Parkland Press

Thursday, October 17, 2019

Guest View

Thursday, July 4, 2013 by STATE REP. GARY DAY, R-187th Special to The Press in Opinion

Gary Day cites educational priorities in new state budget

With an eye toward more funding for public education, school safety and career and technical education, I cast an affirmative vote on June 30 for the 2013-14 state budget.

The final state budget totals $28.376 billion, an increase of 2.3 percent over the recently concluded fiscal year.

It calls for no general fund tax increases and provides critical support for the core functions of government.

This budget responds to the calls from Pennsylvania taxpayers to keep spending within the amount of overall revenue available.

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, July 4, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Residents urged to call, email state legislators telling them to repeal Common Core

To the Editor:

Recently, members of Neighborhood Voter Network attended a talk by Dr. Peg Luksik on the issue of the Common Core Curriculum.

Dr. Luksik, an amazing speaker with impressive education credentials, used only official government documents to make her case against this federally-mandated curriculum from pre-kindergarten to grade 12 and beyond.

We believe her serious concerns should be examined carefully.

Another View

Thursday, June 27, 2013 by APRIL PETERSON in Opinion

Summer is the season of Lions

Summer is the season of Lions.

Let me explain.

My father was a dedicated member of the Lower Lehigh Lions and summer, in my memory at least, was the season when the Lions' calendar got in full swing: Bookended by flea market and garage sales in May and September, the summer calendar included my dad's shifts at breakfasts at Macungie Memorial Park and stints at Wheels of Time and Das Awkscht Fescht.

Our home phone number was among those listed to "make reservations or for more information" for various events.

Guest View

Thursday, June 27, 2013 by JOHN BERRY Special to The Press in Opinion

Hormones' use in beef leads to less land use

As the weather moderates, many of us start to use an outdoor grill.

In fact, three out of four U.S. households own a barbecue grill and Americans are grilling a whopping 2.9 billion times a year.

Most often, one of the foods we grill is beef.

We are truly blessed with a wide range of beef production systems from which to pick what we will grill and consume.

Whether I buy from a local grass-based farmer or the traditional grocery store, I can be assured of a nutritious product.

U.L. Lions install new officers

Thursday, June 27, 2013 by LARRY SNYDER Special to The Press in Opinion

Members of the Upper Lehigh Lions Club met on June 9 at the Schnecksville Grange for their annual executive board officer installation.

Two Melvin Jones Fellows and the Lion of the Year were recognized and 10 transfers from the Upper Lehigh Lioness Lions were welcomed.

Past President Ruthann Krause served as the meeting chairperson.

Past District Governor Larry Snyder, now membership director, installed the officers.

The Melvin Jones Fellowship awards were presented by Past President Henry Shoemaker.

Chosen Word

Thursday, June 20, 2013 by It Takes a Heart to Get to Heaven in Opinion

It takes a heart to get to heaven

And no matter how you try

You'd better have one all your own

It's not something you can buy.

And this heart must be a special heart

There's certain traits it must possess

It must have inside

the things we treasure most

Like truth and love, with joy

and tenderness.

It can't be hard or dark or cold

It must be alive and vibrant too

It must hold inside

our hopes and dreams

There's much that it must do.

It must yearn for peace

Yet be stout and strong

ANOTHER VIEW

Thursday, June 20, 2013 by LINDA WOJCIECHOWSKI in Opinion

National Football League fans take the hit

The terrorists seem to be winning the war against the American way of life, one catastrophe at a time.

Following the horrible 9-11 attacks, we cued up in airport security lines, having our luggage scanned, packing lotions and shampoos in Ziploc bags and leaving our pocket knives at home.

When a self-proclaimed Al-Qaida operative fashioned a bomb in a shoe and tried to ignite it on a flight, we began removing our shoes for inspection in those airport lines. (I was relieved when, after the thwarted attempt by the "underwear bomber," we were allowed to keep our skivvies on.)

Living the Vintage Years

Thursday, June 20, 2013 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK Special to The Press in Opinion

Quality of life can make or break a community

What qualities should Allentown's next police chief possess?

That interesting question recently was put to city residents by Mayor Ed Pawlowski, who will choose a new top cop in the fall.

My husband and I attended the mayor's information-gathering meeting and were disappointed with the relatively sparse turnout.

The attitude of folks who didn't plan to attend seemed to be, as one neighbor put it: "It makes no difference who's in charge. Nothing will change."

I disagree.

Guest View

Thursday, June 20, 2013 by PENNSYLVANIA ACADEMY OF OPHTHALMOLOGY Special to The Press in Opinion

Leave fireworks to professionals this Fourth of July

Each Fourth of July, thousands of people are injured from using consumer fireworks.

According to the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, more than 9,000 fireworks-related injuries happen each year.

Of these, nearly half are head-related injuries, with nearly 30 percent of these injuries to the eyes.

One-fourth of fireworks eye injuries result in permanent vision loss or blindness.

June is Fireworks Eye Safety Awareness Month, and the Pennsylvania Academy of Ophthalmology wants to remind consumers to leave fireworks to professionals.