Parkland Press

Thursday, August 17, 2017

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, June 14, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Daddy’s little girl

I am fortunate. My father is still alive at age 84 and in relatively good health.

I still call him “Daddy.”

I learned a lot from my dad. I learned how to cut the grass, take out the trash, spackle, install insulation and drywall, paint, garden, and bathe and groom our dog.

We would sit together as a family in front of the television to watch “The Ed Sullivan Show,” “Sonny and Cher,” “Jacques Cousteau” and many other shows.

Letter to The Editor

Wednesday, June 14, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Get rid of ‘vulgar’ programming

To the Editor:

Thank you and ditto from me to Bruce Frassinelli for his opinion article in the May 4 issue of The Press.

I have been wanting the courage to lash out at someone for a long time but did not know how to address the vulgar, obscene, profane programming on TV and the radio (songs using obscene words) lyrics played today.

I don’t call it music. It is noise pollution.

It is everywhere — malls, even grocery stores, restaurants, outdoor areas where someone like me would just like to sit quietly, read and enjoy scenery.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, June 8, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

It’s a matter of trust

I am having a hard time watching television these days, and I suspect many are in the same situation.

The Hallmark Channel has now become my “go-to” station.

To me, it seems we have lost our sense of trust, decency, manners and security.

Recently, this is just some of what we have been exposed to:

• A comedian holding an inappropriate image of our president;

• People physically removed from planes because of overbooking;

• Concertgoers, travelers and people attempting to enjoy their lives hurt or killed by ISIS;

Chosen Words

Thursday, June 8, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A Prayer

Our thoughts are right there with you, in your darkened hour of need.

We pray that God protects you,

and will fill your every need.

Although you are troubled,

and wretched with fear,

find solace in knowing

that our God is near.

Find comfort in knowing

that others care, too.

We’ll share all your worries

and heartaches with you.

God bless you and keep you,

his face shine upon thee.

Your faith and belief will uphold you,

you’ll see!

For, we are God’s children,

ANOTHER VIEW

Thursday, June 1, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A black day for music fans and their parents

Dear reader:

Here we are again.

Eleven months ago, headlines blared the horrific news of dozens killed in the Pulse nightclub while enjoying a night out, and the senseless murder of singer and reality show contestant Christina Grimmie, shot while signing autographs and chatting with fans after a performance, crimes happening within days of each other in Florida.

In an editorial around that time (The Future of the Future was Now, June 15, 2016), I tried to call attention to the future of so many young people cut short.

volunteers OPPORTUNITIES

Thursday, June 1, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

·Historic Bethlehem Museums and Sites needs volunteers for its “Rooms to View“ House and Garden Tour June 3.

Contact Tavia Minnich at 610-882-0450 ext. 20 or tminnich@historicbethlehem.org.

·Cedarbrook Nursing Home, South Whitehall, needs volunteers to help residents have some “reel” fun fishing in their on-site fishing hole.

Contact Kerry Magliane at 610-336-5684 or kerrymagliane@lehighcounty.org.

·Gracedale Nursing Home, Nazareth, needs high school students age 14 and older or entering ninth grade) for its summer youth program.

Guest View

Thursday, June 1, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Lending a helping hand

Whether you live in a township that’s large or small, it takes a team to run it.

Township supervisors, managers, secretaries, road crews, first responders, code enforcement officials, and many others work together to ensure your family and home are safe and that you get the answers you need when you need them.

Of course, on the surface, your community may appear to be a quiet place.

Another view

Thursday, May 25, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Ronald McDonald House: A home away from home

This is my first Another View since coming back to Pennsylvania from Florida.

No, it wasn’t a vacation. My husband and I adopted a beautiful baby boy, Benjamin, who was born March 21 — three weeks early.

We had been in the general adoption process for about a year and had waited around 6-and-a-half months to be matched with a birth mother.

Two days before Christmas, we got “the call” from our caseworker that a woman who viewed our adoption profile thought we were the ones.

Guest View

Thursday, May 25, 2017 by STATE REP. RYAN MACKENZIE (R-134TH) in Opinion

Constituent idea would improve women’s health

As a state representative, constituents often bring legislative ideas to my attention.

They see a problem and are creative in thinking of a solution, which I appreciate.

Many people do not understand the process of how an idea becomes a law and each elected official has his or her own process when working on legislation.

I want to take this opportunity to share with you my approach to a new idea that was presented to me.

volunteers OPPORTUNITIES

Thursday, May 25, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

·Historic Bethlehem Museums and Sites needs volunteers for its “Rooms to View“ House and Garden Tour June 3.

Contact Tavia Minnich at 610-882-0450 ext. 20 or tminnich@historicbethlehem.org.

·Cedarbrook Nursing Home, South Whitehall, needs volunteers to help residents have some “reel” fun fishing in their on-site fishing hole.

Contact Kerry Magliane at 610-336-5684 or kerrymagliane@lehighcounty.org.

·Gracedale Nursing Home, Nazareth, needs high school students age 14 and older or entering ninth grade) for its summer youth program.