Parkland Press

Friday, October 18, 2019

Guest View I

Thursday, May 2, 2013 by STEPHEN GRAY WALLACE Special to The Press in Opinion

Prom, graduation dangerous times for teen drivers, SADD says

Prom and graduation season, the Fourth of July, and summer vacation give pause to parents of teenagers everywhere.

Why?

Because celebration paired with newfound freedom can trigger tragedy on our roads and highways.

Indeed, young people themselves report that these times of year are the most dangerous when it comes to driving. And alcohol and other drugs are primary reasons.

ElectionPolicy

Thursday, April 25, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 primary election, the Parkland Press and the Northwestern Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials will be the April 25 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, April 25, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

·Fox Environmental Center, Bethlehem, is looking for a volunteer to run the front desk and be the friendly face visitors see when entering.

Call June Kapalko at 610-653-0908 or email vol.coord.gbfox@gmail.com.

·Lehigh Valley Score, Bethlehem, seeks experienced business professionals to offer in-person and online counseling and advice to start ups and in-business owners of small businesses and non-profit organizations.

Call Mitzi Colella at 610-266-3000 or mcolella@lvscore.org.

On the Homefront

Thursday, April 25, 2013 by DENISE CONTINENZA Special to The Press in Opinion

Kindergarten: Ready or not?

Every time I conduct a program for parents of soon-to-be kindergarteners, two questions inevitably come up.

One is, "My child is so smart, I am afraid she will be bored in kindergarten. Should I put her right in first grade?"

To this, I usually respond, that given the structure and higher demands of kindergarten compared to what it was years ago, this child is very ready for the pace of today's kindergarten.

The second question a parent always poses is, "I think I want to wait another year to make sure my child is really ready for kindergarten. What should I do?"

Living the Vintage Years

Thursday, April 25, 2013 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK Special to The Press in Opinion

Older drivers: Try before you buy

Last week I did something I had not done in 29 years. I bought a new car.

To regular readers and friends who know and admire my spiffy 1984 Subaru wagon: Don't worry. I did not part with it. Perish the thought.

Actually, that wonderful old car of mine was the main reason my husband and I decided to splurge on a new one.

With more than 130,000 miles on the odometer, my little red wagon was working too hard and deserves a good waxing and some garage time.

My husband's 1991 two-door model has logged over 200,000 miles, so we are reluctant to drive it long distances.

Another View

Thursday, April 25, 2013 by MARK RECCEK in Opinion

Violence is not the solution to our problems

Many of us were glued to the television, Internet and radio, this past week, as we followed the Boston Marathon bombings and the apprehension of one suspect and the death of his brother.

These events caused me to ask how and why man desires to harm other humans.

Thomas Hobbes argued in "Leviathan" man in a state of nature was "solitary, poor, nasty, brutish and short."

There is no question about it, more than 300 years later, man still has a predilection for nastiness and a sick bent to harm his fellow man, by word and deed.

Editor's View

Thursday, April 18, 2013 by DEBBIE GALBRAITH in Opinion

Boston tragedy once again rocks my wonderful world

It is hard to imagine, anymore, a wonderful world like Louis Armstrong described in his famous song.

This latest mass tragedy, Monday at the Boston Marathon, had me again glued to the television once my fellow editor Deb Palmieri called and told me to put on the television.

The person or people who created this havoc in Boston have not only injured 176 people and killed three individuals as of Tuesday morning, they have robbed me of my freedom.

Yes, I understand if I take this stand I am letting them win.

Another View

Thursday, April 18, 2013 by SUSAN BRYANT in Opinion

Stay safe as you venture outdoors this spring

Of the four seasons, spring is my favorite with everything beginning to awaken and renew after a long winter.

Trees and flowers are blooming; the birds are chirping and wild animals are awaking from hibernation.

Spring is also the time when Americans begin to spend more time outdoors exercising, playing sports, swimming, bicycle riding, camping, grilling and having picnics.

Even though spring brings warmer weather, it also brings with it many dangers.

Foot Facts

Thursday, April 18, 2013 by DR. RAYMOND FRITZ Special to The Press in Opinion

Spring is ankle sprain season in the Lehigh Valley

Spring is sports season for many amateur athletes and weekend warriors in the Lehigh Valley.

It's also ankle sprain season. Ankle sprains are one of the most common sports injuries I treat this time of year.

As people emerge from their winter hibernation and start to get active again, they can injure their ankles playing sports such as basketball, baseball, tennis and soccer.

Anyone who injures an ankle requires prompt medical treatment, whether it's their first sprain or their fifth.

ElectionPolicy

Thursday, April 18, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 primary election, the Parkland Press and the Northwestern Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials will be the April 25 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.