Parkland Press

Tuesday, December 10, 2019

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, August 29, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Writer supports original Miss Kempton Fair

To the Editor

I have recently learned of a very unsettling situation involving the recent crowning of Miss Kempton Fair.

I know the fair "queen" is supposed to encourage the promotion of agricultural fairs and create better relationships between the young and old in rural and urban settings.

I was shocked to learn that after crowning a "queen" one of the contestants was unhappy with the results and allegedly started a campaign to discredit the winner.

As a result of those efforts, Kempton is now choosing to have two "queens."

Chosen Words

Thursday, August 22, 2013 by At Summer's End in Opinion

Ah yes, here we are at summer's end

Do all you can to make it extend

The beach, the shore,

the mountains, the lake

Let us all of these partake

Until we've had our fill

Then wake...

To find we're back at school or work

Ah yes, we are the fortunate

To have these time consuming goals

For there are those who have no work

Or whose purpose is yet to be known

So enjoy these days

Be grateful, too

That you have much

And you are you

D.J. Hausman-Hill

Lititz

Editor's View

Thursday, August 22, 2013 by JOHANNA S. BILLINGS in Opinion

Buying secluded cabin in Maine leads to treasure hunt and duct tape heaven

If you've ever seen the "Red Green Show," then you will have a true understanding of my story.

If you're not familiar with Red Green, you've probably heard of the TV show "Hoarders."

If neither show is familiar to you, just look up the lyrics to Arlo Guthrie's "Alice's Restaurant" and pay particular attention to his descriptions of the garbage.

That's kind of how it was when we bought our cabin in Maine.

Living the Vintage Years

Thursday, August 22, 2013 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK Special to The Press in Opinion

History is not just an academic subject

Most people would not think of going to the movies for a history lesson.

Movies are fun. History is, well, boring, according to too many people.

But once in a while history and cinema can coexist, and we can be both entertained and educated.

Such is the experience movie patrons receive when they see "The Butler."

Although the basic story is fiction, loosely based on an actual black butler who served eight U.S. presidents, the extensive interspersed film clips of the civil rights movement are all too real.

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, August 22, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

·American Cancer Society, Bethlehem, needs volunteers to join in the fight against breast cancer.

Contact Donna Lilly at 610-921-2329 or donna.lilly@cancer.org.

·Catholic Charities Diocese of Allentown is looking for volunteers with a professional image and demeanor to man the front desk.

Contact Patricia Holtz at 610- 435-1541, ext. 342 or pholtz@allentowndiocese.org.

·Da Vinci Science Center, Allentown, needs adult volunteers for floor exhibits.

Contact Jen Pors at 484-664-1002 or Jen@davincisciencecenter.org.

Guest View

Thursday, August 15, 2013 by STATE REP. JULIE HARHART, R-183rd Special to The Press in Opinion

Commonwealth budget sets right priorities

The 2013-14 state budget, which totals $28.37 billion, is responsible to the taxpayer while focusing heavily on supporting education and job creation – two important factors to the long-term success of our state.

The budget invests more than $10 billion for kindergarten through 12th grade schools – which marks the highest amount of state dollars ever devoted to education.

Included is a $122 million increase for basic education, along with additional funds for community libraries, early childhood programs and mobile science centers for rural areas.

Guest View

Thursday, August 15, 2013 by JOHN BERRY Special to The Press in Opinion

What is sustainable agriculture?

We hear quite a bit about the concepts of sustainability lately.Everything from fuel to em-ployment to housing is referred to as needing to be sustainable.

I wonder how we have come to reconsider our food and fiber production in terms of sustainability.

What are the ecological, economic, social and philosophical issues sustainable agriculture addresses?

The long-term viability of our current food production system is being questioned for many reasons.

The news media regularly present us with the paradox of starvation amidst plenty.

Chosen Words

Thursday, August 15, 2013 by Sublime summer's end in Opinion

Setting sun shimmering on the bay

Multi-configured clouds

Frame this glorious scene

Scent of sea engulfs my senses

As gulls ride the thermals heavenward

A fitting climax to an

all too insular summer

Devoid of supernal inspiration

by nature's handiwork

Ah, how the muse performs

Her song of bliss

enlivened by this scene

Reveling in joy at summer's end

As the sun sets in the west

Yet another summer passes

I am transfixed by this

sublime summer's end.

D.J. Hausman-Hill

Lititz

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, August 15, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

·St. Luke's Hospital, 1736 Hamilton St., Allentown, volunteer open house at the Volunteer Office in the east lobby to welcome people interested in volunteering in a health care setting 1-2:30 p.m. Aug. 19.

Some examples of hospital volunteer opportunities include patient advocates, operating room waiting room liaisons, gift shop assistants, clerical assistants, patient companionship, patient and family support and outreach, among others.

For information, go to slhn.org, keyword "Volunteer," Facebook.com/stlukesvolunteers or call 484-526-4600.

Editor's View

Thursday, August 15, 2013 by DEBBIE GALBRAITH in Opinion

Charlie, beware of the wrecking ball!

Conversation around town is the King George Inn will be demolished to make way for a hotel and additional stores along Hamilton and Cedar Crest boulevards, South Whitehall Township.

The development would incorporate the King George Inn, the Burger King and the Carvel Ice Cream store sites.

South Whitehall Township Manager Jon Hammer confirmed the owner could demolish the building but no permit has been obtained.