Parkland Press

Friday, April 3, 2020

Guest View

Thursday, October 24, 2013 by JOHN BERRY Special to The Press in Opinion

Where does all this food come from?

We understand every American farmer feeds roughly 155 people.

Since these people do not have to farm to feed themselves, they are free to pursue other careers.

This phenomenon is often referred to as the "industrialization of agriculture."

By increasing the productive capacity of our farmers we were able to devote massive amounts of creativity and innovation to manufacturing, technology, communications and trade.

What is this thing we call "productivity?"

Chosen Word

Thursday, October 24, 2013 by An October Prayer in Opinion

An October prayerwell it should be easy

But there's just so much going on out there.

Such pain, and strifeso many needy

To pick just one would not seem fair.

Yet on we go, as we keep on wondering

Just where or what, to whom to turn?

The leaves still change, but do we ever?

The squirrels gather, but we still yearn.

Our family first, and then the harvest

Remembering where the first fruits go.

For what we have we must be grateful.

And who to thank we surely know.

A brilliant, reddish, orangish sunset

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, October 24, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Supervisor's wife supports Scott Dietrich

To the Editor:

This letter is to inform the residents of Lynn Township of what is occurring in our township.

During the May primary, Supervisor Justin Smith distributed a campaign email for candidate Steve Feinour.

In the email, Smith wrote that my husband [Supervisor Brian Dietrich] and I received over $1 million!

Wow! Really? We were millionaires and did not even know.

My husband and I never received $1 million from "a government program we knew about."

Another View

Thursday, October 24, 2013 by SUSAN BRYANT in Opinion

Tips for keeping children safe on Halloween

Halloween is the one night a year ghosts and goblins come out for some spooky fun.

The night is also when many children dressed in costumes go trick-or-treating in their neighborhoods.

According to Safe Kids Worldwide, children are more than twice as likely to be hit by a car and killed on Halloween than on any other day of the year.

Last year, a 14-year-old boy was killed while trick or treating with a friend along Schantz Road, in the area of Balsam Street and Cottonwood Road, Upper Macungie Township, when he was struck by a vehicle.

Living the Vintage Years

Thursday, October 17, 2013 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK Special to The Press in Opinion

Give, but don't get taken

Like many individuals, the elderly woman has a soft spot in her heart for abused and unwanted pets.

Unfortunately, she is exactly the type of person animal welfare charities, both reputable and otherwise, like to target.

The sad tales and photos of pathetic-looking dogs and cats arrive in her mailbox often, accompanied by "Please help me" appeals for donations.

The compassionate woman feels compelled to aid the poor creatures. She opens her checkbook.

The organizations see they have touched her heartstrings.

Guest View

Thursday, October 17, 2013 by DEBBIE JACK Special to The Press in Opinion

Language: It is at the core of our American culture

Language. It is at the core of our American culture. Libraries not only preserve it, they celebrate it and contribute to solving many of the problems in our society with it. For 23 years, I have worked in libraries in some capacity whether it was shelving books, checking books out at the circulation desk, working at the teen desk, answering questions as an adult librarian, or providing operational leadership as senior librarian.

All of my earlier experience brought me here three years ago to my current position as executive director of the Parkland Community Library.

Another View

Thursday, October 17, 2013 by BY APRIL PETERSON in Opinion

Let us now praise famous ... libraries

I am a library geek.

The evidence is clear. Check my wallet and you will find cards for Emmaus Public Library, covered with stickers permitting access to the Allentown Public Library system and "Access Pennsylvania," an online carte-blanche of sorts for libraries throughout the state.

I have a card, expired, for Cressman Library at Cedar Crest College, and, the prize of the collection, an ACCESS card to the New York Public Library: The Research Libraries.

Editor's View

Thursday, October 10, 2013 by JOHANNA S. BILLINGS in Opinion

Government shutdown hurts in many ways

Babies and spoiled brats.

Yep, I'm talking about members of the United States Congress.

The recent government shutdown is an example of the abysmal failure of our elected officials to behave like responsible adults and work out their differences in a respectable and professional manner.

I am not going to mention political parties or the issue Congress is fighting about. Both are irrelevant because, when you strip away the rhetoric of party politics, you can see the shutdown for what it is – grown-ups behaving badly because they suffer no consequences for their actions.

Chosen Words

Thursday, October 10, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

The October of Our Lives

Crisp, bright days illumine fall colors

Brilliant gold, mixed with

a tinge of rust

Days of rain, laden with sadness

Sadness at the loss

of dear friends departed

All these aspects of the

October of our lives

Not yet November with its darkness and debilitation

Looking toward December's

long night of the soul

The end of our days

But October

Those golden moments

of playing with grandchildren

Reunions with old friends and acquaintances

Reminiscences of younger years