Parkland Press

Friday, February 21, 2020

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, September 12, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

It is a time for dialogue not dynamite

To the Editor:

As a member of Service Academy Graduates Against The War, I oppose the Obama government's plan to bomb Syria.

Its use of chemical weapons remains highly speculative.

Aside from proof chemical weapons were indeed used, which no one disputes, there is little evidence indicating the Syrian government did so.

Logic alone would indicate it did not.

We fear self-serving evidence combined with expedient reasoning will lead to yet another immoral campaign of death and destruction.

Another View

Thursday, September 12, 2013 by MARK RECCEK in Opinion

Before striking Syria, think about reasons first

Beat the war drums and huddle Americans together. Here we go again.

Over the past two weeks, President Barrack Obama has been busy presenting his case for a military invasion of Syria.

His spattering of public appearances and speeches, and the Senate Foreign Relations Committee recently voting 10-7 to grant the president limited authority to use military force, puts us one step closer to placing our young men and women, and our reputation as a country in harm's way.

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, September 12, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

·Episcopal House of the Lehigh Valley Inc., Allentown, seeks a computer instructor to help seniors learn how to do basic computer work, from turning the unit on to setting up a basic email account.

Contact Miki Weaver at 610-821-0311, mweaver@episcopalhouse.com.

·Executive Service Corps of the Lehigh Valley is looking for retired and career professional management consultants to volunteer their expertise to non-profits in the Lehigh Valley.

Contact Bill Cosgrove at 610-504-6199 or esclv@ptd.net.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, September 12, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Writers question need for library referendum

To the Editor:

On the Nov. 6 election ballot there will be a referendum to raise the tax from 0.1 mills to 0.2978 mills, a 198-percent increase that is identified strictly for the Parkland Library.

This increased rate will continue until a date not later than July 1, 2035, at which time the rate will adjust to 0.1895 mills, a 90-percent increase from the current 0.1 mills.

Based on my recollection, the current rate of 0.1 mills generates an estimated $625,000 annually.

Chosen Words

Thursday, September 5, 2013 by Sublime summer's end in Opinion

Setting sun shimmering on the bay

Multi-configured clouds

Frame this glorious scene

Scent of sea engulfs my senses

As gulls ride the thermals heavenward

A fitting climax to an

all too insular summer

Devoid of supernal inspiration

by nature's handiwork

Ah, how the muse performs

Her song of bliss

enlivened by this scene

Reveling in joy at summer's end

As the sun sets in the west

Yet another summer passes

I am transfixed by this

sublime summer's end.

D.J. Hausman-Hill

Lititz

Another View

Thursday, September 5, 2013 by SUSAN BRYANT in Opinion

Be prepared before disaster strikes

September is not only the time when many children return to school, it is also National Preparedness Month.

National Preparedness Month is part of the Federal Emergency Management Agency's efforts to encourage Americans to prepare for any emergency or natural disaster.

Residents in the Lehigh Valley experienced first hand in 2011 how disasters can strike at anytime.

Many residents and workers in the Valley were sent out into yards and parking lots at 1:50 p.m. Aug. 23, 2011, when tremors from a 5.8 magnitude earthquake in Mineral, Va. shook homes and office buildings.

Letter to the Editor Writer says tickets were stolen in Miss Kempton Fair contest

Thursday, September 5, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

To The Editor:

I am writing in response to the controversy over the Kempton Fair queen.

In a previous letter to the editor (The Press, Aug. 29) there were some details that need to be clarified.

The first issue I would like to address is it states "One of the contestants was unhappy with the results and allegedly started a campaign to discredit the winner." This is so untrue.

It was never to discredit the winner. The issue was two of the contestants' people's choice ticket containers were broken into and tickets were stolen.

Guest View

Thursday, September 5, 2013 by JOHN BERRY Special to The Press in Opinion

Are you considering a pick-your-own experience?

Recently, the popularity of P-Y-O family outings has increased.

It is no wonder. We can enjoy not only the fruits and vegetables we may harvest, but we also get to experience some time on a real farm.

We are fortunate each month brings the availability of a different fruit or vegetable.

What is available for us to pick varies on location, varieties planted and weather conditions, so always call the farm so you don't miss the products you are after or the times they are available to pick.