Parkland Press

Friday, September 20, 2019

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, May 9, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Writer disagrees with Editor's View

To the Editor:

Deb Palmieri's fatuous comments regarding the Boston bombings [Editor's View, May 1 issue] reveal a dearth of historical insight. They're also racist.

For her, all Muslims are "them" the ones who want to destroy "our" way of life.

Her bizarre link between the construction of a mosque and a piece of 9/11 airplane wreckage indicates she feels all Muslims bear responsibility for the work of a couple dozen terrorists.

Are all Americans responsible because innocents were killed in Newtown by an American?

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, May 2, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

MCU condemns actions of Boston bombers

To the Editor:

Members of Muslims and Christians United are shocked and horrified by the cowardly bombing at the Boston Marathon.

MCU, based in the Lehigh Valley, condemns the attack in the strongest possible terms. The individuals who carried out the attacks do not represent Muslims, nor do their actions represent Islam.

Guest View II

Thursday, May 2, 2013 by JOHN BERRY Special to The Press in Opinion

Farmers ask for public's patience during planting, growing, harvesting seasons

One of the primary reasons many enjoy living in the Lehigh Valley is the quality of life afforded by agricultural communities.

Open space, wildlife habitat and ground water recharge are some benefits of thriving farms.

Perhaps more significant is the vast amount of safe and wholesome food we can choose from to feed ourselves and our families that is made readily available because of our local farm families' efforts.

Our regional farmers understand the last thing a motorist wants is to be stuck behind a farm tractor, moving at a slow speed.

Election Policy

Thursday, May 2, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 primary election, the Parkland Press and the Northwestern Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials was April 25.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Editor's View

Thursday, May 2, 2013 by DEB PALMIERI in Opinion

They can knock us down but we return stronger and taller

How fitting it is, following the April 15 Boston Marathon bombings by two brothers with alleged ties to violent Muslim extremists, that the final piece of One World Trade Center, the spire, was scheduled be lifted in place on Monday.

Unfortunately, high winds and bad weather forced a temporary delay.

Installation of the 408-foot, 800-ton spire began last December with pieces made in New Jersey and Canada.

Guest View I

Thursday, May 2, 2013 by STEPHEN GRAY WALLACE Special to The Press in Opinion

Prom, graduation dangerous times for teen drivers, SADD says

Prom and graduation season, the Fourth of July, and summer vacation give pause to parents of teenagers everywhere.

Why?

Because celebration paired with newfound freedom can trigger tragedy on our roads and highways.

Indeed, young people themselves report that these times of year are the most dangerous when it comes to driving. And alcohol and other drugs are primary reasons.

ElectionPolicy

Thursday, April 25, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 primary election, the Parkland Press and the Northwestern Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials will be the April 25 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, April 25, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

·Fox Environmental Center, Bethlehem, is looking for a volunteer to run the front desk and be the friendly face visitors see when entering.

Call June Kapalko at 610-653-0908 or email vol.coord.gbfox@gmail.com.

·Lehigh Valley Score, Bethlehem, seeks experienced business professionals to offer in-person and online counseling and advice to start ups and in-business owners of small businesses and non-profit organizations.

Call Mitzi Colella at 610-266-3000 or mcolella@lvscore.org.

On the Homefront

Thursday, April 25, 2013 by DENISE CONTINENZA Special to The Press in Opinion

Kindergarten: Ready or not?

Every time I conduct a program for parents of soon-to-be kindergarteners, two questions inevitably come up.

One is, "My child is so smart, I am afraid she will be bored in kindergarten. Should I put her right in first grade?"

To this, I usually respond, that given the structure and higher demands of kindergarten compared to what it was years ago, this child is very ready for the pace of today's kindergarten.

The second question a parent always poses is, "I think I want to wait another year to make sure my child is really ready for kindergarten. What should I do?"

Living the Vintage Years

Thursday, April 25, 2013 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK Special to The Press in Opinion

Older drivers: Try before you buy

Last week I did something I had not done in 29 years. I bought a new car.

To regular readers and friends who know and admire my spiffy 1984 Subaru wagon: Don't worry. I did not part with it. Perish the thought.

Actually, that wonderful old car of mine was the main reason my husband and I decided to splurge on a new one.

With more than 130,000 miles on the odometer, my little red wagon was working too hard and deserves a good waxing and some garage time.

My husband's 1991 two-door model has logged over 200,000 miles, so we are reluctant to drive it long distances.