Parkland Press

Monday, April 6, 2020

Editor's View

Thursday, September 19, 2013 by DEBRA PALMIERI in Opinion

Volunteer firefighters don't horse around

Except for the urban areas in the Lehigh Valley, when 911 is dialed, it is volunteer, not paid firefighters who respond.

Although called "firefighters," the men and women who serve the suburban and rural areas of the Valley are often tasked with more than fighting fires.

The majority of their emergency responses tend to be for motor vehicle accidents, especially with Interstate 78, and major transportation routes, such as Routes 309 and 100 running through their coverage areas.

Guest View

Thursday, September 19, 2013 by MIKE SCHLOSSBERG, D-132ND Special to The Press in Opinion

Schlossberg's bill updates Megan's Law to include Internet

Pennsylvania's version of Megan's Law first became effective in 1996.

The law required convicted sexual predators register on a database held by the state.

The database would be publicly available, insuring a community would know when a convicted sexual predator lived in their neighborhood.

This was 1996, when America OnLine, Prodigy and CompuServe were the Internet giants.

There was no Facebook, no Twitter, and if you told someone to Google something, they would look at you like you had three heads.

Guest View

Thursday, September 19, 2013 by STEPHEN WALLACE SADD SENIOR ADVISOR in Opinion

Dangerous driving by parents equals dangerous driving by teens, SADD says

With the holidays rapidly approaching, many teen-agers will be behind the wheel visiting family and friends … and often copying the driving behavior of their parents.

But, is that a good thing? Not necessarily.

New research from SADD and Liberty Mutual Insurance reveals an alarming example of "do what I say, not what I do" when it comes to distracted and dangerous driving.

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, September 12, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

It is a time for dialogue not dynamite

To the Editor:

As a member of Service Academy Graduates Against The War, I oppose the Obama government's plan to bomb Syria.

Its use of chemical weapons remains highly speculative.

Aside from proof chemical weapons were indeed used, which no one disputes, there is little evidence indicating the Syrian government did so.

Logic alone would indicate it did not.

We fear self-serving evidence combined with expedient reasoning will lead to yet another immoral campaign of death and destruction.

Another View

Thursday, September 12, 2013 by MARK RECCEK in Opinion

Before striking Syria, think about reasons first

Beat the war drums and huddle Americans together. Here we go again.

Over the past two weeks, President Barrack Obama has been busy presenting his case for a military invasion of Syria.

His spattering of public appearances and speeches, and the Senate Foreign Relations Committee recently voting 10-7 to grant the president limited authority to use military force, puts us one step closer to placing our young men and women, and our reputation as a country in harm's way.

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, September 12, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

·Episcopal House of the Lehigh Valley Inc., Allentown, seeks a computer instructor to help seniors learn how to do basic computer work, from turning the unit on to setting up a basic email account.

Contact Miki Weaver at 610-821-0311, mweaver@episcopalhouse.com.

·Executive Service Corps of the Lehigh Valley is looking for retired and career professional management consultants to volunteer their expertise to non-profits in the Lehigh Valley.

Contact Bill Cosgrove at 610-504-6199 or esclv@ptd.net.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, September 12, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Writers question need for library referendum

To the Editor:

On the Nov. 6 election ballot there will be a referendum to raise the tax from 0.1 mills to 0.2978 mills, a 198-percent increase that is identified strictly for the Parkland Library.

This increased rate will continue until a date not later than July 1, 2035, at which time the rate will adjust to 0.1895 mills, a 90-percent increase from the current 0.1 mills.

Based on my recollection, the current rate of 0.1 mills generates an estimated $625,000 annually.

Chosen Words

Thursday, September 5, 2013 by Sublime summer's end in Opinion

Setting sun shimmering on the bay

Multi-configured clouds

Frame this glorious scene

Scent of sea engulfs my senses

As gulls ride the thermals heavenward

A fitting climax to an

all too insular summer

Devoid of supernal inspiration

by nature's handiwork

Ah, how the muse performs

Her song of bliss

enlivened by this scene

Reveling in joy at summer's end

As the sun sets in the west

Yet another summer passes

I am transfixed by this

sublime summer's end.

D.J. Hausman-Hill

Lititz