Parkland Press

Friday, March 23, 2018


Wednesday, January 31, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Remembering the real ‘Rosie’

On Jan. 23, Naomi Parker Fraley died. She was 96.

Who was Fraley? And why is her passing worth your attention?

Fraley, it must be noted, was the real “Rosie The Riveter.”

And “Rosie” is a genuine American cultural icon.

In an obituary marking her death, Joel Gunter, writing for, describes Fraley’s famous image as “ubiquitous” and her celebrated image has been referenced by such seemingly disparate figures as the students of The Swain School, popular singers Beyonce and Christina Aguilera and a new member of Emmaus Borough Council.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, January 31, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

What If It Was Your Child?

The younger generation doesn’t seem to have respect.

When they see the old folks salute the flag,

They say, “What the heck?”

They didn’t lose their children In the fight to keep us free;

They do not understand All the lives that were lost

To obtain that liberty.

What if it was your child?

Some of our children were drafted

They didn’t have a choice;

They were frightened and scared

To go away, but they Didn’t have a voice.

When conflict came upon this land,

They had to go to war.

They had to defend this nation,

Guest View I

Thursday, January 25, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Seven priorities: Counties work to improve

There are countless ways Pennsylvania residents interact with their county governments every day, probably without even realizing it — everything from services for those with mental illness, intellectual disabilities and substance abuse issues, to child abuse investigations, to local court operations, to marriage certificates, mortgage, deeds and other document recording, to property assessment, to 911 call-taking and dispatch, to local bridges and mass transit and much more.

Guest view II

Thursday, January 25, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

School property tax elimination act progresses

I want to provide constituents of the 40th Senatorial District with the latest update regarding the school property tax elimination fight in Harrisburg and what to expect in the near future.

Citizens across the commonwealth voted Nov. 7, 2017, to support the expansion of the state’s existing Homestead Exclusion program, allowing for up to 100 percent elimination of school property taxes on owner-occupied homes.

Passage of the referendum was the first step in providing this critical elimination.

Another view

Thursday, January 25, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The power and right of telling the truth

When I was a young child, I was sexually assaulted by a family member.

When I was a young teenager, I was sexually assaulted and harassed by a classmate.

And when I was a young adult, I encountered street harassment more times than I can count on one hand.

So when the #metoo movement started to catch fire on Facebook, Twitter and other social media platforms, I joined in and reposted the hashtag and message, too.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, January 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Reset for 2018 by choosing your word carefully

How’s the New Year’s resolution coming along? Not so great, you say?

You’re not alone.

This is about the time the frustration sets in and the giving up begins, according to researchers.

Approximately 50 percent of the population makes a resolution to start the new year. Jan. 1 signifies a new beginning. We start the year with super hero-sized powers to do things differently than the year before. There’s a special kind of energy that comes with a chance for change.

Guest View I

Wednesday, January 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Protecting your personal information from tax identity thieves

In an effort to bring greater awareness to the crime of tax identity theft, I have authored a House resolution recognizing Jan. 29 through Feb. 2 as Tax Identity Theft Awareness Week in Pennsylvania.

Tax identity theft occurs when someone steals a person’s personal information, often obtained through old tax returns, and uses it to file current fraudulent tax returns in someone else’s name in order to receive a tax refund.

Volunteer opportunities

Wednesday, January 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·Allentown School District Foundation: Allentown School District Health Service is looking for RNs and/or LPNs to volunteer for their screening team. All school districts in Pennsylvania are mandated to perform screenings on their students from kindergarten to 12th grade every school year. Screenings consist of height, weight, vision, hearing and scoliosis.

Call Dr. Kim Brannan at 484-765-4059 or email

Chosen Words

Wednesday, January 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A Winter Day

A winter day is quite confusing!

It starts out sunny, oh so nice, then changes every hour.

I look outside and see the drops, we have a little shower.

It’s raining now, and I say “yea,” at least it isn’t snow.

I go outside to take a walk; the wind begins to blow!

It’s only wind; I don’t mind that; I‘ll hang around a while.

I walk around and wave at friends, and give a little smile.

I’ve walked about a mile now, it’s time to turn around,

When suddenly, it’s SNOWING, and it’s really coming down!

Letter to The Editor

Wednesday, January 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Writer offended by Editor’s View

To The Editor:

The Editor’s View by Deb Palmieri titled “My New Year’s Wish for 2018,” in the Jan. 4 Parkland Press offends me.

It is very upsetting that women are being questioned by a woman in a position of influence, being accused of seeking a moment of fame and/or not telling the truth.

Obviously the writer has never been in a vulnerable position where screaming, physically retaliating or running away are not viable options.