Parkland Press

Wednesday, October 16, 2019

Living the vintage years

Thursday, July 18, 2013 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK Special to The Press in Opinion

Will anyone sing our praises when we're gone?

I confess I cannot clean my house without John Denver.

His two-cassette tape set (remember cassettes?), featuring his hit songs, accompanies me upstairs and down, week after week.

I sing along as I dust and scrub, wondering if Denver had a premonition about his premature death. Several of the songs seem to indicate he did.

A favorite tune of mine, "On the Wings of a Dream," has lyrics that remind me of a recent conversation my husband and I had with friends.

In the song, Denver asks, "Why is it thus we are here and so soon we are gone?"

Guest View

Thursday, July 18, 2013 by JOHN BERRY Special to The Press in Opinion

Why focus on the U.S. corn crop?

There has been considerable conversation in the mass media concerning the corn crop and prices.

Many agricultural economists believe commodity supply and demand affect prices.

For generations, farmers have focused on corn as one of the most significant farm commodities in the U.S. Farmers used to follow corn markets primarily because of the crops' value for feeding livestock and people.

Chosen Words

Thursday, July 18, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

The Wail of the Woeful Sailor

The wail of the woeful sailor

Rang out across the sea.

No longer proud, he cried aloud

"Please God, come rescue me!"

The sea is cruel to a Ship of Fools

With nowhere else to be.

They sail around, their destination bound

For the bottom of the sea.

So if we fail to hear this wail

And keep things as they be

No longer wise, then our demise

Will be no mystery.

And may God Bless America

Nickolas N. Zaccaro

Schnecksville

Guest View

Thursday, July 11, 2013 by PENNSYLVANIA ACADEMY OF OPHTHALMOLOGY Special to The Press in Opinion

Overexposure to sun's rays can cause painful, temporary blindness

In the summer, when the sun's ultraviolet rays are strongest, ophthalmologistsmedical doctors specializing in the diagnosis, medical and surgical treatment of eye diseases and conditionsare warning the public that overexposure to these rays can burn the eyes' corneas and cause painful, temporary blindness.

The Pennsylvania Academy of Ophthalmology and the American Academy of Ophthalmology urge the people of Pennsylvania to wear sunglasses and hats when enjoying the outdoors this summer and all year long.

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, July 11, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

·America on Wheels, Allentown, has several volunteer needs.

Contact Liz Hahn at 610-432-4200 ext. 10 or fund_development@americaonwheels.org

·Camelot for Children Inc., Allentown, needs volunteers for Camp Camelot Aug. 12-16 at the JCC Campground.

Contact Cassie Kemmerer at 610-791-5683 or cassiek@camelotforchildren.org.

·Hispanic Center of Lehigh Valley, Bethlehem, is looking for a volunteer coordinator to handle its many requests.

Contact Lorna Velazquez at 610-868-7800 ext. 221 or lvelazquez@hclv.org.

Editor's View

Thursday, July 11, 2013 by DEB PALMIERI in Opinion

Of course overeating is a sport ... and Italians are the champion chompers

Founding Father Benjamin Franklin, who wrote this chiasmus, "Eat to live, don't live to eat," in "Poor Richard's Almanack" (1732-1758) would probably agree with Julia Swan's sentiments in her Another View on what she calls "the disgusting spectacle" of hot dog eating contests.

I, however, owing to my heritage, (Yes, I do blame my Italian grandparents, great-grandparents and all the Middle Paleolithic relatives from the Italian Peninsula for my being just a "bit" overweight.) don't have such a caustic view of "overeating" as a sport.

Another View

Thursday, July 11, 2013 by JULIA F. SWAN in Opinion

Not a sport; a disgrace

Sports Illustrated magazine for a while ran a regular feature called "Sport – Not a Sport" in which it debated whether certain activities, such as cheerleading, ice dancing or synchronized swimming were really sports.

Whether those examples are sports is certainly debatable, at least they all involve some level of physical proficiency and effort.

But there's one activity that is televised on ESPN2, no less, every Fourth of July that is most emphatically not a sport – the disgusting spectacle called the Hot Dog Eating Contest.

Chosen Word

Thursday, July 4, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Raise the Flag!

Raise the flag for the 4th of July!

Lord above, may she ever fly

Less bloodletting than

that day in France

Ben Franklin and his friends declare

Independence from British

domination the colonies share

Those steamy days

in Philadelphia spent

Produced a noble document

Then signed by each gallant gent

Has stood the test of time

Yes, Raise the Flag

for the 4th once more

Despite complaints of guns galore

Celebrate, picnic,

neighbors and friends

Watch the fireworks with family again

Guest View

Thursday, July 4, 2013 by STATE REP. JULIE HARHART, R-183th Special to The Press in Opinion

Harhart proposes bill to protect waitstaff

People who are employed in the service industry, especially waiters and waitresses, work hard for the small base pay and tips they rely on for income.

That is why I have authored legislation to ensure they are treated fairly when it comes to those hard-earned tips.

Currently, in Pennsylvania, when customers choose to pay their bill with a credit card, it is common practice for credit card companies to charge business owners a 3-percent to 4-percent fee per transaction.

Editor's view

Thursday, July 4, 2013 by JOHANNA S. BILLINGS in Opinion

Customer beware: You don't know who you will find in the store dressing room

I was trying on clothes at a local department store recently when I heard a male voice.

Putting my own clothing back on, I opened the stall door to find a young couple discussing clothing the woman was trying on. They were not just near the dressing room. They were well inside it.

"This is a woman's dressing room," I said. "You need to leave."

The man didn't argue but his girlfriend got angry and, when I refused to back down, she called me "crazy" and stormed out saying, "I guess I'll have to go change in the men's room."