Parkland Press

Sunday, August 19, 2018

Another View

Thursday, June 21, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Suicide: It’s affecting more and more families every day

“Money does not create happiness.” — a proverb

On June 5, fashion designer Kate Brosnahan Spade was found dead in her apartment by her housekeeper. The 55-year-old died by suicide.

Three days later, celebrity chef Anthony Bourdain took his own life in France while working on his CNN television series. He was 61.

I remember hearing of the death of actor Robin Williams in 2014. I loved his movies, especially “Patch Adams” and “Dead Poets Society.” I think any character he played, he performed well and with passion.

Another View

Thursday, June 21, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Pennsylvania journalists work to deliver fact-based news

Newspaper staffs across the commonwealth work tirelessly, day in and day out, to deliver fact-based news and information.

It is the pledge of dedicated journalists, who are also fellow members of the community, to report real, honest and credible news.

In an era of misinformation and fake news dissemination, it’s even more important to know that newspapers are a reliable resource that deliver accurate, fair and unbiased reporting from which you may form your own opinions.

Guest View II

Wednesday, June 13, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Townships demand leadership from state to address volunteer firefighter crisis

The volunteer fire company is a long and cherished tradition in our commonwealth, dating back to 1736 when Ben Franklin founded the nation’s first all-volunteer force to fight blazes in Philadelphia.

For nearly three centuries, communities have relied on volunteer fire companies to protect property and save lives. Today, this volunteer model is in jeopardy.

Guest View I

Wednesday, June 13, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Fathers matter in the lives of their children

All research begins with someone asking the question, “I wonder ...?” That is what my research design instructor told us on the first day of class.

I have a number of things that make me go, “Huh ...!” but at the behest of my family, who had to endure me going through graduate school a few years ago, I decided to spare them and not to embark upon a Ph.D.

There are two things I have found about research in the meantime: 1.) One can easily find “research” to back up pretty much anything you want; and

Editor’s View

Wednesday, June 13, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Me Too movement (and money?) bring change to Miss America contest

Miss America 2.0. Coming soon: New website. New show. New experience.

Previous winners of the popular pageant are casting their own votes now, after last week’s announcement the Miss America organization would be eliminating its swimsuit and evening gown contests from the 97-year-old event.

Gretchen Carlson, the newly named chairwoman of the Miss America board of directors and herself a winner of the pageant, also announced it was no longer to be considered a pageant, but rather a competition.

Another view

Thursday, June 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Think before speaking

“If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.”

Before acting, I ponder this phrase taught to me by my mother years ago. If whatever I am about to say or do does not fit the framework of “something nice,” I simply refrain from putting it out to the world.

This second look has stopped me from doing a lot of things I know I would have regretted.

“When anger rises, think of the consequences,” Confucius said.

Guest View II

Thursday, June 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Teen driver crashes kill 10 people a day during 100 Deadliest Days

As school lets out for summer, AAA stresses the importance of preparing and educating inexperienced teen drivers for some of the most dangerous driving days of the year.

More than 1,050 people were killed in crashes involving a teen driver in 2016 during the 100 Deadliest Days, the period between Memorial Day and Labor Day.

That is an average 10 people per day — a 14-percent increase compared to the rest of the year, according to data analyzed by the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety.

VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

Thursday, June 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·Allentown Youth Soccer Club, Allentown, has volunteer opportunities including coach, assistant coach, team manager, registration assistants and administrative (sort copies and deliver flyers). Open board positions include registrar — collect and manage player data, communicate with coaches; travel league representative and recreational league representative — attend quarterly league meetings and report back to board and coaches.

Contact Louis Holzman at 610-674-2870 or louisholzmannutrition@gmail.com.

CHOSEN WORDS

Thursday, June 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Hoist the balloons for the month of June

Month that you are those near and far

Attend celebrations as countless as stars

Sailing through birthdays, graduations, weddings, anniversaries, reunions

From the first to the 30th

We attend each event

Purchase gifts galore

So there’s ample delight

Such a splendid occasion is June

What a sight!

D.J. Hausman-Hill

Lititz

GUEST VIEW I

Thursday, June 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Some tips if you are planning to move

Are there new faces in your neighborhood?

If so, it’s no surprise. At PPL Electric Utilities, we know that more than 200,000 of our residential customers set up new electric service or transfer their existing service in an average year.

That’s about 15 percent of our residential customers, which might seem like a lot at first.