Parkland Press

Monday, December 18, 2017

Another view

Wednesday, October 18, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The debate on birth control medication needs to end

Talk to any woman you know, and there’s a good chance she has used birth control medication at some point in her life.

In fact, according to a December 2014 Center for Disease Control and Prevention article on a National Survey of Family Growth study, 2011-13, “61.7 percent of the 60.9 million women aged 15-44 in the United States were currently using contraception.”

Guest View

Wednesday, October 18, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The powerhouse that is Pennsylvania

When you think of the many things our state is famous for, energy production may not be at the top of the list; however, Pennsylvania ranks third in the nation for total energy production.

Thanks to our abundant natural resources and vast infrastructure we are an energy-producing powerhouse and have been for hundreds of years.

Pennsylvania first rose to the top of energy production due to our prosperous timber industry and plentiful coal reserves.

Letter to The Editor

Wednesday, October 18, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Writer supports Brad Osborne for Lehigh County executive

To the Editor:

I am writing as a Democrat to encourage everyone to vote for Brad Osborne as the next Lehigh County executive.

As a lifelong resident of Lehigh County and most of my life in South Whitehall, I have never met a “politician” with more integrity, class and civility.

Brad has paid his dues as a South Whitehall Township commissioner as well as a Lehigh County commissioner and is ready, willing and able to lead.

An even better person than a politician, Brad recently became a sounding board for my recently passed brother, Raymond, at Cedarbrook.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, October 12, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

‘We’re all still in this life together’

Nearly 60 people were killed and more than 400 injured Oct. 2 when 64-year-old Stephen Paddock opened fire on attendees of an outdoor country music festival in Las Vegas.

In the days since, we’ve read about or heard from survivors of the attack, who detailed the chaos and confusion during those moments.

Thousands were at this sold-out, three-day concert, Route 91 Harvest Festival, which featured country music stars such as Eric Church and Sam Hunt.

Jason Aldean was on stage when the gunfire erupted. He is said to have called the scene “beyond horrific.”

Chosen Words

Thursday, October 12, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

October 8-14

Fireman’s Prayer

When I am called

to duty, God,

Whenever flames

may rage;

Give me strength

to save some life,

Whatever be its age.

Help me embrace

a little child

Before it is too late

Or save an

older person

From the horror

of that fate.

Enable me to be alert

And hear the

weakest shout,

And quickly

and efficiently

To put the fire out.

I want to fill my calling

And to give the best in me

To guard my

every neighbor

Guest View

Thursday, October 12, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Stopping scammers before they steal from you

It seems you can’t look at the news or social media nowadays without reading about email and phone fraud.

Scammers will pretend to be just about anybody —utility employees, bank employees, even IRS agents — to try to get hold of your money or your personal information.

It’s enough to make you want to block everyone out. That’s unfortunate, because there are some genuine opportunities out there that can help you save. But sometimes it’s hard to separate them from all the scams and swindles.

Guest View II

Thursday, October 5, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Internet gambling is wrong for Pennsylvania — and dangerous for America

If you are reading this sentence, chances are you are doing so on a computer, a mobile phone, or a tablet.

Scroll or swipe up a few centimeters and you aren’t just in your home or in your office — you’re suddenly in a full-fledged casino that’s open 24/7.

Just as you are one click away from the dangers of predatory internet gambling companies, so too are our kids, seniors, low-income individuals, and those with debilitating gambling addictions.

I learned of the true problems with internet gambling when I served on the House Gaming Oversight Committee.

Editor’s View

Thursday, October 5, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A lemon of a decision by Judge Smith on Lehigh County’s official seal

The secular zealots who originally challenged Lehigh County’s official seal in 2015 will not be happy until all symbols of Christianity are removed from public view.

The Freedom From Religion Foundation in Wisconsin, which supported four Lehigh Valley members’ efforts to have the Latin cross in the center of the county seal removed, must be smiling smugly after a federal judge’s decision Sept. 28.

U.S. District Court Judge Edward Smith upheld the group’s viewpoint — well, sort of — that the Latin cross should not be part of the county government’s official seal.

Guest View I

Thursday, October 5, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

National Newspaper Week

National Newspaper Week, Oct. 1-7, is the time to celebrate the impact newspapers have on their communities, and to recognize the dedicated individuals who work diligently so that you, the reader, receive the news and information that you want and need, day in and day out.

A free press is more important than ever and newspapers have always been at the forefront of serving our communities.