. I have always directed Northampton County law enforcement to cooperate with ICE, and I have sparred with immigration officials who failed to do their jobs.

Take responsibility for life’s final farewell

Wednesday, January 31, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

We all make life-changing decisions as we advance through the decades to old age.

The decisions of where to work, whom (or whether) to marry, how to invest our earnings, where to live, and so on, are almost endless and often dictate the course of our lives.

As with the Robert Frost poem, “The Road Not Taken,” many of us wonder how our lives would have played out if we had chosen a different path.

At no time are our choices more critical than at the end of our lives. More than life-changing, these decisions actually can be life ending.