Parkland Press

Friday, December 14, 2018

ArtsQuest at SteelStacks honors Hometown Heroes

Wednesday, November 7, 2018 by ANITA HIRSCH in Opinion

ArtsQuest at SteelStacks, Bethlehem and Embassy Bank honored those who served or are serving in the U.S. armed services by posting photos of the men and women in uniform May 26-28.

This was the eighth year photos honoring those in the military were posted.

The photos together were called Hometown Heroes and were displayed to honor them for their contributions.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, November 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Missing in Action: Another Euphemism

What do these words mean?

Missing ... disappeared from the earth?

Does “in action” mean inaction on our part?

Action ... what kind of action?

Why not call it war?

Seeing my dad anguish over the loss

Of his beloved nephew throughout his life

Just one of many

Sailors, soldiers, nurses, pilots

Never to be seen again

My only hope is that now

Having passed on to the other side

They are reunited once again

And that some day we will learn

That euphemisms do not speak truth

D.J. Hausman-Hill

Lititz

American Legion Post 16 honors those lost in war

Wednesday, November 7, 2018 by ELSA KERSCHNER in Opinion

Allen O. Delke Post 16 American Legion of Slatington recently had a memorial service at Union Cemetery, Slatington.

The service began with a parade from the Legion Post to the cemetery. Boy, Cub and Girl Scouts were marching with the Legion members.

Slatington High School band, under the direction of David Carroll, played several numbers.

Charles Rowlands was honored as the oldest Post member at age 97 with 76 years of membership.

Henry Distler of St. John’s UCC gave the invocation.

Letter to the Editor

Thursday, November 1, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

MALV stands with Jewish community following mass shooting

To the Editor:

The Muslim Association of Lehigh Valley is deeply shocked at the horrific incident of mass shooting at the Tree of Life Synagogue in Pittsburgh.

There is absolutely no justification for such an act in any religion.

We offer our heartfelt condolences to the families of those killed or injured. Our prayers are with all those that are affected by these senseless atrocities.

Editor’s View

Thursday, November 1, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The monsters among us

The opposite of love is not hate, it’s indifference. The opposite of art is not ugliness, it’s indifference. The opposite of faith is not heresy, it’s indifference. And the opposite of life is not death, it’s indifference. Because of indifference, one dies before one actually dies. To be in the window and watch people being sent to concentration camps or being attacked in the street and do nothing, that’s being dead.

(Elie Wiesel, Holocaust survivor, U.S. News & World Report, Oct. 27, 1986)

Look to your left. Look to your right. Look behind you and in front of you.

Election Policy

Thursday, October 25, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 6 General Election, the Parkland Press and the Northwestern Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office was Oct. 11.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Another View

Thursday, October 25, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Hurricane Michael survivors need our help

One of the most powerful storms to hit the United States slammed into the Florida panhandle as a Category 4 hurricane on Oct. 10 before moving to Georgia, the Carolinas and Virginia.

After the hurricane hit, I was glued to the television to watch live news broadcasts on the destruction of Hurricane Michael.

As I watched TV the next day, one Weather Channel broadcast on the aftermath of Hurricane Michael touched me emotionally.

Writer says she is voting for Pinsley

Thursday, October 25, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

I believe Mark Pinsley is the best choice for Pennsylvania Senate in the 16th District.

Pinsley is a fresh face in a chamber that has become too entrenched with incumbents who don’t act in the best interest of we, the people.

It is our time now to vote these elected officials out and replace them with a new class that will work for us. Pinsley is just the one to do that.

Pinsley has served both his country and community.

Chosen Words

Thursday, October 25, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The Kitchen Witch

She comes in all sizes and shapes

Her figure may be pudgy or skinny

She may sprout chin hairs

Or a boil on her nose

But what I propose

Is a sight to behold

For she conjures up magical feasts

In her cauldron you’ll find

Soups of all kinds

Whether pureed or diced to perfection

There are sumptuous platters of

pheasant or pork

Of venison, beef, and fried chicken

Accompaniments of all kinds just

blows your mind

Her breads sent around never fail to astound

And delectable desserts are a must

Letter writers support having cross in Lehigh County seal

Thursday, October 25, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

We’ve heard the Freedom From Religion organization has now taken Lehigh County to court to once again try to get the cross removed from the county’s seal.

Obviously, the FFR people are determined to erase any sign of our Christian heritage.

How would our Founding Fathers have responded to an attack like this?

They sacrificed so much so that we, in the USA, would be free to express our faith in God without fear of retaliation.