Parkland Press

Thursday, November 14, 2019

Living the Vintage Years

Thursday, March 21, 2013 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK Special to The Press in Opinion

Use the power that dwells within

I laughed out loud while reading a query to a syndicated advice columnist.

A woman, who apparently is trying to lose weight, wants a coworker to remove his ever-present candy dish because the woman lacks the willpower to walk on by.

Unable or unwilling to adapt to her workplace surroundings, the misguided woman expects the world to adapt to her.

How ludicrous to demand all temptations be removed from our paths.

What about self-discipline and free will?

Guest View

Thursday, March 14, 2013 by NILES S. BENN ESQ AND TERENCE J. BARNA ESQ. in Opinion

Addresses not exempt when seeking 911 response logs

While the legal battle over release of public-school employee home addresses has continued to rage in Pennsylvania's appellate courts, another aspect of the home address debate is settled.

In Czech v. County of York, a unanimous panel of the Commonwealth Court clarified the parameters of the Right-to-Know Law's exemption for 911 records and information, holding that the law does not exempt address information from "time response logs."

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, March 14, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Writer supports Sorensen on school board

To the Editor:

I reside in Weisenberg Township. I felt compelled to write this letter after reading articles in both the Morning Call and the Northwestern Press (Feb. 28) regarding Leroy Sorensen's decision to remain in his duly elected position.

As I read the articles, what kept popping into my head was a statement Paul Carpenter made in an article written years ago which was, "Something stinks in Weisenberg but it ain't the manure."

In this case, it should read: "Something stinks at the school board meeting and it ain't the manure."

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, March 14, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

Writer advises standing up to the NRA

To the Editor:

When the attitudes of people change, then there can be real change.

Reflecting on the recent passing of Dr. C. Everett Koop, surgeon general under President Ronald Reagan, I'm reminded of his warnings and his battle with tobacco companies.

He firmly believed in the toxicity and poisonous aspects of cigarette smoking, including the effects of second-hand smoke as a major health issue.

In 1993, The National Smokers Alliance was a group formed to protest U.S. anti-smoking legislation.

Foot Facts

Thursday, March 14, 2013 by DR. RAYMOND FRITZ Special to The Press in Opinion

Is your foot fracture an early sign of osteoporosis?

Unexplained foot fractures may be the first sign of osteoporosis, a bone thinning disease which affects more than 28 million Americans and accounts for 1.5 million bone fractures a year.

According to Allentown foot and ankle surgeon Raymond A. Fritz Jr. DPM, FACFAS, osteoporosis is frequently referred to as the "silent crippler" since it often progresses without any symptoms or isn't diagnosed until a person experiences pain from a bone fracture.

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, March 7, 2013 by The Press in Opinion

·Gertrude B. Fox Environmental Center, Bethlehem, has an opening for a gift shop manager at Gertie's Gifts.

Contact Karen Dolan at 610-419-0218 or naturecenter@gbfox.org.

·American Cancer Society Inc. needs volunteers for Daffodil Days fundraising event to drive, pack, and sell daffodils at their place of business, churches, and also at direct sale sites in the Lehigh Valley March 18-24.

Contact Rosemarie Murphy at 610-921-2329 ext. 3109 or Rosemarie.Murphy@cancer.org.

Guest View

Thursday, March 7, 2013 by BySTEPHEN GRAY WALLACE SADD Senior policy advisor in Opinion

The fierce urgency of now: A nation's need to protect its youth

The alcohol-fueled alleged serial rape of a 16-year-old Ohio girl by two of her similarly impaired classmates – not to mention the drunken videotaped commentary of others – points yet again to the imperative that adult America renews its commitment to address as a true national community those issues that most threaten the health, safety, and forward development of youth.

It is a priority that carries with it, in Dr. Martin Luther King's words, the fierce urgency of now.

Another View

Thursday, March 7, 2013 by SUSAN BRYANT in Opinion

America's hungry need your help

I am not a moviegoer, however, this weekend while surfing the Web, I came across a documentary titled "A Place at the Table."

The documentary, which features actor Jeff Bridges, examines the issue of hunger in America through the eyes of three families in Philadelphia, Colorado and Mississippi.

My mother, Dorothy, 84, offered her comments after watching the movie.

"It's [hunger] bad here at home," she said. "You do not have to worry about going to another country to see it."

She is right.