Parkland Press

Thursday, April 2, 2020

Guest View Tis the Season:

Thursday, December 26, 2013 by DEBBIE JACK Special to The Press in Opinion

Parkland Library supports informed giving

Libraries provide citizens of all ages the knowledge they need to contribute effectively in their communities.

During this holiday season, many people donate dollars and/or time to organizations and causes in addition to the gifts they give to their families and friends.

Gifts to charities can create a lasting connection, provide for generations to come, and satisfy donors' desires to make a difference by supporting causes that are meaningful to them.

Editor's View

Thursday, December 26, 2013 by DEB PALMIERI in Opinion

Making Christmas memories

"And she brought forth her firstborn son, and wrapped him in swaddling clothes, and laid him in a manger; because there was no room for them in the inn. And there were in the same country shepherds abiding in the field, keeping watch over their flock by night. And, lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them, and the glory of the Lord shone round about them: and they were sore afraid. And the angel said unto them, Fear not: for, behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people. For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Saviour, which is Christ the Lord.

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, December 19, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Writer thanks state Rep. Mackenzie for his support

To the Editor:

We, at the Cetronia Ambulance Corps wish to extend our sincerest of thanks and recognition to state Rep. Ryan Mackenzie, R-134th, for the pivotal role he played in helping us recoup $2,800 we paid in realty transfer taxes related to our construction project at Broadway and Parkway roads in South Whitehall Township.

As a volunteer-based organization since 1955 dedicated to public safety, every dollar we bring gets reinvested in protecting the residents of Lehigh County and delivering life-saving services.

Guest View

Thursday, December 19, 2013 by DR. ARTHUR H. GARRISON LP.D. Special to The Press in Opinion

Christmas has a meaning beyond peace on earth

Recently, an atheist posted on a billboard in Times Square, New York City, "Who Needs Christ During Christmas? Nobody," with the word Christ crossed out.

In a debate on Fox TV, the atheist said if you want to go to church fine, but the season should not force people to go, and it was alright to enjoy Christmas without acknowledging Jesus as the focus and purpose of Christmas. Whatever!!

Leaving this aside, one can get caught up in the celebration of Christmas and can forget what Christmas is really about.

There are three reasons why Christmas is significant.

En Glee Bissell des un Sell

Thursday, December 19, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

'S waar die Nacht for de Chrischdaag und dorch es gans Haus

Verreegt sich ke' Thierli, net emal en Maus;

Die Schtrump waar schnock im Schornschte gehanke,

In der Hoffning der "Nick" dheet graad runner dschumpe;

Die Kinner so schmock waare all scho im Bett,

Von Zuckerschleck draame un was mer, doch, wott;

Die Mamme in Schnupduch un ich in der Kapp,

Hen uns juscht hi geleegt for 'n lang Winter's Nap.

Dan draus, in 'm Hoof waar so n' dunnerse Yacht,

Das ich ufg'schprunge bin zu sehne war's macht.

Living the Vintage Years

Thursday, December 19, 2013 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK Special to The Press in Opinion

Volunteering is good for our health

The headline of the magazine article captured my attention.

"Want to Live Longer? Volunteer!," it proclaimed.

Like many people we know, my husband and I have been volunteering for years. So we are well aware of the joys of doing something good for others or for the earth and its creatures.

But now, I read, there is evidence of physical value, too. Our volunteerism may lead to better health and longevity, as well as social benefits.

Chosen Words

Thursday, December 19, 2013 by The Week Before Christmas in Opinion

'Tis the week before Christmas

and all through the house

There's hurrying and scurrying

Yes, even the mouse...

So busy with decorations

Projects of all kinds

The handmade gifts will be

a delightful surprise

Mounds of packages stacked

to wrap and to tie

Scent of cookies baking waft

heavenward up to the sky

The tree's a twinkle

The baby's smile glows

The children are excited

about Santa, you know

Will their behavior be good enough

so that Santa, for sure, with his bag

Another View

Thursday, December 19, 2013 by MARK RECCEK in Opinion

My Christmas miracle

Christmas is a special time of the year.

Once a year, young and old have the opportunity to develop a child-like heart, and to give and receive.

Decorations go up; trees are adorned; gifts are purchased and, on Christmas Day, families, small and large, gather.

Since Dec. 24, 2007, Christmas, for me, has remained a quiet time of reflection and gratitude.

Six years ago, this Christmas Eve, I was admitted to the VA hospital in Wilkes-Barre, not knowing if I would live or die, but knowing the next few weeks would be difficult ones.

Editor's View

Thursday, December 12, 2013 by DEB PALMIERI in Opinion

Experience true meaning of Christmas: Ride the North Pole Express

Christmas is a time for miracles and magic, and for 85 special Dream Come True of the Lehigh Valley children, the non-profit foundation created a magical world this past Saturday in Kempton.

The youngsters were treated to a train ride aboard the North Pole Express, also known as the Wanamaker, Kempton and Southern Railroad to visit Santa and Mrs. Claus at the North Pole, aka the Kempton Community Center.