Parkland Press

Thursday, October 17, 2019

Guest View

Thursday, March 14, 2013 by NILES S. BENN ESQ AND TERENCE J. BARNA ESQ. in Opinion

Addresses not exempt when seeking 911 response logs

While the legal battle over release of public-school employee home addresses has continued to rage in Pennsylvania's appellate courts, another aspect of the home address debate is settled.

In Czech v. County of York, a unanimous panel of the Commonwealth Court clarified the parameters of the Right-to-Know Law's exemption for 911 records and information, holding that the law does not exempt address information from "time response logs."

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, March 14, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Writer supports Sorensen on school board

To the Editor:

I reside in Weisenberg Township. I felt compelled to write this letter after reading articles in both the Morning Call and the Northwestern Press (Feb. 28) regarding Leroy Sorensen's decision to remain in his duly elected position.

As I read the articles, what kept popping into my head was a statement Paul Carpenter made in an article written years ago which was, "Something stinks in Weisenberg but it ain't the manure."

In this case, it should read: "Something stinks at the school board meeting and it ain't the manure."

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, March 14, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Writer advises standing up to the NRA

To the Editor:

When the attitudes of people change, then there can be real change.

Reflecting on the recent passing of Dr. C. Everett Koop, surgeon general under President Ronald Reagan, I'm reminded of his warnings and his battle with tobacco companies.

He firmly believed in the toxicity and poisonous aspects of cigarette smoking, including the effects of second-hand smoke as a major health issue.

In 1993, The National Smokers Alliance was a group formed to protest U.S. anti-smoking legislation.

Foot Facts

Thursday, March 14, 2013 by DR. RAYMOND FRITZ Special to The Press in Opinion

Is your foot fracture an early sign of osteoporosis?

Unexplained foot fractures may be the first sign of osteoporosis, a bone thinning disease which affects more than 28 million Americans and accounts for 1.5 million bone fractures a year.

According to Allentown foot and ankle surgeon Raymond A. Fritz Jr. DPM, FACFAS, osteoporosis is frequently referred to as the "silent crippler" since it often progresses without any symptoms or isn't diagnosed until a person experiences pain from a bone fracture.

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, March 7, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

·Gertrude B. Fox Environmental Center, Bethlehem, has an opening for a gift shop manager at Gertie's Gifts.

Contact Karen Dolan at 610-419-0218 or naturecenter@gbfox.org.

·American Cancer Society Inc. needs volunteers for Daffodil Days fundraising event to drive, pack, and sell daffodils at their place of business, churches, and also at direct sale sites in the Lehigh Valley March 18-24.

Contact Rosemarie Murphy at 610-921-2329 ext. 3109 or Rosemarie.Murphy@cancer.org.

Guest View

Thursday, March 7, 2013 by BySTEPHEN GRAY WALLACE SADD Senior policy advisor in Opinion

The fierce urgency of now: A nation's need to protect its youth

The alcohol-fueled alleged serial rape of a 16-year-old Ohio girl by two of her similarly impaired classmates – not to mention the drunken videotaped commentary of others – points yet again to the imperative that adult America renews its commitment to address as a true national community those issues that most threaten the health, safety, and forward development of youth.

It is a priority that carries with it, in Dr. Martin Luther King's words, the fierce urgency of now.

Another View

Thursday, March 7, 2013 by SUSAN BRYANT in Opinion

America's hungry need your help

I am not a moviegoer, however, this weekend while surfing the Web, I came across a documentary titled "A Place at the Table."

The documentary, which features actor Jeff Bridges, examines the issue of hunger in America through the eyes of three families in Philadelphia, Colorado and Mississippi.

My mother, Dorothy, 84, offered her comments after watching the movie.

"It's [hunger] bad here at home," she said. "You do not have to worry about going to another country to see it."

She is right.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, March 7, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Writer pays tribute to a friend

To the Editor:

As I have been going through life and maturing, I have found that if a person can count on the fiingers of one hand the number of very good friends that a person acquires in that lifetime, a person can be very fortunate.

I had one such very good friend in the person of Allan J. Holtz, whom I first met while he was a student at Allentown High School.

Through the common love of photography and music, we became very fast friends.