Parkland Press

Thursday, August 17, 2017

Chosen Words

Thursday, May 25, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Rhymes

If poems do not rhyme, it seems, they make no sense to me.

I read them, then I wonder what I was supposed to see.

I read along and try to follow what the author ponders;

But somehow I get lost between the “hithers” and the “yonders.”

Rhyming keeps the reader straight and lets him know that soon,

The culmination of the words will quickly end the tune.

The rhythm of a poem seems to carry every note.

To always have a poem rhyme would surely get my vote!

You’re never left there hanging; It’s completed every time;

volunteer opportunities

Thursday, May 18, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

·Northeast Ministry, Bethlehem, needs volunteers to assist with the facilitation of its older youth program.

Contact Paula Johnson at 610-691-3355 or johnsonp@northeastministry.com.

·Sharecare Faith in Action, Bethlehem, is looking for volunteer drivers age 18 and older to help safely transport people who are elderly or disabled to and from doctor appointments and with grocery shopping in the Lehigh Valley.

Contact Cheryl Wilson at 610-867-2177 or sharecare8@aol.com.

Editor’s View

Thursday, May 18, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Beware the results of unsecured technological advancements

Many things in life are like a double-edged sword.

A mother’s love can be warm and nurturing. That same “love” can be smothering and controlling.

Fathers and others who coach youth sports teams can draw out the best from young players, or they can be overbearing tyrants more interested in winning than teaching skills that can be used throughout life.

Water and fire are necessary for life. They also can be devastating and deadly.

VINTAGE YEARS Life’s burdens need not defeat us

Thursday, May 18, 2017 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK in Opinion

Whenever I see an ad or a label proclaiming, “One size fits all,” I know the item will fit almost nobody. At least it won’t fit very well.

I get the same feeling when I hear cliché phrases meant to encourage or sympathize.

Recently, I heard a woman tell an acquaintance who had just lost her 11-year-old son, “God never gives us more burdens than we can bear.”

The bereaved mother became irate.

“I disagree. This is much more than I can handle,” she retorted.

Letter to the editor

Thursday, May 18, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

We should just have one organization: Scouting

To the Editor:

Many years ago when I was a Scoutmaster of a Troop, I could not get any help. So I asked if I could have some willing Den Mothers from the Cub Scout Pack to help with the Boy Scout Troop.

I was told Boy Scouts was for men and boys only. Well, after a few years, we all know how that turned out.

With the way so many in America feel about equality, I think we should just have Scouting.

Boy and girls together learning the same skills for the most part.

Chosen Words

Thursday, May 18, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To All the Friends I’ve Known

Or’e all the years that I have lived with

people passing through it

I made a lot of friends along the way.

I can’t remember ALL their names,

but I remember how we played.

As kids we played the simple games,

like jacks, marbles and ball;

We played Simon says, hide and seek, hop scotch and tried hard not to fall.

We played a game called Russia;

not political at all,

We simply threw a tennis ball

upon a solid wall.

You had to go through different things like throw it up and down,

Editorial

Thursday, May 4, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Obscene, profane and vulgar

Many Americans have been astonished the media are allowing the use of words which, until just a few years ago, were considered off-limits.

Readers are certainly more tolerant and less shocked than when I started my journalism career nearly 57 years ago.

The same is true of other media, too.

The word “virgin” in the 1953 movie, “The Moon Is Blue,” caused such a national scandal that it resulted in its being condemned by the Roman Catholic Church.

Remember when Lucy and Desi, despite being married with children, slept in separate beds?

Another View

Thursday, May 4, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Firearms do not belong in the hands of teachers and other school personnel

The Pennsylvania Senate Education Committee recently approved Senate Bill 383, sponsored by Sen. Don White, R-41st, of Indiana County.

This bill, which would allow school directors to establish a policy for allowing personnel access to firearms in school buildings or on school grounds, would amend the Public School Code of 1949.

Senate Bill 383, which passed the committee with a 9-3 vote, will now go to the full Senate for final approval.

volunteer Opportunities

Thursday, May 4, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

·Allentown School District Foundation needs volunteers, age 25 and older, to read to kindergarten students once a week during the school year.

Contact Susan Williams at 484-765-4093 or williamssu@allentownsd.org.

·Cedarbrook Nursing Home, Fountain Hill, needs a volunteer to play hymns one hour a week for Sunday church service.

Contact Kerry Magliane at 610-336-5684 or kerrymagliane@lehighcounty.org.

CHOSEN WORDS

Thursday, May 4, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Pink Confetti

Pink confetti caught up by the breezes

Pink confetti falling from the trees

Japanese cherry and flowering crab petals

Caught in a whirlwind of simple ease

Pink confetti disperses into flower beds,

driveways and lawns

Celebrating May with its decent

A May Pole exuberance not witnessed

since fall when leaves are strewn

in similar swirls

A joy to watch for us all

Pink Confetti ...

Splendid reminder

of May’s celebration

D.J. Hausman-Hill Lititz