Parkland Press

Friday, October 20, 2017

Volunteer opportunities

Thursday, November 29, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

·Artsquest Venter, Bethlehem, needs volunteers for Christkindlmarkt to take tickets, assist vendors, do crafts with children and help out in the retail areas. Volunteers are required to do three shifts.

Contact Hillary Harper at 610-332-1370 or hharper@artsquest.org.

·Cancer Support Community, Bethlehem, needs help to get donation cans into stores, businesses and coffee shops throughout the Lehigh Valley.

Contact Becky Morgan at 610-861-7555 or bmorgan@cancersupportglv.org.

Legislation accomplishments abound in 2012

Thursday, November 29, 2012 by JULIE HARHART R-183rd Special to The Press in Opinion

The 2011-12 legislative session wrapped up in November, and before we begin the new session Jan. 1, 2013, I think it is wise to take a look back and see what we have accomplished.

Of course, some years are more productive than others but, this past year, we have been able to make significant progress on several fronts that will help improve the business climate in Pennsylvania, increase safety and protection, and honor our military men and women.

Chosen Words

Thursday, November 29, 2012 by En Daaler Uffschpaare in Opinion

En Daaler geschder diene,

Verschpend der Daaler heit,

Yuscht bissel Wexel zaehle,

Bemacht die aarmie Leit.

En Daaler geschder gschteckelt,

En gscheider Mann dutt's weck.

No wann mir in die Not kummt,

Hoscht me huff hand wie Dreck.

Saving up a Dollar

A dollar earned yesterday

Spend that dollar today

Very little change leftover to count

Makes for poor people

A dollar from yesterday hidden away

A wise man puts it away

Then when you are in need

You'll have something on hand, besides dirt.

Another View

Thursday, November 29, 2012 by SUSAN BRYANT in Opinion

Make the holidays memorable for family members with dementia or Alzheimer's

Hanukkah and Christmas are times of the year when family and friends come together to share memories, laugh, sing, decorate and exchange presents.

For people living with Alzheimer's disease or dementia, the holidays can be a difficult and stressful time.

I have found with my mother, who was diagnosed several years ago with dementia, this is the time of year when she becomes more depressed.

Chosen Words

Thursday, November 22, 2012 by KARYN INDURSKY Special to The Press in Opinion

Giving Thanks

Thanks for the roof over my head

and the cat laying with me on my bed.

Thanks for my son, who was once a baby and now is a big boy.

Thanks for the dishes that prove you've fulfilled my eating wishes.

Thanks for turkey sales, which allowed us to help donations prevail.

Thanks for listening while my soul is spiritually glistening.

Thanks for teaching us the value of sharing to demonstrate our caring.

Thanks for shoes on our feet

and providing everyone a seat.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, November 22, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Writer honors friend with tribute

To the Editor:

I first met Harvey Hartman when he walked up to the float of the Northeast Variety Band as we were getting ready to play in the 4th of July parade in Wyomissing, two years ago.

Harvey was "wearing" his sousaphone and marching with a different band, but he asked Bruce Dengler, who was playing tuba on our float, as to how he could join our band.

Bruce suggested Harvey talk with me.

I got Harvey's name, address and phone number and I called him several days later, inviting him to a practice session.

Editor's View

Thursday, November 22, 2012 by DEBBIE GALBRAITH in Opinion

Finding ways to be grateful

President George Washington proclaimed the Day of National Thanksgiving on Oct. 3, 1789.

"Whereas it is the duty of all nations to acknowledge the providence of Almighty God, to obey His will, to be grateful for His benefits and humbly to implore his protection and favor," Washington wrote in his proclamation. "Whereas both Houses of Congress have, by their joint committee, requested me 'to recommend to the people of the United States a day of public thanksgiving and prayer, to be observed by acknowledging with grateful hearts the many and signal favors of Almighty God.'"

New law establishes state Veterans' Trust Fund

Thursday, November 22, 2012 by STATE SEN. PAT BROWNE R-16th in Opinion

Pennsylvania is home to more than 900,000 military veterans. Their tremendous service to our nation stands as a point of pride for our commonwealth.

It takes a special person to be a soldier, sailor, Marine, member of the Air Force or Coast Guard.

How many people would want to or be able to face the threats and uncertainties our service members have and still do on a daily basis?

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, November 22, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

·New Bethany Ministries, Bethlehem, needs volunteers for Luminaria Night.

Contact Liliana Cuba at 610-691-5602 or lcuba@newbethanyministries.org.

·Holiday Hope Chests, Bethlehem, coordinated by the Volunteer Center of the Lehigh Valley, needs volunteers to fill your own shoeboxes with age appropriate items for Lehigh Valley's less fortunate children.

Call Sandie at 610-807-0336 or skelly@volunteerlv.org.

·Moravian Historical Society, Nazareth, has an immediate need for outdoor clean up help due to recent storm.

En Glee Bissell des un Sell

Thursday, November 22, 2012 by MARY BITTNER HENRY Special to The Press in Opinion

Der Baydawg is widder doe,

Un es glabbert yo so in der Kich;

Blendy arwet fer mich,

Welsh-hawna un lots funn socha,

Muss ich now ready

macha in der Kich;

Es is g'shpboss fer mich,

Kucha un feel boi,

Shtana shunt in ra roi In der Kich;

Oh, es shwitzed mich.

De kinner kumma ol hame,

Wil wetta se acta wider

es same in der Kich;

Ei, es lechered mich.

Eb mer essa, duhna mer bayda,

Shpater shwappa mer

resayda in der Kich;

Blendy harlichkate fer mich.

Der baydawg kumt un gayed,