Parkland Press

Friday, December 14, 2018

Michael Blichar Jr. is right choice for state representative, says writer

Thursday, October 25, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

We need new leadership in the state House and the choice is clear: Michael Blichar Jr.

Blichar would bring fresh ideas and perspectives to the House of Representatives from the 187th District.

Though he is young, he has already held various leadership positions, serving as a member of Kutztown Borough’s planning commission and a trustee on Kutztown University’s Board of Trustees.

Blichar has bold plans for the 187th District.

A supporter of agriculture, Blichar would make sure the state is doing more to invest in our farming operations.

Letter writer supports Nothstein

Thursday, October 25, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Marty Nothstein is a champion — a gold medal cyclist in the 2000 Olympic Games.

As a person, he has internalized the discipline, hard work, hardship, and rigorous resolve that are fundamental in the success and victory for achieving one’s goals in life.

All of these attributes aside, Nothstein has also succeeded as a leader at the nonprofit Valley Preferred Cycling Center, wherein he distinguished himself improving the organization’s finances and expanding its community outreach goals.

Guest View

Wednesday, October 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Drivers rely too heavily on new vehicle safety technologies despite limitations

More and more, drivers are recognizing the value in having vehicles with advanced driver assistance systems like blind spot monitoring systems, forward collision warning and lane keeping assist.

However, while many of these technologies are rapidly being offered as standard, many drivers are unaware of the safety limitations of ADAS in their vehicles, according to new research from the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety.

When properly used, ADAS technologies have the potential to prevent 40 percent of all vehicle crashes and nearly 30 percent of traffic deaths.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, October 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Mourning the end of bar soap and more

This is not an obituary. Nor is it a political commentary.

This Editor’s View mourns the death of things I and many others grew up with, including bar soap and top sheets.

Yes, that’s right. According to a recent news article, Generation Z individuals born between 1995 and 2010 and millennials born between 1981 and 1996 are changing the world as we know it — for those individuals have stated they no longer use bar soap, only liquid soap. And, they don’t use top sheets.

Top sheets? Will a sheet set soon only come with a fitted sheet and pillowcases?

Guest View I

Wednesday, October 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

National Newspaper Week, Oct. 7-13

Newspapers explore many of the topics that affect your senses.

The stories we report may get your blood rushing, wrinkle your brow, inspire you to call a friend about an event or simply entice you to relax and read about your favorite team that pulled out a victory destined to be a loss.

We cover the hard stuff. As curious watchdogs who investigate and report the truth, we are sometimes taken down any number of roads that may not be very popular.

That chronic chest cold may be more than you think

Wednesday, October 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The nasty cycle repeated itself for decades.

Verna, a public school teacher, would suffer a serious bout of bronchitis.

A week of antibiotics knocked out the infection enough that she would feel ready to return to the classroom.

Two weeks later the bronchitis was back.

So were the antibiotics.

After repeated bronchial infections year after year, she finally sought the opinion of a pulmonary specialist.

In-depth testing and a CT scan showed she had bronchiectasis, a lung condition that results in respiratory damage.

That chronic chest cold may be more than you think

Wednesday, October 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The nasty cycle repeated itself for decades.

Verna, a public school teacher, would suffer a serious bout of bronchitis.

A week of antibiotics knocked out the infection enough that she would feel ready to return to the classroom.

Two weeks later the bronchitis was back.

So were the antibiotics.

After repeated bronchial infections year after year, she finally sought the opinion of a pulmonary specialist.

In-depth testing and a CT scan showed she had bronchiectasis, a lung condition that results in respiratory damage.

Election Policy

Wednesday, October 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the Nov. 6 General Election, the Parkland Press and the Northwestern Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the Oct. 11 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, October 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

’Tis the season for flu prevention

It’s October and that means, for me at least, it is time for a flu shot.

On the record, I don’t like getting flu shots, although the anticipation really is the worst part. The shot itself is over in moments. The paperwork takes longer than the physical needle stick.

However, the flu shot is better than being sick, homemade chicken noodle soup notwithstanding.

And this year, the shot may be more important than ever.

The 2017-18 flu season is on record as particularly long and virulent.