Parkland Press

Friday, February 22, 2019

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, January 2, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

The healing power of pets

Before Christmas, my family committed to all staying home one night to watch holiday movies together.

As the time neared for the first film to begin, we found our pets had gathered in the living room as well, taking up a good portion of the couches.

This is not an exaggeration. We have three dogs — and despite their alleged thinking, none of them is a true lap dog.

This happens pretty often. It’s not unusual to see one of us walk in the room, pause when we see the shortage of comfortable seating and choose to find a spot on the floor instead of moving a napping pet.

Another view

Wednesday, December 26, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Handcrafted Christmas gifts are made from the heart

Christmas is a time of giving and love. For many, the giving has overpowered the love, and hidden the true meaning of the season.

During Christmas, we give gifts to show our loved ones we appreciate them and love having them in our lives. This is why we give.

However, with events such as Black Friday and Cyber Monday, we, as a society, tend to focus on buying the best new gadgets or getting a great price on those expensive toys.

We focus more on what we are buying and not why. The expectation is to buy more and more each year and to continually up the ante.

Silent Night

Wednesday, December 26, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Schtille Nacht, Heiliche Nacht

Schtille Nacht, Heiliche Nacht!

Oll is ruhrich, gor ken Yacht —

Hoch im Himmel blinzelt ‘n Schtarn;

Weisst der Weg so dass yaeder Mann

Wees wuh dass Christ-Kindli schloft,

Wees wuh dass Christ-Kindli schloft.

Schtille Nacht, Heilich Nacht!

Draus imm Schtol es Bubeli lacht!

Mutter un Vater, sie schteene bei,

Kann dass Kindli dann Keenich sei?

Oll die Aerd is sei Kron!

Oll die Aerd is sei Kron!

Schtille Nacht, Heilich Nacht!

Hoscht du dass Halo bedracht?

Chosen Words

Wednesday, December 26, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

I Wish

I wish I could go back in time

to re-live my history;

I’d reconnect with friends and family

That meant so much to me.

There is so much I didn’t know

When I was just a kid;

But knowing what I do today,

T’would be a different life I’d live.

Our cousins moved around the state,

Didn’t get to see them much;

Because of all the distance,

It was hard to keep in touch.

Most of my family have left this world

While unable to say “goodbye;”

When I think about all that I’ve lost,

Guest View

Thursday, December 27, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Making the state legislature smaller is no easy task

“I got it close, but I couldn’t get it over the goal line.”

That’s the way state Rep. Jerry Knowles, R-124th, Berks, Schuylkill, Carbon, described his effort to shepherd a bill through the General Assembly to reduce the size of the House of Representatives from 203 to 151 members.

“We were one procedural vote away from getting this on the ballot, the closest we have ever come,” he said.

Chosen Words

Sunday, December 16, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Children singing, falling snow;

Christmas is coming.

Twinkling lights are all aglow,

Christmas is near.

It’s time for the holly.

It’s time to be jolly.

Dreams by all the girls and boys,

of Santa and his toys.

Choirs sing and church bells ring. I see it, I heard it.

Joy and laughter all around;

I feel the Christmas spirit.

The stars shine bright above,

as God bestows his love,

We dream of peace on earth for all, as families come to call.

Christmastime is here again,

There’s magic in the air.

volunteers

Sunday, December 16, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·Salvation Army of the Greater Lehigh Valley, Bethlehem, needs cooking teams to prepare community meals on Sundays, serving at 1 p.m.

Contact Jeff Kulls at 484-554-7992 or jeffkulls@hotmail.com.

·Volunteer Center of the Lehigh Valley, Bethlehem, needs volunteers to help with its Holiday Hope Chests program.

Register at form.jotform.com/82845229700155

·Women of Excellence, Bethlehem, needs volunteers to help gift wrap through Dec. 14 at its 301 Broadway, 5th floor, Bethlehem location.

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, December 12, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Redistricting reform collapse reinforces need for voter initiative and referendum

To say I was disappointed with the outcome of legislative efforts to end gerrymandering once and for all would be an understatement.

The bill (Senate Bill 22) that I authored and grassroots organizations championed was “Harrisburged.”

I use this term to express what happens to an initiative that would improve our system; yet requires legislative leaders in Harrisburg to step up and steer clear of political games.

Unfortunately, this type of gamesmanship happens all too often in the capital city when it comes to trying to get big things done for the people we represent.

Another View

Wednesday, December 12, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Keep loved ones, pets safe from fire this holiday season

Christmas, Hanukkah and Kwanzaa are times of the year when family and friends come together to share memories, a meal, sing, decorate and exchange gifts.

The holiday season can be especially difficult if a fire were to break out in a home and kill a loved one.

According to local media, a body of one man was found following a fire in Whitehall; a second fire this past weekend displaced nine people and killed a dog.

The body of the 49-year-old man was found after a fire occurred around 10 p.m. Dec. 7 at Spring Ridge Apartments, 1308 N. 13th St., Whitehall Township.

Long, Dark Nights

Wednesday, December 5, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

What is it about these long, dark nights

That we find so foreboding?

Awakening to dark mornings

Commutes to work in darkness

Walking dark alleys in the city

Returning home in the darkness

Leaves a blot on our lives

Scant sunlight to revive

Our long, dark night of the soul

From awareness of a world in which

Evil deeds are most noteworthy

And war is ever on our minds

Oh, Light of the World

Enlighten our dark, weary world

With the light of your illuminating love

This Hanukkah

This Christmas