Parkland Press

Friday, March 23, 2018

Angels abound this season, even in public restrooms

Wednesday, December 27, 2017 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK in Opinion

’Tis the season for warnings.

We can’t open our bank statements or bills or newspapers and magazines without seeing bold-print messages about being scammed or robbed while we are out and about shopping and celebrating.

We are told to guard our credit cards. Hang on to wallets and purses. Beware of street-corner mailboxes. Watch out for the gas pump, too.

I concede some “bad guys” are out to get us as we are caught up in the hustle and bustle of festivities, but I also think the good guys outnumber the bad.

And not just because Santa is watching.

Guest View

Wednesday, December 27, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Mass incarceration equates to modern day slavery

The U.S. houses one out of every 100 American in prison and pays for it with our tax dollars. All Americans have a civic duty of learning the history and system behind incarceration in the United States.

According to all faiths, we as citizens have a religious duty to reform the prison system and help the incarcerated, whether they are Muslims or the non-Muslims.

However, there are numerous verses in the Qur’an and narrations of the Prophet Muhammad to provide food, love and to treat captives well.

Another View

Wednesday, December 27, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Bullying needs to stop

My heart sunk recently when I read news stories about two young girls killing themselves after enduring weeks of bullying at their schools.

In the first story by Ashley Michels of Fox 31, Denver, Colo., the reporter tells of Ashawnty Davis, a fifth grader, who hung herself after she was seen defending herself in a bullying incident caught on video and posted to the app

In the second by Elizabeth Chuck of NBC News, Freddie Avila of Yucaipa, Calif., said his daughter, Rosie, hung herself after being bullied at school and on social media.

volunteer opportunities

Wednesday, December 6, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

·Center For Animal Health and Welfare, Easton, is seeking volunteers to walk dogs, assist with morning cleanings, attend off site events to promote the shelter, cat and dog enrichment and general shelter help.

If interested in helping, contact Walt Hoffman at 610-252-7722, ext. 4 or email

·Lehigh Valley Charter High School for the Arts, 321 E. Third St., Bethlehem, is seeking volunteers to work in the school’s box office for the 2017-18 performance season. Volunteers may choose which music, theater, dance and theatrical ice shows.

Another view

Wednesday, December 6, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Whichever holiday you celebrate, be sure to make it a good one

This Oct. 13 at the Values Voter Summit in Washington, D.C., President Donald Trump said, “We’re saying ‘Merry Christmas’ again.”

I didn’t realize the White House and Americans stopped saying this. We didn’t actually.

At our workplaces, at our churches, at our family and friends’ gatherings and even at department stores, we still say “Merry Christmas.”

On many shopping trips, sales associates often have wished me a “Merry Christmas.”

Chosen Words

Wednesday, December 6, 2017 by The Press in Opinion


Holidays are wonderful;

they put you in the mood;

Fun and family gatherings,

and tons of fattening food.

There’s turkey, ham and candied yams,

cranberry sauce galore.

Cakes and pies and cookies, too,

and always so much more

The food is very plentiful, in fact,

there’s way too much;

But, we keep eating more and more,

’til everyone is stuffed!

After all have eaten, it’s time to clean the mess.

The women have to do it,

’cause the men won’t help, I guess.

The men sit down and watch TV,

another view

Tuesday, November 21, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Snapchat — Fun or dangerous?

Snapchat is a quickly growing social media platform which allows people to send pictures or short videos, called snaps, to friends.

The most popular feature is these snaps only last a few seconds and then disappear. It’s great for people like me who insist their pets are the cutest but don’t want to inundate Facebook and Instagram with cat pictures for fear of being a bother.

Instead, I just take a quick photo of my kittens, send it to a few interested friends and then it’s gone.

However, the impermanence and fleeting nature of this program has bred new dangers.

Guest View

Tuesday, November 21, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Stay safe in winter

The winter season ushers in frigid temperatures, cozy sweaters and decorative snowfalls. While these gifts from Mother Nature make it easy to fall into the fun of the season, it is important to remember the basics in terms of keeping yourself healthy and safe during this time of year.

Falls, fractures and overexertion-related injuries are most common in the winter. These injuries often occur when people strain their back, neck and/or shoulder while pushing or shoveling snow.

Guest View I

Thursday, November 16, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Day’s school safety security bill now law

Gov. Tom Wolf has allowed my legislation, House Bill 178, to lapse into law and become the Public School Code of the 2017-18 budget package.

Overall, I am pleased that important measures to allow schools to better prepare for safety and security threats, along with other significant improvements to our educational system.

Our children and their education must be at the forefront when we consider any type of public policy.