Parkland Press

Friday, September 20, 2019

Another View

Thursday, September 20, 2012 by TYLER MARTIN in Opinion

Remember the mission while mourning fallen American diplomats in Libya

While a staunch supporter of the First Amendment and the original purpose of implementing limitations and barriers on the government in suppressing speech, I also feel we, as individuals, ought to have some self-restraint and common sense when expressing our views.

A controversial video titled "Innocence of Muslims" incited protests beginning Sept. 11, which resulted in the tragic death of U.S. Ambassador Chris Stevens, Information Management Officer Sean Smith and security officers Tyrone Woods and Glen Doherty at the consulate in Benghazi, Libya.

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, September 20, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

·Miller-Keystone Blood Center, Bethlehem, is open Sundays for blood donors at the Bethlehem site and volunteers are needed to serve as canteen attendants.

Contact Naomi Pratt at 610-691-5850 or npratt@hcsc.org.

·Downtown Bethlehem Association has volunteer opportunities for the Bethlehem Fashion Event Sept. 22.

Contact Kasara McLaughlin at 610-577-6962 or kasaram@lehighvalleychamber.org.

Guest View

Thursday, September 13, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

AAA offers tips to keep kids safe as they return to school

As the classroom bell rings in the new school year, 55 million children across the United States will head back to school.

With 13 percent of those school children typically walking or biking to school, AAA warns drivers to be especially vigilant for pedestrians during before- and after-school hours.

The afternoon hours are particularly dangerous for walking children. Over the last decade, nearly one-third of child pedestrian fatalities occurred between the hours of 3 p.m. and 7 p.m.

Chosen Words

Thursday, September 13, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

When an American dies

There are whispers and sighs

When an American dies

Does the world get a little bit colder?

There's a town or a village

Back in the "old country"

That the wind blows through

Somehow knowing

That she's just lost one of her children

Who learns that recipe now?

And the man in the moon is left wondering

Will we be back to visit him soon?

He stares into space, with that look on his face

Are there more giant steps from mankind?

Who carries our flag 'cross the heavens?

And the bombshells and bullets and craters

Another view

Thursday, September 13, 2012 by LINDA WOJCIECHOWSKI in Opinion

On being prepared: If you can hear thunder...

When I read about massive earthquakes or devastating forest fires destroying communities, I often comment on how nice it is to live in Pennsylvania, where severe weather is not such a big concern.

The occasional small tornado or earth tremor make the news and cause a stir, but for the most part, we feel safe from Mother Nature's outbursts.

Last year's heavy snow on Halloween weekend set me straight, however, about how severe weather can come anywhere at any time.

Chosen Words

Thursday, September 6, 2012 by Sublime summer's end in Opinion

Setting sun shimmering on the bay

Multi-configured clouds

Frame this glorious scene

Scent of sea engulfs my senses

As gulls ride the thermals heavenward

A fitting climax to an

all too insular summer

Devoid of supernal inspiration

by nature's handiwork

Ah, how the muse performs

Her song of bliss

enlivened by this scene

Reveling in joy at summer's end

As the sun sets in the west

Yet another summer passes

I am transfixed by this

sublime summer's end.

D.J. Hausman-Hill

Lititz

Guest View

Thursday, September 6, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Are you prepared to stay in business?

Imagine stepping into your store, restaurant or the office where you run your business after a wildfire has been contained, a tornado or hurricane has passed, or floodwaters have receded.

Unfortunately for thousands of business owners across the country, this scenario is more than just imagined.

Editor's View A world of opportunity exists for today's women

Thursday, September 6, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

I was raised with the notion I could be anything I wanted to be.

There was never discussion on barriers placed on particular careers because I was a girl.

We recently lost a very important woman, Sally Ride, who helped pave the way for young girls.

Ride was the first American woman in space and the youngest American to ever circle Earth.

According to her biography on sallyridescience.com, she answered a NASA newspaper ad seeking astronaut candidates in 1977 while finishing her Ph.D. She already had degrees in physics and English.

Editor's View

Thursday, September 6, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Lest we forget

Eleven years have passed since the 9/11 Islamic extremists' terrorist attacks on the World Trade Center Twin Towers in New York City, the Pentagon in Arlington, Va., and the crash of hijacked United Airlines Flight 93 into a farmer's field near Shanksville, Somerset County.

Last year's 10th anniversary memorial tributes to those lost in the tragedy were televised; I doubt there will be as much broadcast this year.

The pain and sense of loss, however, continues for the families and the survivors.