Parkland Press

Sunday, April 5, 2020

Living the Vintage Years

Thursday, August 22, 2013 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK Special to The Press in Opinion

History is not just an academic subject

Most people would not think of going to the movies for a history lesson.

Movies are fun. History is, well, boring, according to too many people.

But once in a while history and cinema can coexist, and we can be both entertained and educated.

Such is the experience movie patrons receive when they see "The Butler."

Although the basic story is fiction, loosely based on an actual black butler who served eight U.S. presidents, the extensive interspersed film clips of the civil rights movement are all too real.

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, August 22, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

·American Cancer Society, Bethlehem, needs volunteers to join in the fight against breast cancer.

Contact Donna Lilly at 610-921-2329 or donna.lilly@cancer.org.

·Catholic Charities Diocese of Allentown is looking for volunteers with a professional image and demeanor to man the front desk.

Contact Patricia Holtz at 610- 435-1541, ext. 342 or pholtz@allentowndiocese.org.

·Da Vinci Science Center, Allentown, needs adult volunteers for floor exhibits.

Contact Jen Pors at 484-664-1002 or Jen@davincisciencecenter.org.

Guest View

Thursday, August 15, 2013 by STATE REP. JULIE HARHART, R-183rd Special to The Press in Opinion

Commonwealth budget sets right priorities

The 2013-14 state budget, which totals $28.37 billion, is responsible to the taxpayer while focusing heavily on supporting education and job creation – two important factors to the long-term success of our state.

The budget invests more than $10 billion for kindergarten through 12th grade schools – which marks the highest amount of state dollars ever devoted to education.

Included is a $122 million increase for basic education, along with additional funds for community libraries, early childhood programs and mobile science centers for rural areas.

Guest View

Thursday, August 15, 2013 by JOHN BERRY Special to The Press in Opinion

What is sustainable agriculture?

We hear quite a bit about the concepts of sustainability lately.Everything from fuel to em-ployment to housing is referred to as needing to be sustainable.

I wonder how we have come to reconsider our food and fiber production in terms of sustainability.

What are the ecological, economic, social and philosophical issues sustainable agriculture addresses?

The long-term viability of our current food production system is being questioned for many reasons.

The news media regularly present us with the paradox of starvation amidst plenty.

Chosen Words

Thursday, August 15, 2013 by Sublime summer's end in Opinion

Setting sun shimmering on the bay

Multi-configured clouds

Frame this glorious scene

Scent of sea engulfs my senses

As gulls ride the thermals heavenward

A fitting climax to an

all too insular summer

Devoid of supernal inspiration

by nature's handiwork

Ah, how the muse performs

Her song of bliss

enlivened by this scene

Reveling in joy at summer's end

As the sun sets in the west

Yet another summer passes

I am transfixed by this

sublime summer's end.

D.J. Hausman-Hill

Lititz

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, August 15, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

·St. Luke's Hospital, 1736 Hamilton St., Allentown, volunteer open house at the Volunteer Office in the east lobby to welcome people interested in volunteering in a health care setting 1-2:30 p.m. Aug. 19.

Some examples of hospital volunteer opportunities include patient advocates, operating room waiting room liaisons, gift shop assistants, clerical assistants, patient companionship, patient and family support and outreach, among others.

For information, go to slhn.org, keyword "Volunteer," Facebook.com/stlukesvolunteers or call 484-526-4600.

Editor's View

Thursday, August 15, 2013 by DEBBIE GALBRAITH in Opinion

Charlie, beware of the wrecking ball!

Conversation around town is the King George Inn will be demolished to make way for a hotel and additional stores along Hamilton and Cedar Crest boulevards, South Whitehall Township.

The development would incorporate the King George Inn, the Burger King and the Carvel Ice Cream store sites.

South Whitehall Township Manager Jon Hammer confirmed the owner could demolish the building but no permit has been obtained.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, August 8, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Lions clubs seek new members

To the Editor:

All area Lions clubs are looking for new members. More members mean more ideas and a greater effort to provide service to those less fortunate.

Many people are unaware of our presence and of our service to others.

As Lions, we help provide eye exams, eye glasses, eye surgeries, a summer camp, seeing eye dogs and more. Those people in need of assistance with hearing and diabetic problems are also being helped.

Gov. William Scranton Jr.: Passing of another Pennsylvania legend

Thursday, August 8, 2013 by STATE REP. GARY DAY, R-187th Special to The Press in Opinion

Within the last couple of weeks, another former governor of Pennsylvania – Gov. William Scranton Jr. – passed away, marking the second such occurrence in the past few months.

The loss of loved ones is traumatic for remaining family members to whom I offer my deepest and sincere sympathy for their loss.

They, as well as all residents of this commonwealth, should know a greatly engaged Pennsylvanian has completed a lifetime of work and service to his community, this commonwealth, our country and the world.

Another View

Thursday, August 8, 2013 by LINDA WOJCIECHOWSKI in Opinion

Thank you, Ms. Thomas

I cannot recall a time, until she retired in 2010, when veteran reporter Helen Thomas was not covering the White House.

It was 1961 when Thomas began covering news in the nation's capital as a member of the White House press corps. John F. Kennedy was president. I was 11 years old.

As I grew up, through the administrations of Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon and Ford, Helen Thomas' abilities and stature as a female reporter grew, working first for United Press International and then for Hearst newspapers, amid a sea of men covering presidential politics.