Parkland Press

Wednesday, January 16, 2019

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, March 7, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

·Gertrude B. Fox Environmental Center, Bethlehem, has an opening for a gift shop manager at Gertie's Gifts.

Contact Karen Dolan at 610-419-0218 or naturecenter@gbfox.org.

·American Cancer Society Inc. needs volunteers for Daffodil Days fundraising event to drive, pack, and sell daffodils at their place of business, churches, and also at direct sale sites in the Lehigh Valley March 18-24.

Contact Rosemarie Murphy at 610-921-2329 ext. 3109 or Rosemarie.Murphy@cancer.org.

Guest View

Thursday, March 7, 2013 by BySTEPHEN GRAY WALLACE SADD Senior policy advisor in Opinion

The fierce urgency of now: A nation's need to protect its youth

The alcohol-fueled alleged serial rape of a 16-year-old Ohio girl by two of her similarly impaired classmates – not to mention the drunken videotaped commentary of others – points yet again to the imperative that adult America renews its commitment to address as a true national community those issues that most threaten the health, safety, and forward development of youth.

It is a priority that carries with it, in Dr. Martin Luther King's words, the fierce urgency of now.

Another View

Thursday, March 7, 2013 by SUSAN BRYANT in Opinion

America's hungry need your help

I am not a moviegoer, however, this weekend while surfing the Web, I came across a documentary titled "A Place at the Table."

The documentary, which features actor Jeff Bridges, examines the issue of hunger in America through the eyes of three families in Philadelphia, Colorado and Mississippi.

My mother, Dorothy, 84, offered her comments after watching the movie.

"It's [hunger] bad here at home," she said. "You do not have to worry about going to another country to see it."

She is right.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, March 7, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Writer pays tribute to a friend

To the Editor:

As I have been going through life and maturing, I have found that if a person can count on the fiingers of one hand the number of very good friends that a person acquires in that lifetime, a person can be very fortunate.

I had one such very good friend in the person of Allan J. Holtz, whom I first met while he was a student at Allentown High School.

Through the common love of photography and music, we became very fast friends.

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, February 28, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

·Gertrude B. Fox Environmental Center, Bethlehem, has an opening for a gift shop manager at the little store, "Gertie's Gifts."

Contact Karen Dolan at 610-419-0218 or naturecenter@gbfox.org.

·Historic Bethlehem Museums, needs volunteers March 2 for Spring Clean Up at Burnside Plantation.

Contact Jill Caggiano at 610-882-0450 ext. 20 or jcaggiano@historicbethlehem.org.

·Compeer Program of Family Answers, Allentown, is looking for volunteers who want to improve people's quality of life through friendship.

Living the Vintage Years

Thursday, February 28, 2013 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK Special to The Press in Opinion

Getting older doesn't have to end a lifestyle

With the Lenten season upon us, I have heard folks discussing what they might give up between Ash Wednesday and Easter.

One man joked that as he has aged, he's had to give up so much, he has nothing left to sacrifice.

That comment brought to mind a couple in their 70s, friends of ours, who no longer travel because they say packing all their medications and medical devices is too much trouble.

Editor's View

Thursday, February 28, 2013 by DEBBIE GALBRAITH in Opinion

The dangers of sexting: 'Is it really worth it?'

Salisbury High School presented an assembly recently on the dangers of sexting – a seminar offered by District Attorney Jim Martin's office for school districts in the Lehigh Valley.

Sexting is described as taking a nude picture of yourself or someone else with cellphone cameras and texting it to others or posting nude photos of yourself on social media, such as Facebook or MySpace.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, February 21, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Smokers can help their wallets and health by quitting this year

To the Editor:

The American Lung Association of the Mid-Atlantic wishes everyone a Happy New Year.

As we ring in 2013, many of us will make New Year's resolutions to improve our health and well-being. People who resolve to quit smoking this New Year have the chance to increase the length and quality of their lives.

Quitting works its magic the minute an individual makes the choice.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, February 21, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Philanthropist Inez Donley will be remembered for commitment to KidsPeace

To the Editor:

Some people make such an impact on their communities that their work will live on long after they are gone.

Such is the case with Inez Donley, who died Jan. 27 at the age of 97, after dedicating nearly 70 years to volunteer work in the Lehigh Valley.

Inez and husband, Edward Donley, were major supporters of KidsPeace, donating more than $1.47 million to our organization to help children and teenagers with behavioral and mental health challenges.