Parkland Press

Saturday, May 26, 2018

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, May 16, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Editor's View was patriotic, writer says

To the Editor:

Mark Graham's May 9 Letter to the Editor in response to Deb Palmieri's May 2 editorial motivated me to go back and look again at Ms. Palmieri's writing to recall more clearly the content.

What I found was an editorial openly patriotic, which Mr. Graham apparently considers being racist and bigoted, and which was not against all Muslims but instead mentioned Muslim extremists who did indeed plan and execute attacks within our country.

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, May 9, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Red Cross thanks volunteers

To the Editor:

The Red Cross Greater Lehigh Valley Chapter would like to take this opportunity to thank all those involved in making the recent annual Cabaret and Cuisine fundraiser a huge success.

Just over $70,000 was raised to support the chapter's lifesaving programs and services such as disaster relief, health and human safety, blood services and service to the Armed Forces.

Another View

Thursday, May 9, 2013 by LINDA WOJCIECHOWSKI in Opinion

On being brave

We've been hearing a lot in the news recently about acts of bravery.

When bombs were detonated April 15 at the Boston Marathon, dozens and dozens of parade spectators, instead of running for cover, rushed to the aid of the hundreds of victims.

Many lives were saved because of their acts of courage that day.

A few days later, hundreds of police officers placed themselves in harm's way in pursuit of the alleged terrorists.

These are acts of valor, to be sure.

Guest View

Thursday, May 9, 2013 by JOHN BERRY Special to The Press in Opinion

Together, we can build agricultural awareness, understanding through education

Research suggests the average consumer is at least three generations from actually living on a farm.

With this longterm disconnect from our agricultural heritage – many do not have a basic understanding of how food shows up on our plate.

Often, discussions on food characteristics, food sources and food processing are based in misunderstanding. The food system we are privileged to take advantage of offers an abundance of safe, nutritious and typically affordable choices. A deeper awareness of this complex and productive food system may be a meaningful goal.

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, May 9, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Mackenzie congratulates hockey players

To the Editor:

Congratulations to the players, coaching staff, families and everyone associated with the 2012-13 Parkland Ice Hockey Club.

As a former Trojan hockey player, I am proud of your outstanding achievement in reaching the Pennsylvania Ice Hockey Championship game.

Coach Gerry Chandik and his staff took Parkland Ice Hockey to a historic level of success this season.

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, May 9, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Writer disagrees with Editor's View

To the Editor:

Deb Palmieri's fatuous comments regarding the Boston bombings [Editor's View, May 1 issue] reveal a dearth of historical insight. They're also racist.

For her, all Muslims are "them" the ones who want to destroy "our" way of life.

Her bizarre link between the construction of a mosque and a piece of 9/11 airplane wreckage indicates she feels all Muslims bear responsibility for the work of a couple dozen terrorists.

Are all Americans responsible because innocents were killed in Newtown by an American?

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, May 2, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

MCU condemns actions of Boston bombers

To the Editor:

Members of Muslims and Christians United are shocked and horrified by the cowardly bombing at the Boston Marathon.

MCU, based in the Lehigh Valley, condemns the attack in the strongest possible terms. The individuals who carried out the attacks do not represent Muslims, nor do their actions represent Islam.

Guest View II

Thursday, May 2, 2013 by JOHN BERRY Special to The Press in Opinion

Farmers ask for public's patience during planting, growing, harvesting seasons

One of the primary reasons many enjoy living in the Lehigh Valley is the quality of life afforded by agricultural communities.

Open space, wildlife habitat and ground water recharge are some benefits of thriving farms.

Perhaps more significant is the vast amount of safe and wholesome food we can choose from to feed ourselves and our families that is made readily available because of our local farm families' efforts.

Our regional farmers understand the last thing a motorist wants is to be stuck behind a farm tractor, moving at a slow speed.

Election Policy

Thursday, May 2, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 primary election, the Parkland Press and the Northwestern Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials was April 25.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.