Parkland Press

Friday, November 15, 2019

Another View

Thursday, November 29, 2012 by SUSAN BRYANT in Opinion

Make the holidays memorable for family members with dementia or Alzheimer's

Hanukkah and Christmas are times of the year when family and friends come together to share memories, laugh, sing, decorate and exchange presents.

For people living with Alzheimer's disease or dementia, the holidays can be a difficult and stressful time.

I have found with my mother, who was diagnosed several years ago with dementia, this is the time of year when she becomes more depressed.

Chosen Words

Thursday, November 22, 2012 by KARYN INDURSKY Special to The Press in Opinion

Giving Thanks

Thanks for the roof over my head

and the cat laying with me on my bed.

Thanks for my son, who was once a baby and now is a big boy.

Thanks for the dishes that prove you've fulfilled my eating wishes.

Thanks for turkey sales, which allowed us to help donations prevail.

Thanks for listening while my soul is spiritually glistening.

Thanks for teaching us the value of sharing to demonstrate our caring.

Thanks for shoes on our feet

and providing everyone a seat.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, November 22, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

Writer honors friend with tribute

To the Editor:

I first met Harvey Hartman when he walked up to the float of the Northeast Variety Band as we were getting ready to play in the 4th of July parade in Wyomissing, two years ago.

Harvey was "wearing" his sousaphone and marching with a different band, but he asked Bruce Dengler, who was playing tuba on our float, as to how he could join our band.

Bruce suggested Harvey talk with me.

I got Harvey's name, address and phone number and I called him several days later, inviting him to a practice session.

Editor's View

Thursday, November 22, 2012 by DEBBIE GALBRAITH in Opinion

Finding ways to be grateful

President George Washington proclaimed the Day of National Thanksgiving on Oct. 3, 1789.

"Whereas it is the duty of all nations to acknowledge the providence of Almighty God, to obey His will, to be grateful for His benefits and humbly to implore his protection and favor," Washington wrote in his proclamation. "Whereas both Houses of Congress have, by their joint committee, requested me 'to recommend to the people of the United States a day of public thanksgiving and prayer, to be observed by acknowledging with grateful hearts the many and signal favors of Almighty God.'"

New law establishes state Veterans' Trust Fund

Thursday, November 22, 2012 by STATE SEN. PAT BROWNE R-16th in Opinion

Pennsylvania is home to more than 900,000 military veterans. Their tremendous service to our nation stands as a point of pride for our commonwealth.

It takes a special person to be a soldier, sailor, Marine, member of the Air Force or Coast Guard.

How many people would want to or be able to face the threats and uncertainties our service members have and still do on a daily basis?

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, November 22, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

·New Bethany Ministries, Bethlehem, needs volunteers for Luminaria Night.

Contact Liliana Cuba at 610-691-5602 or lcuba@newbethanyministries.org.

·Holiday Hope Chests, Bethlehem, coordinated by the Volunteer Center of the Lehigh Valley, needs volunteers to fill your own shoeboxes with age appropriate items for Lehigh Valley's less fortunate children.

Call Sandie at 610-807-0336 or skelly@volunteerlv.org.

·Moravian Historical Society, Nazareth, has an immediate need for outdoor clean up help due to recent storm.

En Glee Bissell des un Sell

Thursday, November 22, 2012 by MARY BITTNER HENRY Special to The Press in Opinion

Der Baydawg is widder doe,

Un es glabbert yo so in der Kich;

Blendy arwet fer mich,

Welsh-hawna un lots funn socha,

Muss ich now ready

macha in der Kich;

Es is g'shpboss fer mich,

Kucha un feel boi,

Shtana shunt in ra roi In der Kich;

Oh, es shwitzed mich.

De kinner kumma ol hame,

Wil wetta se acta wider

es same in der Kich;

Ei, es lechered mich.

Eb mer essa, duhna mer bayda,

Shpater shwappa mer

resayda in der Kich;

Blendy harlichkate fer mich.

Der baydawg kumt un gayed,

Editor's View

Thursday, November 15, 2012 by JOHANNA BILLINGS in Opinion

Holidays aren't celebrations for everyone

I spent Sunday at a fundraiser for the family of a 2012 North-ampton Area High School graduate who died recently from brain cancer.

The benefit raised money to help the family of Alec Ferullo, who died Oct. 8 of brain cancer.

His parents had to take unpaid leaves of absence from their jobs in order to care for him during his last few months.

As I watched people buy raffle tickets, baked goods and other items, I couldn't help but think how soon Thanksgiving and then Christmas and New Year's would be here.

Volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, November 15, 2012 by The Press in Opinion

·AIDSNET, Bethlehem, needs volunteers to help translate documents into Spanish as they are revised or added.

Contact Ann Stuart Thacker at 610-882-1119 or executive.director@aidsnetpa.org.

·American Red Cross, Bethlehem, is seeking a receptionist to greet visitors, answer phones, assist callers and visitors by providing information and directing them to appropriate departments.

Contact Susan Kalkhuis-Beam at 610-865-4400 or susan.kalkhuis-beam @redcross.org.

Living the Vintage Years

Thursday, November 15, 2012 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK Special to The Press in Opinion

A meatless menu is more than side dishes

When desserts were being delivered to nearby tables during a recent banquet my husband and I attended, we saw waitresses carrying steaming bowls of cinnamon buns oozing with gooey sauce.

As these tempting goodies reached our table and our tablemates, however, we had to smile when we were handed glass dessert goblets filled with a pretty variety of luscious berries instead of the sweet buns.

We soon figured out why. Apparently we were given the "vegetarian" dessert.