Parkland Press

Friday, August 23, 2019

Editor's View

Thursday, February 28, 2013 by DEBBIE GALBRAITH in Opinion

The dangers of sexting: 'Is it really worth it?'

Salisbury High School presented an assembly recently on the dangers of sexting – a seminar offered by District Attorney Jim Martin's office for school districts in the Lehigh Valley.

Sexting is described as taking a nude picture of yourself or someone else with cellphone cameras and texting it to others or posting nude photos of yourself on social media, such as Facebook or MySpace.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, February 21, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Smokers can help their wallets and health by quitting this year

To the Editor:

The American Lung Association of the Mid-Atlantic wishes everyone a Happy New Year.

As we ring in 2013, many of us will make New Year's resolutions to improve our health and well-being. People who resolve to quit smoking this New Year have the chance to increase the length and quality of their lives.

Quitting works its magic the minute an individual makes the choice.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, February 21, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Philanthropist Inez Donley will be remembered for commitment to KidsPeace

To the Editor:

Some people make such an impact on their communities that their work will live on long after they are gone.

Such is the case with Inez Donley, who died Jan. 27 at the age of 97, after dedicating nearly 70 years to volunteer work in the Lehigh Valley.

Inez and husband, Edward Donley, were major supporters of KidsPeace, donating more than $1.47 million to our organization to help children and teenagers with behavioral and mental health challenges.

PennWATCH opens state finance to public review

Thursday, February 21, 2013 by SEN. PAT BROWNE R-16th in Opinion

Tremendous advancements in technology have given the public greater access to state government.

When I was first elected to office, you had to come to Harrisburg to see a legislative session.

You had to make a request in writing or visit an office to get a document.

Now, with technology, residents of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania can have direct access online to the interworking of state government.

State representative analyzes privatization plan

Thursday, February 21, 2013 by STATE REP. RYAN MACKENZIE R-134th in Opinion

There has recently been a lot of buzz surrounding Gov. Tom Corbett's liquor privatization proposal that would auction retail licenses to the private sector in an effort to provide a greater consumer choice and convenience.

This proposal is merely a framework for my colleagues in the House and Senate to consider, and the governor's proposal will likely evolve as it goes through the legislative process.

Another View

Thursday, February 14, 2013 by TYLER MARTIN in Opinion

The new green

Reducing our dependence on fossil fuels and supporting the smart growth of green technology is at the heart of the solution to most issues we debate in this great nation.

When we talk about gun related issues and problems with violence in our society, the greater issue is social stability coupled with economic growth.

Most people who have quality jobs and something significant to lose refrain from making horrible and atrocious decisions.

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, February 14, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Editorial current and most enlightening

To the Editor:

The McGrath letter is vague, vitriolic right wing, outrageously far, far right wing, insensitive, offensive, etc.

The letter is in response to an editorial [Deb Palmieri, Jan. 30, page A14] that is factual, citing historical fact: King George, American War of Independence, Second Amendment, adopted on Dec. 15, 1791, Merriam Webster definition, difference between automatic and semiautomatic, on and on. Facts. More Facts.

If the McGraths have a problem, they should argue about the facts they disagree with, prove incorrect, if possible.

On the Homefront

Thursday, February 14, 2013 by DENISE CONTINENZA Special to The Press in Opinion

Allow your children to amaze you

Our Christmas card last year was a picture of our family at a winery in upstate New York.

All decked in various shades of purple and gray and gathered on a rustic porch, we were celebrating the wedding of our eldest child on a picture-perfect day in the Finger Lakes.

I asked the photographer if the winery could serve as the backdrop for our family picture that I figured would end up as our annual greeting card later in the year.

The photo included my husband and me as well as my mother-in-law, our daughter and her fiancé, and our youngest son and his girlfriend.

Chosen Words

Thursday, February 14, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Valentine's Day

Don't bother buying

me a Hallmark card this year.

Don't bother buying me

a box of assorted chocolates.

Don't bother buying me

a pretty piece of jewelry.

Don't bother buying me

fancy perfumes to spray on.

Don't bother buying me

elegant clothing to strut in.

Don't bother buying me

a lavish dinner at a restaurant.

Don't bother buying me

any roses that will wither.

Don't bother buying me

a bottle of special champagne.

Don't bother buying me