Parkland Press

Saturday, November 16, 2019

Living the Vintage Years

Thursday, April 25, 2013 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK Special to The Press in Opinion

Older drivers: Try before you buy

Last week I did something I had not done in 29 years. I bought a new car.

To regular readers and friends who know and admire my spiffy 1984 Subaru wagon: Don't worry. I did not part with it. Perish the thought.

Actually, that wonderful old car of mine was the main reason my husband and I decided to splurge on a new one.

With more than 130,000 miles on the odometer, my little red wagon was working too hard and deserves a good waxing and some garage time.

My husband's 1991 two-door model has logged over 200,000 miles, so we are reluctant to drive it long distances.

Another View

Thursday, April 25, 2013 by MARK RECCEK in Opinion

Violence is not the solution to our problems

Many of us were glued to the television, Internet and radio, this past week, as we followed the Boston Marathon bombings and the apprehension of one suspect and the death of his brother.

These events caused me to ask how and why man desires to harm other humans.

Thomas Hobbes argued in "Leviathan" man in a state of nature was "solitary, poor, nasty, brutish and short."

There is no question about it, more than 300 years later, man still has a predilection for nastiness and a sick bent to harm his fellow man, by word and deed.

Editor's View

Thursday, April 18, 2013 by DEBBIE GALBRAITH in Opinion

Boston tragedy once again rocks my wonderful world

It is hard to imagine, anymore, a wonderful world like Louis Armstrong described in his famous song.

This latest mass tragedy, Monday at the Boston Marathon, had me again glued to the television once my fellow editor Deb Palmieri called and told me to put on the television.

The person or people who created this havoc in Boston have not only injured 176 people and killed three individuals as of Tuesday morning, they have robbed me of my freedom.

Yes, I understand if I take this stand I am letting them win.

Another View

Thursday, April 18, 2013 by SUSAN BRYANT in Opinion

Stay safe as you venture outdoors this spring

Of the four seasons, spring is my favorite with everything beginning to awaken and renew after a long winter.

Trees and flowers are blooming; the birds are chirping and wild animals are awaking from hibernation.

Spring is also the time when Americans begin to spend more time outdoors exercising, playing sports, swimming, bicycle riding, camping, grilling and having picnics.

Even though spring brings warmer weather, it also brings with it many dangers.

Foot Facts

Thursday, April 18, 2013 by DR. RAYMOND FRITZ Special to The Press in Opinion

Spring is ankle sprain season in the Lehigh Valley

Spring is sports season for many amateur athletes and weekend warriors in the Lehigh Valley.

It's also ankle sprain season. Ankle sprains are one of the most common sports injuries I treat this time of year.

As people emerge from their winter hibernation and start to get active again, they can injure their ankles playing sports such as basketball, baseball, tennis and soccer.

Anyone who injures an ankle requires prompt medical treatment, whether it's their first sprain or their fifth.

ElectionPolicy

Thursday, April 18, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 primary election, the Parkland Press and the Northwestern Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials will be the April 25 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, April 18, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Varsity alumni club to present six scholarships at awards night

To the Editor:

The Parkland Trojan Varsity Alumni Club is presenting six scholarships at this year's Parkland Athletic Award Night.

The club will give its traditional $2,000 scholarship to a male and female varsity senior.

In memory of Gary Wagner, 1965 graduate and state record holder in the 100 yard dash, there will be a $1,000 scholarship to a male and female track participant.

In memory of Craig Knauss, the alumni secretary who recently passed away, the club will present a $1,000 scholarship to a male and female volleyball participant.

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, April 18, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

·Cancer Support Community Greater Lehigh Valley, Bethlehem, is looking for someone who loves to walk and would like to lead weekly walking club.

Call Becky Morgan at 610-861-7555 or bmorgan@cancersupportglv.org.

·Historic Bethlehem Museums and Sites needs groundskeeping help at Kemerer Museum.

Call Jill Caggiano at 610-691-6055 or jcaggiano@historicbethlehem.org.

·New Bethany Ministries, Bethlehem, is looking for a volunteer to serve as a receptionist mornings or afternoons, Monday through Friday.

Chosen Words

Thursday, April 11, 2013 by D.J. HAUSMAN-HILL Special to The Press in Opinion

Their exuberance at first light

brings joy to my heart

They are so hopeful of the coming day

Delight speaks through

their chirps and trills

How would it be if we all,

like nature, woke to each day

with such enthusiasm?

Would not our world be a different place?

A place not unlike Eden

A utopia where joy fills our walk

and hope abounds

Just as the robin sings

praises to the Creator

May we emulate their delight

enough to proclaim

"Thank You

At last...

Spring is here!"

Editor's View

Thursday, April 11, 2013 by DEBBIE GALBRAITH in Opinion

Keep pill bottles away from children to keep them safe

I watched in disbelief a recent report on The Today Show showing 4-year-old children opening safety caps on various types of medication. Not shocked, though, as we experienced the same thing in our own home many years ago.

When my oldest son was about 5 years old, he pulled a chair over to a kitchen cabinet, climbed up on the counter and found a bottle of vitamins, which in his mind, I suppose, looked like candy.

After a short period of time, my husband found him with the pills in his mouth and the red dye from the pills all over his mouth.