Parkland Press

Friday, June 23, 2017

Editorial

Thursday, May 4, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Obscene, profane and vulgar

Many Americans have been astonished the media are allowing the use of words which, until just a few years ago, were considered off-limits.

Readers are certainly more tolerant and less shocked than when I started my journalism career nearly 57 years ago.

The same is true of other media, too.

The word “virgin” in the 1953 movie, “The Moon Is Blue,” caused such a national scandal that it resulted in its being condemned by the Roman Catholic Church.

Remember when Lucy and Desi, despite being married with children, slept in separate beds?

Another View

Thursday, May 4, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Firearms do not belong in the hands of teachers and other school personnel

The Pennsylvania Senate Education Committee recently approved Senate Bill 383, sponsored by Sen. Don White, R-41st, of Indiana County.

This bill, which would allow school directors to establish a policy for allowing personnel access to firearms in school buildings or on school grounds, would amend the Public School Code of 1949.

Senate Bill 383, which passed the committee with a 9-3 vote, will now go to the full Senate for final approval.

volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, May 4, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

·Allentown School District Foundation needs volunteers, age 25 and older, to read to kindergarten students once a week during the school year.

Contact Susan Williams at 484-765-4093 or williamssu@allentownsd.org.

·Cedarbrook Nursing Home, Fountain Hill, needs a volunteer to play hymns one hour a week for Sunday church service.

Contact Kerry Magliane at 610-336-5684 or kerrymagliane@lehighcounty.org.

CHOSEN WORDS

Thursday, May 4, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Pink Confetti

Pink confetti caught up by the breezes

Pink confetti falling from the trees

Japanese cherry and flowering crab petals

Caught in a whirlwind of simple ease

Pink confetti disperses into flower beds,

driveways and lawns

Celebrating May with its decent

A May Pole exuberance not witnessed

since fall when leaves are strewn

in similar swirls

A joy to watch for us all

Pink Confetti ...

Splendid reminder

of May’s celebration

D.J. Hausman-Hill Lititz

Guest View

Thursday, April 27, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Our role in reducing atmospheric carbon

Earth Week offered Lehigh Valley residents the opportunity to hear two environmental experts speak, Dr. George Woodwell from the Woods Hole Research Center, and Bill McKibben, founder of 350.org.

I was fortunate to hear both.

Their work, research and message emphasize the same thing: we all need to do something to lessen the amount of carbon in our atmosphere.

For so many, that seems like a daunting task. Most of us are everyday people with jobs, families and a multitude of other responsibilities.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, April 27, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Should girls be allowed in the Boy Scouts of America?

I recently read the story of 15-year-old Sydney Ireland, of New York, who had petitioned the Boy Scouts of America to allow girls into the organization.

Sydney had attended Cub Scouts with her brother “unofficially” since she was very young. She was not able to earn any of the recognition or badges her older brother earned because she is female.

Her brother is now an Eagle Scout.

According to news reports, Sydney went as far as she could with Cub Scouts, later joined the South African Scouts and then achieved the highest rank with the Canadian Scouts.

Chosen Words

Thursday, April 27, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Wild Flowers

While driving down the highway,

They suddenly appeared.

I didn’t see them yesterday,

But sure enough they’re here!

Wild flowers, wild flowers,

Bloomin’ here and there.

Kaleidoscopes of color popping

Up most everywhere.

Wonder where they came from?

Just poked up through the ground.

They pushed away the blades of grass

And spread themselves around.

Although most people like them,

Some seem to think they’re weeds.

I choose to think we’re blessed with them

Guest View II

Thursday, April 27, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Demand facts — support real news

The term “news media” can mean a lot of different things these days but at the Pennsylvania NewsMedia Association, the news media we work with are Pennsylvania’s newspapers and online-only news publications.

There are 77 daily newspapers in Pennsylvania, more than 175 nondaily publications, including college newspapers and a significant number of online-only news sites.

Election Policy

Thursday, April 27, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 16 Municipal Primary Election, the Parkland Press and the Northwestern Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials is the April 20 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Letters to the Editor supporting a candidate must be received by The Press no later than by 5 p.m. April 28.

Election Policy

Wednesday, April 19, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 16 Municipal Primary Election, the Parkland Press and the Northwestern Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials is the April 20 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Letters to the Editor supporting a candidate must be received by The Press no later than by 5 p.m. April 28.