Parkland Press

Friday, September 20, 2019

Editor's View

Thursday, January 31, 2013 by DEBRA PALMIERI in Opinion

Administration's encroachment on the Second Amendment is unacceptable

U.S. Constitution Amendment II: "A well regulated militia, being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear arms, shall not be infringed."

The Founding Fathers of this country lived under the tyranny of the monarchy of King George III of England.

The social and political changes in the 13 colonies leading to the American War of Independence, (1775-1782) put an end to that autocratic rule.

Deadline extension, law changes protect volunteer organizations

Thursday, January 31, 2013 by GARY DAY State Rep. 187th in Opinion

Since the Pennsylvania General Assembly updated the state's small games of chance law during the last legislative session, there has been quite a bit of confusion – and many questions – surrounding the new updates and the impact of those updates on the nonprofit organizations and charities in our communities.

I take great care in protecting our volunteer organizations that do so much for our community.

The Small Games of Chance Act had not been updated in more than 20 years and was in need of a modernization.

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, January 24, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

·American Cancer Society, Bethlehem, is looking for office volunteers to help with data entry and mailings.

Call Lyndsey Cumello at 610-921-2329 or lyndsey.cumello@cancer.org.

·Meals on Wheels of Northampton County, Bethlehem, needs persons willing to deliver meals to homebound clients living in the Slate Belt area.

Contact Janet Soos at 610-691-1030 or janets@mealsonwheelspa.org.

Living the Vintage Years

Thursday, January 24, 2013 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK Special to The Press in Opinion

Don't judge a life by its obituary

I read an obituary in a newspaper last night. It took me all of four seconds.

Just 12 words long, this final tribute, so to speak, listed only the man's name, age, most recent town of residence and date of death. It told us nothing about the person.

Whenever I see one of those tiny obits, especially on a page with others that take up an entire column or two, I feel sad.

Although the little obits at the bottom of the page may be sparse, they speak volumes.

Perhaps they tell us no one cared enough about the deceased to pay him or her proper tribute.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, January 24, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Writer supports FF&F spay/neuter program

To The Editor:

I am writing regarding Debbie Galbraith's article [Editor's View page A10 Parkland, Northwestern Press] on the ASPCA commercials published Jan. 17 2013.

I liked what you reported about the ASPCA, but I am somewhat dissappointed you did not mention Forgotten Felines and Fidos shelter in your list of local animal organizations.

They have resided in Germansville, Heidelberg Township since 2000 and have a lot of cats for adoption, provide low-cost spay/neuter and desperately need volunteers.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, January 24, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Writer explains steam train insignia

To the Editor:

Some people who were shown the new Laury's Station Fire Company uniform shoulder patch asked why a steam locomotive was displayed in the middle.

Well, it's quite obvious to an 83-year-old, old-timer like me.

That steam engine harks back to the rich Lehigh Valley Railroad history that gave the village its name.

The little brick station was busy ushering people onto the local trains to go to work or welcoming guests to the large hotel next door for a good meal and a few drinks or maybe a day or two of rest.

Guest View

Thursday, January 24, 2013 by RYAN MACKENZIE State Rep. 134th in Opinion

House aims to tackle key legislative goals in Pennsylvania during 2013-14

The Pennsylvania House achieved many important legislative goals last session, such as promoting more job growth across Pennsylvania and investing more money in public education.

However, the state still faces many challenges and some of the most pressing issues remain unresolved.

With the 2013-14 session now under way, it is time for us to start tackling these issues.

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, January 10, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

·American Red Cross of the Greater Lehigh Valley, Bethlehem, depends on volunteers.

Contact Susan Kalkhuis-Beam at 610-865-4400 ext. 219 or volunteerservices.NEPA@redcross.org

·Compass Academy, Allentown, has a chance to exhibit its latest youth campaign "2 Million Bullets" at the Eastern Sports Show, Harrisburg, from Feb. 2-10.

Contact John Annoni at 610-778-0576 or info@campcompass.org.

·KidsPeace, Orefield, needs community volunteers to make their inaugural 5k and 1-Mile Family Fun Mud Run April 27 a success.

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, January 10, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Writer provides update on son's condition

To the Editor:

I want to thank the Northwestern Press for covering my efforts to help my son Jimmy.

Because of the picture you published Nov. 22, 2012, (For Jimmy: blink for jimmys kidney care), local community members are becoming more aware of my situation.

I was asked to send updates and although my website at giveforward.com has expired, the National Foundation for Transplants has set up a more permanent fundraising website for my son at patients.transplants.org/jamesponicsan.

Chosen Words

Thursday, January 10, 2013 by Greiving for the Bison in Opinion

Though centuries have passed

Still, my heart grieves

for the herds of bison

that roamed this country's plains

Just as it does for

those native peoples

who cared for this land

Who saw the buffalo as brothers

Using only that which was needed

Who revered as sacred the trust

between the land and its creatures

We would do well to view creation in the same way

Yet, is it not too late to reverse our wanton ways?

Even now, as I learn the delectable

taste of grilled buffalo meat