Parkland Press

Friday, June 23, 2017

LIVING THE VINTAGE YEARS

Wednesday, April 19, 2017 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK in Opinion

Achieve immortality

When I looked at the calendar this morning, I realized today is my late husband’s birthday.

It’s hard to believe he is dead for more years than we were married, because in many ways he influenced my life and thus continues to live in me.

Because of him, I stopped biting my nails. For the first 22 years of my life I was a consummate fingernail chewer.

Erasers and rubber dolls were not safe in my presence, either.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, April 19, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Story of a lifetime can sometimes come before high school graduation

On April 3, Amy Robertson, newly named principal of Pittsburg High School in Kansas, resigned.

An investigation into Robertson’s background uncovered questionable credentials.

And the best part?

Student journalists for Booster Redux, the high school newspaper at Pittsburg High, conducted the investigation.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, April 19, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Birds

Do you ever think about the birds?

We hear them every day.

Do you ever listen to the birds?

Do you wonder what they say?

Do you wonder what they chat about?

Do you wonder how they play?

At night they seem to hover ’round

to choose their resting place;

They seem to chatter endlessly and

then there’s not a trace

of sound, it seems they’re resting now

until tomorrow comes, and then they will

awaken and they soon will start to hum.

Do you wonder why they fly around?

Do you wonder where they go?

Letter to The Editor

Wednesday, April 12, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Candidate for magisterial district judge states reasons for running for office

To The Editor:

First, let me say, it is a great honor and privilege to be endorsed by Lehigh County’s top law enforcement officer, District Attorney Jim Martin.

His confidence in my ability to perform the duties of magisterial district judge in District 31-3-1, which includes Lynn, Heidelberg, Lowhill, Washington, Weisenberg townships, and Slatington borough, is very important to me.

As a Lehigh County commissioner, I have had the opportunity to witness the hard work of the district attorney and his department.

volunteer Opportunities

Wednesday, April 12, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

·American Red Cross of the Greater Lehigh Valley, Allentown, needs volunteers to join the Lehigh Valley — Bucks Chapter’s Volunteer Recruitment Team.

Contact Susan Kalkhuis-Beam at 484-402-4718 or Susan.Kalkhuis-Beam@redcross.org.

·D&L National Heritage Corridor Inc., Easton, needs volunteers to help plan its spring dinner auction scheduled for April 27 at Northampton Country Club.

Contact Danielle Wolfrum at 610-923-3548 ext. 238 or Danielle@delawareandlehigh.org.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, April 12, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Once and Future King

He was the one

The one for whom they were waiting

Yet they did not recognize Him

Some called him the King of the Jews

But His kingdom was not of this world

He will come again

Sometime in the future

When He will reign forever

But now He reigns in our hearts

This once and future king

For He is the King of Kings

And Lord of Lords

And He shall reign forever and ever

D.J. Hausman-Hill

Lititz

Too much, too little, too soon

Wednesday, April 12, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

What do you think of when you hear the phrase “overindulged children?”

I always thought of kids who had a lot of stuff and opportunities.

You know, the kind of kids who rarely hear the word “no” and seem to get everything they want. The kind who act bratty and entitled.

But a recent read of a book called “How Much is Too Much?” by Jean Illsley Clark Ph.D. expanded my perception of what overindulgence really is.

And to my surprise, my score on a questionnaire I completed in the back of the book classified me as one who unintentionally overindulge my kids a bit.

Guest View

Wednesday, April 12, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

House approves Mackenzie bill to provide better protection of local tax dollars

We appreciate the men and women who step up and fulfill the role of tax collector within our municipalities.

Most of these individuals are hardworking citizens who do an outstanding job, however, we have had instances over the years in which some tax collectors have taken advantage of the current law and used it to steal money from the people they are supposed to be serving.

volunteer opportunities

Wednesday, April 5, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

·Center For Vision Loss, Allentown, is looking for volunteers to be “Annie’s Angels” to do home visits, read mail and provide companionship.

Contact Rita Lang at 610-433-6018 or rita.lang@centerforvisionloss.org.

·D&L National Heritage Corridor, Easton, needs volunteers to clean and organize the National Canal Museum.

Contact Scott Everett at 610-923-3548 ext. 232, facilities@delawareandlehigh.org.