Parkland Press

Thursday, April 2, 2020

Abraham Lincoln's Gettysburg Address

Thursday, November 21, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Four score and seven years ago our fathers brought forth on this continent, a new nation, conceived in Liberty, and dedicated to the proposition that all men are created equal.

Now we are engaged in a great civil war, testing whether that nation, or any nation so conceived and so dedicated, can long endure.

We are met on a great battle-field of that war. We have come to dedicate a portion of that field, as a final resting place for those who here gave their lives that that nation might live. It is altogether fitting and proper that we should do this.

Letters to The Editor Candidates' Post-Election Comments

Thursday, November 21, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Heidelberg Twp Supervisor

My only campaign strategy was to put out a dozen or so signs indicating my intent three days before the election.

I mailed nothing and handed out nothing at the polling place.

I believe my actions over the years would have demonstrated my dedication, commitment and service to my community.

I have served on committees and am currently serving as an auditor for the township.

I am committed and dedicated to continually work for the public good of my community.

Charlie Perich

South Whitehall

Commissioners

Another view

Thursday, November 14, 2013 by LINDA WOJCIECHOWSKI in Opinion

On second thought, it's a good thing

I was somewhat alarmed when I woke up last Wednesday morning and read the election results for the local races covered by the Catasauqua Press.

Voters had let a longtime Catasauqua Borough Councilwoman go.

And in Hanover Township Lehigh County, not one, but two township council members who had served, uncontested, for many years, were gone.

North Catasauqua voters also ousted two public servants from their borough council.

Was there a conspiracy afoot by political parties to clean house?

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, November 14, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

·Cancer Support Community of the Greater Lehigh Valley, Bethlehem, needs volunteers to raise money by distributing donation cans to stores, businesses, coffee shops, etc. throughout the region.

Contact Deborah Post at 610-861-7555 or dpost@cancersupportglv.org.

Executive Service Corps is looking for retired and career professional management consultants to volunteer their expertise to non-profits in the Lehigh Valley.

Contact Bill Cosgrove at 610-504-6199 or esclv@ptd.net.

Chosen Words

Thursday, November 14, 2013 by Please Stop Crying in Opinion

There are whispers and sighs

When an American dies

Especially in service to our country

Does the world get a little bit colder?

Well I think that's true

But between me and you

I know that somewhere

An American is crying

It's a mother who remembers

Changing her son's diapers

A father remembers his daughter's first prom

Grandmothers and Grandfathers remembering

How it was when they were both young

And the brothers and sisters

Who are now missing

A part of them that always seemed there

Guest View

Thursday, November 14, 2013 by DAVE ARGALL Sen. R-29th in Opinion

Resolution to examine merging school employee health care plans

In recent weeks, lawmakers in Harrisburg have debated several competing attempts to reform the archaic and unfair school property tax system that has existed in Pennsylvania since the 1830s.

This critical issue deserves our undivided attention since it is the only tax that has the power to leave a person homeless.

One major concern raised by both the supporters and the opponents of property tax elimination is the issue of rapidly rising school district costs, especially health care costs.

Living the Vintage Years

Thursday, November 14, 2013 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK Special to The Press in Opinion

Create a lasting tribute to departed loved ones

When the father of a church member died last month, the family honored his memory in a wonderful way.

His children decided to give away his belongings rather than try to sell anything.

"You only get pennies on the dollar at a yard sale," his daughter said, explaining why the family did not want to expend time and effort on a sale.

"Besides," she continued, "so many of his neighbors are low income and can use the furniture. That would have made my dad happy."

Editor's View

Thursday, November 7, 2013 by DEBRA PALMIERI in Opinion

Voters and political candidates both needed for America's success

By the time you read this, the Nov. 5 election will be over.

Votes will be tallied and new mayors, council members, supervisors, school board members, county commissioners and county executives will have been chosen.

Voters will also have decided on future funding of the Parkland and Salisbury Township libraries.

There could be close races, some write-in votes may still remain to be counted and a recount or two might be requested.

Of course, the winners will not be officially announced for a couple weeks.