Parkland Press

Tuesday, December 10, 2019

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, September 26, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Remembering the day Dorney Park burned

To the Editor:

The recent fire at the FunTown Pier Amusement Park along the boardwalk in Seaside Heights, N.J. brought to mind another devastating fire that destroyed a portion of an amusement park closer to home 30 years ago.

When I came home from school on Sept. 28, 1983, much to my horror, I watched the breaking news on Channel 6 Action News of a fire at Dorney Park.

The live television footage showed big plumes of black smoke drifting westward from the historic area of the park.

My immediate comment to my mother was "I hope it isn't the carousel."

Guest View

Thursday, September 26, 2013 by JOHN BERRY Special to The Press in Opinion

Why don't more people farm?

We hear about how few farmers there are.

This may cause us to wonder why more people are not building careers as farmers.

One significant reason we don't have more farmers is productivity.

Because today's farmers are so productive, many do not have to farm in order for us all to eat.

We are free to pursue other careers such as bankers, manufacturers, teachers and nurses.

Productivity is the ratio of output to input in production; it is a measure of the efficiency of production.

Productivity has many benefits.

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, September 19, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Lehigh Valley Score, Bethlehem, seeks experienced business professionals to offer in-person and online counseling and advice to start ups and in-business owners of small businesses and non-profit organizations.

Contact Mitzi Colella at 610-266-3000 or mcolella@lvscore.org.

·Good Shepherd Rehabilitation Network, Allentown, is recruiting volunteers for the hospital gift shop, grocery shopper for the Raker Center, volunteer ambassadors, inpatient pediatric, and personal assistants for residents at the Bethlehem site.

Contact JoAnn Frey at 610-776-3125 or jfrey@gsrh.org.

Editor's View

Thursday, September 19, 2013 by DEBRA PALMIERI in Opinion

Volunteer firefighters don't horse around

Except for the urban areas in the Lehigh Valley, when 911 is dialed, it is volunteer, not paid firefighters who respond.

Although called "firefighters," the men and women who serve the suburban and rural areas of the Valley are often tasked with more than fighting fires.

The majority of their emergency responses tend to be for motor vehicle accidents, especially with Interstate 78, and major transportation routes, such as Routes 309 and 100 running through their coverage areas.

Guest View

Thursday, September 19, 2013 by MIKE SCHLOSSBERG, D-132ND Special to The Press in Opinion

Schlossberg's bill updates Megan's Law to include Internet

Pennsylvania's version of Megan's Law first became effective in 1996.

The law required convicted sexual predators register on a database held by the state.

The database would be publicly available, insuring a community would know when a convicted sexual predator lived in their neighborhood.

This was 1996, when America OnLine, Prodigy and CompuServe were the Internet giants.

There was no Facebook, no Twitter, and if you told someone to Google something, they would look at you like you had three heads.

Guest View

Thursday, September 19, 2013 by STEPHEN WALLACE SADD SENIOR ADVISOR in Opinion

Dangerous driving by parents equals dangerous driving by teens, SADD says

With the holidays rapidly approaching, many teen-agers will be behind the wheel visiting family and friends … and often copying the driving behavior of their parents.

But, is that a good thing? Not necessarily.

New research from SADD and Liberty Mutual Insurance reveals an alarming example of "do what I say, not what I do" when it comes to distracted and dangerous driving.

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, September 12, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

It is a time for dialogue not dynamite

To the Editor:

As a member of Service Academy Graduates Against The War, I oppose the Obama government's plan to bomb Syria.

Its use of chemical weapons remains highly speculative.

Aside from proof chemical weapons were indeed used, which no one disputes, there is little evidence indicating the Syrian government did so.

Logic alone would indicate it did not.

We fear self-serving evidence combined with expedient reasoning will lead to yet another immoral campaign of death and destruction.

Another View

Thursday, September 12, 2013 by MARK RECCEK in Opinion

Before striking Syria, think about reasons first

Beat the war drums and huddle Americans together. Here we go again.

Over the past two weeks, President Barrack Obama has been busy presenting his case for a military invasion of Syria.

His spattering of public appearances and speeches, and the Senate Foreign Relations Committee recently voting 10-7 to grant the president limited authority to use military force, puts us one step closer to placing our young men and women, and our reputation as a country in harm's way.

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, September 12, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

·Episcopal House of the Lehigh Valley Inc., Allentown, seeks a computer instructor to help seniors learn how to do basic computer work, from turning the unit on to setting up a basic email account.

Contact Miki Weaver at 610-821-0311, mweaver@episcopalhouse.com.

·Executive Service Corps of the Lehigh Valley is looking for retired and career professional management consultants to volunteer their expertise to non-profits in the Lehigh Valley.

Contact Bill Cosgrove at 610-504-6199 or esclv@ptd.net.