Parkland Press

Friday, September 20, 2019

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, February 14, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Editorial current and most enlightening

To the Editor:

The McGrath letter is vague, vitriolic right wing, outrageously far, far right wing, insensitive, offensive, etc.

The letter is in response to an editorial [Deb Palmieri, Jan. 30, page A14] that is factual, citing historical fact: King George, American War of Independence, Second Amendment, adopted on Dec. 15, 1791, Merriam Webster definition, difference between automatic and semiautomatic, on and on. Facts. More Facts.

If the McGraths have a problem, they should argue about the facts they disagree with, prove incorrect, if possible.

On the Homefront

Thursday, February 14, 2013 by DENISE CONTINENZA Special to The Press in Opinion

Allow your children to amaze you

Our Christmas card last year was a picture of our family at a winery in upstate New York.

All decked in various shades of purple and gray and gathered on a rustic porch, we were celebrating the wedding of our eldest child on a picture-perfect day in the Finger Lakes.

I asked the photographer if the winery could serve as the backdrop for our family picture that I figured would end up as our annual greeting card later in the year.

The photo included my husband and me as well as my mother-in-law, our daughter and her fiancé, and our youngest son and his girlfriend.

Chosen Words

Thursday, February 14, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Valentine's Day

Don't bother buying

me a Hallmark card this year.

Don't bother buying me

a box of assorted chocolates.

Don't bother buying me

a pretty piece of jewelry.

Don't bother buying me

fancy perfumes to spray on.

Don't bother buying me

elegant clothing to strut in.

Don't bother buying me

a lavish dinner at a restaurant.

Don't bother buying me

any roses that will wither.

Don't bother buying me

a bottle of special champagne.

Don't bother buying me

Another View

Thursday, February 14, 2013 by JULIA SWAN in Opinion

Reasonable regulations don't encroach on rights

I must respectfully, but emphatically, disagree with my colleague, Deb Pal-mieri's editorial of Jan. 30, "Administration's encroachment on the Second Amendment is unacceptable."

Sadly, instead of recognizing the right to bear arms, like other rights guaranteed in our Constitution, is not absolute, Deb results to the "slippery slope" argument that other gun rights extremists are using, when she says, "First, assault weapons …and magazines holding more than 10 rounds will be banned. Then, semi-automatic pistols such as the Glock, will be banned."

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, February 7, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Writers say editorial is grossly insensitive and offensive

To the Editor:

We have subscribed to the East Penn Press (and possibly its forerunners) since we moved here in '84, largely because we felt it was important to support our local community.

But over the past year or so, we have become more and more concerned about the vitriolic right wing editorials that appear under the byline of Deb Palmieri.

She is of course, entitled to her opinions, but I find those opinions to be outrageously far far right wing, and often personally disturbing. Professionally, I find them to be oddly out of place in a small town newspaper.

Letter to the editor Writer supports Second Amendment right to bear arms

Thursday, February 7, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

At what cost does freedom come? And what are we willing to pay to keep it?

We generally delegate that duty to our armed forces against outside enemies.

Did we ever think the day would come when we would pay a price to have to stand up against the enemy of our freedom coming from our own elected officials?

The latest attempt from our liberal government to chip away at our Second Amendment right to bear arms has resulted in the shut down of the Eastern Sports and Outdoor Show scheduled for Feb. 2-10.

Another view

Thursday, February 7, 2013 by LINDA WOJCIECHOWSKI in Opinion

The Super (commercial) Bowl: Sunday night entertainment

It was Super Bowl Sunday, and I was home alone. With my husband out of town, Sunday evening was all mine to do as I wished.

I was looking forward to having complete control of the TV remote.

I started the evening watching a recorded episode of "Downton Abbey," the current Masterpiece Classic series.

When 6:30 p.m. rolled around, the episode had just ended and I surfed the TV listings for quite awhile.

In the end, finding nothing else of interest to watch, I decided to turn on the Super Bowl game after all, but not really to watch the game.

Rep. Mike Schlossberg assails Gov. Corbett's liquor plan

Thursday, February 7, 2013 by MIKE SCHLOSSBERG State Rep. 132nd in Opinion

Gov. Tom Corbett's proposed privatization of state liquor stores is another example of governance by ideology, not reality.

Liquor sales generate $500 million worth of yearly state revenue. But, at a time when the state budget is already thin on revenue, this governor seeks to divest an important asset and set the stage for increased school taxes.

In an attempt to sell his plan, Corbett proposes to make education the beneficiary of proceeds from the sale of liquor stores.

A look at the year ahead

Thursday, January 31, 2013 by JULIE HARHART State Rep. 183rd in Opinion

On Jan. 1, I took the oath of office for the 2013-14 legislative session of the Pennsylvania House of Representatives.

This was a great time to assess the past and look ahead to the future. As 2013 begins, the new legislative session provides us with many challenges and opportunities to make Pennsylvania better.

Legislatively, we have an aggressive agenda ahead of us, with the state budget being our No. 1 priority.