Parkland Press

Friday, February 21, 2020

Guest View

Thursday, September 5, 2013 by RYAN MACKENZIE State Rep. R-134th in Opinion

House advances bills to aid veterans and service members

Several weeks ago, I had the opportunity to present a long overdue medal to a combat veteran from World War II.

Pvt. Bernard Winzer should have been recognized decades ago for heroic actions he took during Black Devil's Assault on Dec. 3, 1943.

Unfortunately, due to an oversight, his valor would go unnoticed by officials until last spring.

At that time, a staffer from U.S. Sen.Pat Toomey's office discovered Winzer was owed a Bronze Star.

After much hard work, Toomey secured the Bronze Star Award for the now 90-year-old man.

Martin Luther King's Dream and the Declaration of Independence

Thursday, August 29, 2013 by DR. MICHAEL COULTER Special to The Press in Opinion

Aug. 28 marked the 50th anniversary of the 1963 March on Washington.

Martin Luther King Jr.'s speech at that great rally is rightly honored as one of the greatest speeches in American history.

All Americans recognize the soaring rhetoric of the final portion of the speech, where King speaks of a dream of an America without legal discrimination or racial prejudice.

But the first part of that speech, wherein King speaks of the Declaration of Independence and Constitution, is not as well-known but deserves to be.

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, August 29, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

·America on Wheels, Allentown, has several volunteer needs.

Contact Liz Hahn at 610-432-4200 ext. 10 or fund_development@americaonwheels. org.

·Delaware and Lehigh National Heritage corridor, Easton, is looking for volunteers to help make apple butter at Historic Lock 44 in Freemansburg during the last week of September and first week of October.

Contact Dennis Scholl at 610-923-3548 ext. 225 or dennis@delawareandlehigh.org.

Editor's view

Thursday, August 29, 2013 by DEBBIE GALBRAITH in Opinion

A matter of dreams, character and peace

CBS News special correspondent James Brown re-cently interviewed 76-year-old former University of Iowa basketball coach George Raveling on an episode of CBS Sunday Morning.

In the interview, Raveling said he was visiting his best friend Warren Wilson and family 50 years ago in Wilmington, Del.

Raveling said at Wilson's father's urging, they made plans to attend the March in Washington for Jobs and Freedom Aug. 28, 1963.

They arrived the night before and were recruited as volunteers.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, August 29, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Writer supports original Miss Kempton Fair

To the Editor

I have recently learned of a very unsettling situation involving the recent crowning of Miss Kempton Fair.

I know the fair "queen" is supposed to encourage the promotion of agricultural fairs and create better relationships between the young and old in rural and urban settings.

I was shocked to learn that after crowning a "queen" one of the contestants was unhappy with the results and allegedly started a campaign to discredit the winner.

As a result of those efforts, Kempton is now choosing to have two "queens."

Chosen Words

Thursday, August 22, 2013 by At Summer's End in Opinion

Ah yes, here we are at summer's end

Do all you can to make it extend

The beach, the shore,

the mountains, the lake

Let us all of these partake

Until we've had our fill

Then wake...

To find we're back at school or work

Ah yes, we are the fortunate

To have these time consuming goals

For there are those who have no work

Or whose purpose is yet to be known

So enjoy these days

Be grateful, too

That you have much

And you are you

D.J. Hausman-Hill

Lititz

Editor's View

Thursday, August 22, 2013 by JOHANNA S. BILLINGS in Opinion

Buying secluded cabin in Maine leads to treasure hunt and duct tape heaven

If you've ever seen the "Red Green Show," then you will have a true understanding of my story.

If you're not familiar with Red Green, you've probably heard of the TV show "Hoarders."

If neither show is familiar to you, just look up the lyrics to Arlo Guthrie's "Alice's Restaurant" and pay particular attention to his descriptions of the garbage.

That's kind of how it was when we bought our cabin in Maine.

Living the Vintage Years

Thursday, August 22, 2013 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK Special to The Press in Opinion

History is not just an academic subject

Most people would not think of going to the movies for a history lesson.

Movies are fun. History is, well, boring, according to too many people.

But once in a while history and cinema can coexist, and we can be both entertained and educated.

Such is the experience movie patrons receive when they see "The Butler."

Although the basic story is fiction, loosely based on an actual black butler who served eight U.S. presidents, the extensive interspersed film clips of the civil rights movement are all too real.

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, August 22, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

·American Cancer Society, Bethlehem, needs volunteers to join in the fight against breast cancer.

Contact Donna Lilly at 610-921-2329 or donna.lilly@cancer.org.

·Catholic Charities Diocese of Allentown is looking for volunteers with a professional image and demeanor to man the front desk.

Contact Patricia Holtz at 610- 435-1541, ext. 342 or pholtz@allentowndiocese.org.

·Da Vinci Science Center, Allentown, needs adult volunteers for floor exhibits.

Contact Jen Pors at 484-664-1002 or Jen@davincisciencecenter.org.

Guest View

Thursday, August 15, 2013 by STATE REP. JULIE HARHART, R-183rd Special to The Press in Opinion

Commonwealth budget sets right priorities

The 2013-14 state budget, which totals $28.37 billion, is responsible to the taxpayer while focusing heavily on supporting education and job creation – two important factors to the long-term success of our state.

The budget invests more than $10 billion for kindergarten through 12th grade schools – which marks the highest amount of state dollars ever devoted to education.

Included is a $122 million increase for basic education, along with additional funds for community libraries, early childhood programs and mobile science centers for rural areas.