Parkland Press

Tuesday, October 16, 2018

Chosen Words

Thursday, September 20, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

It Couldn’t Hurt

If you know someone

Who is down and out,

And is flailing all about,

Give them a call

To say hello,

It Couldn’t Hurt.

If you know of a neighbor

Who could use a hand,

Or who needs someone to care;

Pay them a visit

And give them a hug,

It Couldn’t Hurt.

If ever you get in a situation where

You are lonely, and hoping for someone to care,

Simply fold your hands and say a prayer,

It Couldn’t Hurt.

Shirley Binkley

Cedar View Apartments

shirleybentzbinkley@gmail.com

Chosen Words

Thursday, September 13, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Monuments

Monuments are memorials

To honor brave men and women;

Who fought in battle, and gave their lives,

For Americans to live in freedom.

Today’s youth has “too much freedom of speech,”

They do not know what they say!

They trample on our Commandments,

And our Constitution they threw away!

They didn’t fight for their freedom!

It was given to them for free.

By the people who died in battle,

To save them, and you and me.

What makes them think they deserve the right

To destroy all our history?

Editor’s View

Thursday, September 13, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Lest we forget!

Tuesday was the 17th anniversary of the terrorist attacks on the Twin Towers of the World Trade Center in New York City, N.Y., the Pentagon in Arlington County, Va., and the crash of Flight 93 into a field in Shanksville, Somerset County.

On July 25, the remains of a 26-year-old man who worked at the World Trade Center were identified as a result of advanced DNA testing.

The remains of Scott Michael Johnson, which were recovered after the attack, were identified by the forensic biology division of the New York City medical examiner’s office.

Guest View

Thursday, September 13, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

More than 80 percent of older drivers aren’t talking about driving safety

Nearly 83 percent of older drivers report never speaking to a family member or physician about their driving ability, according to new research from the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety.

Of the small percentage of families who do have the conversation, 15 percent do so after a crash or traffic infraction has occurred, which could be too late.

Due to their fragility, older drivers are at a greater risk of death and injury if involved in a crash.

In 2016, more than 200,000 drivers ages 65 and older were injured in a traffic crash and more than 3,500 were killed.

VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

Thursday, September 13, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·Center For Animal Health and Welfare, Easton, is seeking volunteers to walk dogs, assist with morning cleanings, attend off-site events to promote the shelter, cat and dog enrichment and general shelter help.

Contact Walt Hoffman at 610-252-7722 ext. 4 or cahwvolunteercoordinator@rcn.com.

·Center For Vision Loss, Allentown, needs volunteers to assist clients with visual impairment during a weekly walk at the Lehigh Valley Mall 9-10:30 a.m. every Wednesday. Current FBI criminal background check is required.

Another View

Friday, September 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Brighten someone’s day, show a little kindness

I was recently touched emotionally when I read an article on nytimes.com about an Argentine police officer and another on foxnews.com on Pop star Pink, both showing kindness to young children.

The first article written by Ernesto Londono and published Aug. 23 is titled “Argentine Police Officer Promoted after Breastfeeding Neglected Baby.”

The article tells how Officer Celeste Ayala was promoted to sergeant after a photo of her breastfeeding a neglected baby at a hospital, while in uniform, went viral on the Internet.

Chosen Words

Friday, September 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A Rainy Day

A rainy day is gloomy,

You want to remain in bed.

It’s not the rain I dislike,

It’s the dreariness I dread.

I need the sun to wake me up,

So I can get around;

But on a very rainy day,

It’s nowhere to be found.

I seem to lose my energy.

My ambition has flown the coup.

I can’t wait for the sun to return

So I can try to regroup.

I know we need the rain to fall,

To water all the plants,

I understand that circumstance.

But, why can’t it rain just an hour a day,

ANOTHER VIEW

Thursday, September 6, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Church must examine itself after scathing report

If you are one of more than 3 million Roman Catholics in Pennsylvania, or even if you are not, you can’t help but be stunned, saddened and sickened by the startling disclosures in the report by an investigative grand jury that was recently released.

With some names redacted (blacked out), the report detailed there are more than 1,000 child victims at the hands of more than 300 accused clergy representing a systemic cover-up that goes back 70 years.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, August 29, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Mourning the passing of a true hero

The nation was rocked once again Aug. 25 when it was announced Sen. John McCain, R-Ariz., 81, died from a glioblastoma brain tumor.

McCain was diagnosed in July 2017 following a procedure to remove a blood clot above his left eye at Mayo Clinic Hospital in Phoenix, Ariz.

McCain died nine years to the day after his friend Sen. Ted Kennedy, D-Mass., who had the same cancer. Glioblastoma affects 10,000 Americans each year.