Parkland Press

Monday, December 18, 2017

Chosen Words

Thursday, September 28, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The Toilet Seat

May I ask you a question about the toilet seat?

Why is it so important to so many folks you meet?

Was it up, or was it down, when you went in the “room?”

Does it really matter, and, if so, to whom?

Leave it up? Put it down? Whatever shall I do?

Whichever way I choose to go, most likely won’t suit you!

We want our bathrooms beautiful, as rooms go that’s the prime!

But is the toilet seat’s position part of that design?

People shouldn’t argue over such a silly thing.

Another View

Thursday, September 28, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Every day, American families place their loved ones in nursing homes and trust they will be properly cared for by the staff.

Eight senior citizens died Sept. 13 from excessive heat inside the Rehabilitation Center at Hollywood Hills, Hollywood, Fla., when the nursing home’s air conditioning stopped working during a power loss and its backup generator failed after Hurricane Irma hit Florida Sept. 10.

Guest View II

Thursday, September 28, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Hunting abounds in Pennsylvania

With the change of seasons comes the anticipation of many residents to hit the woods and begin the long tradition of hunting in the commonwealth.

Pennsylvania boasts one of the largest hunting populations in the country, with nearly 1 million hunting licenses sold each year.

We are blessed with an abundance of state parks, game lands, forests, and mountains that are home to everything from fox, turkey, deer and bear.

Guest View I

Thursday, September 28, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Trump, the NFL, the flag and protest

So once again Trump has started a fire-storm to distract attention to the failure of his party, with complete control of the government, to pass a health care bill or anything else. Rather than talking about the tension regarding North Korea, America has been in a debate over NFL players protesting by taking a knee when the national anthem is played under the flag of the United States.

As the distraction has occurred and there is no way around it, let’s consider the biases that have come to light over the NFL players’ protest.

volunteer Opportunities

Wednesday, September 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

·Center for Animal Health and Welfare, Easton, is seeking volunteers to walk dogs, assist with morning cleanings, attend off-site events to promote the shelter, cat and dog enrichment and general shelter help.

Contact Walt Hoffman at 610-252-7722 ext. 4 or email cahwvolunteercoordinator@rcn.com.

·Allentown Rescue Mission, Allentown, is looking for volunteers to help plan its WAEB Spaghetti Dinner on Oct. 14.

Contact Deirdre Federico Snyder at 610-740-5500 ext. 322 or dfederico@armspa.org.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, September 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Football

What is all that ruckus that we hear in football season?

For wives to be so darn upset — I just don’t see the reason.

To watch some men who run around and try to catch a ball,

Some times is rather funny, especially when they fall.

At times they look quite silly while running in the rain;

Although they don’t give up, no way, they want that ball again!

They act like little children, sometimes they even fight;

They push, they shove, they grunt, they groan, and run with all their might.

Guest View

Wednesday, September 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Now is the time to focus on future jobs

Labor Day is a day dedicated to recognizing the social and economic achievements of American workers and their contribution to the strength, prosperity and well-being of our wonderful nation.

When the first Labor Day was celebrated in September 1882, it was at a time when American cities were the hub of industrial employment.

That being said, times have changed, and Pennsylvania must change in order to be able to provide first-rate jobs for our residents.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, September 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Sixteen years and counting

Dear reader:

Monday marked the 16th anniversary of the fall of the World Trade Center towers. Sixteen years.

In 2013, soon after I came to the office of The Press newspapers, my opportunity to write an editorial fell on Sept. 10.

I wrote of personal recollections of that day; vacuuming the floor in my parents’ home in Upper Milford Township when news images began to flood television screens, anxiously awaiting for word of the whereabouts of my sister who was in New York City that day and others.

volunteer OPPORTUNITIES

Thursday, September 7, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

·Center For Animal Health and Welfare, Easton, is seeking volunteers to walk dogs, assist with a.m. cleanings, attend off site events to promote the shelter, cat and dog enrichment and general shelter help.

Contact Walt Hoffman at 610-252-7722, ext. 4 or cahwvolunteercoordinator@rcn.com.

·Bethlehem Special Olympics is in need of a training coordinator.

Contact Dana Lindsay at 267-221-7740 or bso.dana@gmail.com.

·St. Luke’s University Health Network, Bethlehem, is in need of volunteer escorts and dispatchers.