Parkland Press

Monday, December 18, 2017

Letter to the editor

Thursday, December 27, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Writers congratulate Parkland football team

To the Editor:

Hats off and congratulations to the Parkland High School football team and Coach Morgan and staff for the success experienced during the past season.

The team had a great year and many of the games proved to be very exciting.

Best wishes and continued success to all the senior players.

Robert and

Elsie Steckel

South Whitehall

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, December 27, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

·American Cancer Society, Bethlehem needs volunteers to join planning committees to help make each and every Relay for Life in the Lehigh Valley a huge success. If you are creative, a great leader, a great fundraiser or passionate about ending cancer, we have a position for you. Hours vary and we can work with most schedules. All necessary training will be provided.

Call Lyndsey Cumello at 610-921-2329 or Lyndsey.cumello@cancer.org.

Letter to the editor

Thursday, December 27, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Forgotten Felines needs your help

To the Editor:

Neighbors, it is the time of year when we all get together with family and friends.

Can you imagine what it would be like if you had none and no one wanted you? It is not a happy thought at all.

I'm writing to tell you about Forgotten Felines and Fidos, a nonprofit, no-kill shelter in Germansville, which could use your help.

It is particularly difficult to run a shelter like this because if the animals are not adopted, they are kept there for their lifetimes. FF&F also providea spay and neutering services for very reasonable fees.

Another View

Thursday, December 27, 2012 by TYLER D. MARTIN in Opinion

When you have to go in ice and snow …

The cool air of winter is now upon us and it is time to make sure we are prepared for the season.

Most of us probably wish we could snuggle up by a fire with a good book but commutes and travel do not stop because the flurries begin to fall.

Do a routine winter check of your vehicle to ensure you are prepared for anything Mother Nature throws at you.

Check your vehicle's fluid levels and be sure to fill up with a deicing windshield wiper fluid. Make sure your wipers do not streak, and think about installing new winter blades.

Living the Vintage Years

Thursday, December 27, 2012 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK Special to The Press in Opinion

We get one chance to do it right

"You only live once," a friend who smoked and drank to excess since his teens would respond when I'd chide him about his body abuse.

Right. So since we get only one shot at life as we know it, shouldn't we try to make it last?

Today, as this friend lies terminally ill, far beyond medical repair, he has regrets.

But it's too late. His 62-year-old body has given up.

His sad situation reminds me of another friend who died at 50, the victim of lung cancer.

Chosen Words

Thursday, December 27, 2012 by Why 20 Cherubs? in Opinion

Twenty sprightly cherubs

accompany their angelic leaders

to an abode that sparks their

curiosity and glee

Although they are new to this place

somehow it feels

as though they never left it

For Heaven is where

the human heart remains

and it is the Lord's presence we seek

They know His presence

as they gaze into His face

and they know His peace

Something about their leaving us behind spurs our desire

to change behavior...to become

a more peaceful people

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, December 20, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

·America on Wheels, Allentown, needs volunteers to serve and take orders in the museum café.

Contact Linda Merkel at 610-432-4200 ext. 11 or director@americaonwheels.org.

·Camelot for Children, Lehigh Valley Mall needs capable, experienced gift wrappers to staff a booth at the mall on various days and shifts through Dec. 24.

Contact Cassie Kemmerer at 610-791-5683 or cassiek@camelotforchildren.org.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, December 20, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Writer offers way to help Sandy Hook families

To the Editor:

Even with the magnitude of last Friday's events, we can let residents of Newtown, Conn., know we are thinking about them and holding them in healing thoughts.

The children and families of their community are forever changed.

I would love to show support to the school from towns all over our area.

Have the children and/or adults in your family create artwork for the students of Sandy Hook.

Editor's View

Thursday, December 20, 2012 by DEBBIE GALBRAITH in Opinion

The heroes among us

Many of us attended church on Sunday. I'm not sure if it was because of the upcoming Christmas holiday or the overwhelming need to pray for the families affected by the Dec. 14 shootings in a Connecticut elementary school.

Sermons throughout our area were focused on trying to make sense of this event as well as trying to cope with the overwhelming grief all Americans feel, especially so close to the joyous season of Christmas.