Parkland Press

Thursday, April 2, 2020

Guest View

Thursday, December 5, 2013 by JOHN BERRY Special to The Press in Opinion

How do you see the future of family farms?

The average size of a U.S. crop farm has changed little during the past three decades.

However, this seeming stability masks important structural changes in our farm sector: There are growing numbers of very small and very large farms, and declining numbers of mid-sized farms.

In 2011, 1.68 million U.S. farms had an average size of 234 acres, according to our USDA.

However, 80 percent of farms were smaller than this average with just 45 acres.

On the other hand, most cropland was on much larger farms those with 1,000 acres or more. How can this be?

Chosen Words

Thursday, December 5, 2013 by Standing on the Corner in Opinion

I was standing on the corner

of 23rd and Psalm

Feeling kinda nervous

Trying to stay calm.

I was looking for direction

And wondering what I'd find

I was hoping that I'd meet someone

Compassionate and kind.

But looks can be deceiving

And things not always what they seem

I wasn't sure of what happened next

Or what it all might mean.

I thought I saw a shepherd

Though I couldn't see his sheep

He walked right up to me and said he thought

That it was time we should meet.

Editor's View

Thursday, December 5, 2013 by DEBBIE GALBRAITH in Opinion

The power of faith, prayer and religious freedom

Three topics to be avoided during any holiday gathering include religion, politics and money. Politics is a definite topic to stay away from – sure to inflate blood pressure in many individuals.

Money is another – salaries, spending, inflation, etc. However, talking about and walking the walk of personal faith seems to be an equally touchy subject.

On Facebook, friends ask for prayers when loved ones are undergoing surgery, have experienced a death in the family or are in need of a miracle.

Guest View

Thursday, November 28, 2013 by ANDY MARKS Special to The Press in Opinion

Retailers not to blame for loss of Thanksgiving holiday – shoppers are

November has always been a time of the year I've enjoyed.

Autumn is officially here and the leaves have fallen off the trees. I can't say I enjoy raking them, but they're nice to look at.

The temperature has changed and it's colder outside, but I love wearing layers.

There's nothing quite as comforting as being bundled in my pea coat and having a scarf tied around my neck.

And then there's Thanksgiving.

En Glee Bissell des un Sell

Thursday, November 28, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Der Baydawg is widder doe,

Un es glabbert yo so in der Kich;

Blendy arwet fer mich,

Welsh-hawna un lots funn socha,

Muss ich now ready

macha in der Kich;

Es is g'shpboss fer mich,

Kucha un feel boi,

Shtana shunt in ra roi In der Kich;

Oh, es shwitzed mich.

De kinner kumma ol hame,

Wil wetta se acta wider

es same in der Kich;

Ei, es lechered mich.

Eb mer essa, duhna mer bayda,

Shpater shwappa mer

resayda in der Kich;

Blendy harlichkate fer mich.

Der baydawg kumt un gayed,

Editor's View

Thursday, November 28, 2013 by DEB PALMIERI in Opinion

Give thanks for the strength to survive whatever hardships life may hand you

Many families this Thanksgiving will wonder why they should give thanks.

Some may have lost their homes, to fire, foreclosure or to sheriff's sale.

Others may have lost their jobs or their health insurance.

Many may be suffering from the loss of a loved one or having been told they have a serious illness.

Thanksgiving, however, is an ideal time to discuss treasured memories.

Chosen Words

Thursday, November 28, 2013 by Cornucopia of Gratitude in Opinion

Gathering the family

We bundle up against

harsh winter winds

To travel to Grandma's house

Whether near or far

Awaiting the feast as family

We are greeted by loved ones

Amongst a warm home filled with love

And by aroma of roast turkey, stuffing and pumpkin pies

The table set with its centerpiece

cornucopia of fruits and nuts

Declares this a special

day of gathering

A national heritage of gratitude

For freedom to worship God

For all the good gifts of life

For the harvest of food,

Letter to the Editor Writer remembers friend who roller-skated across Eighth Street Bridge

Thursday, November 28, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Upon reading the Eighth Street Bridge in Allentown was going to celebrate its 100th birthday, it brought back memories of an old acquaintance of mine, who at 9 years old was eagerly awaiting the grand opening of the bridge.

His name was John D. Stager, and he would retell the excitement he had when at age 9, he became the very first person to roller-skate across the Eighth Street Bridge.

In later years, John D. Stager became founder of The Keystone Memorial Company, along Walbert Avenue in South Whitehall Township.

Two days and 150 years ago ...

Thursday, November 21, 2013 by APRIL PETERSON in Opinion

Celebrating Lincoln's Gettysburg Address

Consider this. In the time the American Dental Association recommends everyone should brush to achieve maximum dental health, Abraham Lincoln managed to dedicate the first cemetery for soldiers of war in the United States, acknowledge the loss and devastation of a three-day battle on fields and hills not far from here, do a bit of damage control to his own image, and redefine the United States of America.

Not bad for two minutes. That is less time than it takes to make most microwave popcorn.