Parkland Press

Friday, October 19, 2018

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, December 20, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

·America on Wheels, Allentown, needs volunteers to serve and take orders in the museum café.

Contact Linda Merkel at 610-432-4200 ext. 11 or director@americaonwheels.org.

·Camelot for Children, Lehigh Valley Mall needs capable, experienced gift wrappers to staff a booth at the mall on various days and shifts through Dec. 24.

Contact Cassie Kemmerer at 610-791-5683 or cassiek@camelotforchildren.org.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, December 20, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Writer offers way to help Sandy Hook families

To the Editor:

Even with the magnitude of last Friday's events, we can let residents of Newtown, Conn., know we are thinking about them and holding them in healing thoughts.

The children and families of their community are forever changed.

I would love to show support to the school from towns all over our area.

Have the children and/or adults in your family create artwork for the students of Sandy Hook.

Editor's View

Thursday, December 20, 2012 by DEBBIE GALBRAITH in Opinion

The heroes among us

Many of us attended church on Sunday. I'm not sure if it was because of the upcoming Christmas holiday or the overwhelming need to pray for the families affected by the Dec. 14 shootings in a Connecticut elementary school.

Sermons throughout our area were focused on trying to make sense of this event as well as trying to cope with the overwhelming grief all Americans feel, especially so close to the joyous season of Christmas.

Chosen Words

Thursday, December 20, 2012 by For the Souls of the Little Children in Opinion

The souls of the little children

Were released to God today

They flew aloft to Heaven

Borne on angels wings

Now God must have had

some special tasks

To call them back to Him

so very soon.

Their souls arrived in Heaven

To do more than enjoy the view

God most certainly had something big in mind

Something glorious for them to do.

Their souls took flight,

they are angels now

And God must really need them

To perform miraculous

and wondrous deeds

That we can scarcely imagine

Another View

Thursday, December 20, 2012 by LINDA WOJCIECHOWSKI in Opinion

Lessons from Sandy Hook tragedy

Christians are taught "all things work together for good."

This week, it's difficult to see how that can be true for families and friends of the children and adults who died at the Sandy Hook Elementary School in Connecticut last Friday.

I am the mother of five children. They are grown now, but a mother always remembers her children as they were when they were young.

When Laurie was 6 years old, she was an instant mother's helper when triplet siblings joined the family.

Another View

Thursday, December 13, 2012 by TYLER D. MARTIN in Opinion

Infrastructure improvement should be top priority

The railroad bridge collapse in the West Deptford area of New Jersey Nov. 30 should be a wake up call to fix our area's crumbling infrastructure.

As we all know, procrastination can be a dangerous thing.

This spill of vinyl chloride, a toxic chemical, into a feeder creek of the Delaware River has the potential to kill wildlife and taint a delicate ecosystem still recovering from the consequences of our country's Industrial Revolution.

I have taken the time to view many bridges and roadways in the state during the past year.

'Twas the Night Before Fiscal Cliff

Thursday, December 13, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

'Twas the night before Fiscal Cliff, and throughout the land,

Democrats, Republicans were taking a stand.

Their positions unwavering, intractably firm,

With donkey-like stubbornness or entrenched pachyderm.

But the public were hopeful all snug in their beds,

With visions of compromise alive in their heads.

"Come on!" said the people in frustrated dismay.

"Abandon this meaningless partisan fray."

When Obama and Boehner finally met,

Their first thoughts were not of a country in debt.

Guest View

Thursday, December 13, 2012 by SEN. PAT TOOMEY U.S. Senate in Opinion

A solution to the fiscal cliff: It is time for compromise

"...The vast majority of Democrats on Capitol Hill would prefer not to have to do anything on entitlements, would prefer, frankly, not to have to do anything on some of these debt and deficit problems. … And what I've tried to explain to them is, number one, if you look at the numbers, then Medicare, in particular, will run out of money, and we will not be able to sustain that program, no matter how much taxes go up. I mean, it's not an option for us to just sit by and do nothing." President Barack Obama, July 11, 2011.

Editor's View

Thursday, December 6, 2012 by DEB PALMIERI in Opinion

Fasten your seat belts, 2012 is going to have a cliffhanger ending

If the Mayan calendar's end-of-the-world "prediction," doesn't kill us on Dec. 21, surely the fall off the so-called "fiscal cliff" at the end of the year will.

If our elected officials, who spend more time on television explaining why they can't agree on a savings and spending plan, rather than actually doing something about it, fail to avert the tax hikes coming Jan. 1, 2013, we all will be dangling from the edge as our 401k plans dwindle and our grocery bills double.