Parkland Press

Friday, April 3, 2020

Editor's View

Thursday, October 10, 2013 by DEB PALMIERI in Opinion

Government shutdown could be tipping point for country's future

With all due respect to Whitehall-Coplay Press Editor Johanna Billings concerns about foreign students not being able to work in Maine restaurants and her inability to access Acadia National Park, the government shutdown began much earlier for families in the Lehigh Valley who have lost their homes to foreclosure over the past four or five years.

The government shutdown will last a lot longer for workers who have been notified by their employers their work hours or even jobs will be cut due to President Barack Obama's not-so affordable health care.

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, October 10, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Writer compliments Mahalik column

To the Editor:

Reading Pattie Mahalik's column in the Sept. 26 edition of the Northwestern Press brought back so many fond memories of my friends in the Suncoast Writer's Guild, whose creative writings have so inspired me.

Throughout the past nine years, I've been privileged to meet with this group three times a month for the three months of the year while my husband, Bruce, and I reside in Venice, Fla.

Living the Vintage Years

Thursday, October 3, 2013 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK Special to The Press in Opinion

Do you have a conscience?

The woman's words stick in my mind, conjuring up images of contrasts, not unlike multi-hued autumn leaves.

When I asked the woman whether she doesn't worry someone will steal the money from the produce stand's "honor" box, she replied, "If they do, they'll lose a lot more than we will."

My husband and I visit that Mennonite farm stand whenever we are in the area, and this was the first time we encountered any member of the family.

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, October 3, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

·America on Wheels, Allentown, has several volunteer needs.

Contact Liz Hahn at 610-432-4200, ext. 10 or fund_development@americaonwheels.org.

·Equi-librium, Sciota, needs volunteers to help with riders and horses in the Equine Assisted Activities and Therapies Program for people with disabilities.

Contact Yvonne Darlington at 570-992-7722 or elvolunteer@epix.net.

·Hispanic Center of Lehigh Valley, Bethlehem, is looking for a volunteer to serve as volunteer coordinator.

Contact Lorna Velazquez at 610-868-7800, ext. 221 or lvelazquez@hclv.org.

Guest View

Thursday, October 3, 2013 by JIM ZACHARY Special to The Press in Opinion

Your community, your newspaper, your life

As newspaper executives struggle over whether the news should be digital first, tablet first, SMS first or print first, readers know exactly what they want their local newspaper to be community first.

Reading a newspaper is not like reading a novel, a magazine, a history book, poetry, prose or any other type of literature.

Newspapers are not about what has happened in the past, what is happening someplace else, or what happens in an author's imagination.

Newspapers are about us.

Another View

Thursday, September 26, 2013 by LINDA WOJCIECHOWSKI in Opinion

College: Getting the most for your money

Millions of college students around the country are now experiencing their first time away from home with total freedom.

These students are taking on not only the challenge of achieving a strong grade point average, but they face hurdles their parents did not have, especially the cost of the education they are acquiring.

In a recent speech President Barack Obama gave to University of Buffalo students, he addressed the soaring cost of a college diploma, while acknowledging the importance of higher education.

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, September 26, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Remembering the day Dorney Park burned

To the Editor:

The recent fire at the FunTown Pier Amusement Park along the boardwalk in Seaside Heights, N.J. brought to mind another devastating fire that destroyed a portion of an amusement park closer to home 30 years ago.

When I came home from school on Sept. 28, 1983, much to my horror, I watched the breaking news on Channel 6 Action News of a fire at Dorney Park.

The live television footage showed big plumes of black smoke drifting westward from the historic area of the park.

My immediate comment to my mother was "I hope it isn't the carousel."

Guest View

Thursday, September 26, 2013 by JOHN BERRY Special to The Press in Opinion

Why don't more people farm?

We hear about how few farmers there are.

This may cause us to wonder why more people are not building careers as farmers.

One significant reason we don't have more farmers is productivity.

Because today's farmers are so productive, many do not have to farm in order for us all to eat.

We are free to pursue other careers such as bankers, manufacturers, teachers and nurses.

Productivity is the ratio of output to input in production; it is a measure of the efficiency of production.

Productivity has many benefits.

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, September 19, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Lehigh Valley Score, Bethlehem, seeks experienced business professionals to offer in-person and online counseling and advice to start ups and in-business owners of small businesses and non-profit organizations.

Contact Mitzi Colella at 610-266-3000 or mcolella@lvscore.org.

·Good Shepherd Rehabilitation Network, Allentown, is recruiting volunteers for the hospital gift shop, grocery shopper for the Raker Center, volunteer ambassadors, inpatient pediatric, and personal assistants for residents at the Bethlehem site.

Contact JoAnn Frey at 610-776-3125 or jfrey@gsrh.org.