Parkland Press

Sunday, October 21, 2018

CHOSEN WORDS

Wednesday, August 15, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Just Listen

If you know someone who is suffering alone

And calls you to tell you their grief;

Don’t criticize or say you are busy,

Give them relief,

Just listen!

Let them tell you their story and get it all out;

Even if you’ve heard it before.

When someone is suffering,

they need you to care

So, open your heart,

Just listen!

As people get older, they seem to repeat,

and say the same things all the time.

If it makes no sense or has no reason or rhyme,

Be a good person,

Just listen!

Editor’s View

Thursday, August 9, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Is it really worth driving around those barricades?

As the rain continued to fall Friday night and our local waterways rose ever higher, emergency personnel sounded the alarm, alerting residents a flash flood warning was in effect.

Cue the thunder, lightning and blinding downpours.

All phones in my house began to blare with the emergency notification, a signal not easily ignored. Police and fire departments posted messages on social media to tell residents of road closings due to creeks and streams spilling over their banks.

In the Lehigh Valley, 3-plus inches of rain had fallen from noon Friday to 8 a.m. Saturday.

Chosen Words

Thursday, August 9, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

People

There are millions of people in the world,

In every corner of the earth,

Each person has his own values,

Each person has his own worth.

Amazingly, we are different,

There are no two alike;

Except twins, of course,

They look alike, and sound alike,

But, may not think alike

Each person has his own mind;

To plan his own destiny.

Each one sets his own goals in life,

Including you and me.

Some people become scientists,

Doctors, nurses, too.

Artists, lawyers, teachers,

GUEST VIEW

Thursday, August 9, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Programs help adults, children obtain farmers market produce

Please cut out this article and post at your workplaces, faith-based organizations, banks and post offices — but more importantly, give it to people you know who would help WIC recipients and seniors. Many may not receive this paper to know about this program.

The WIC Farmers Market Nutrition Program and Senior Farmers Market Nutrition Program provide WIC recipients and low-income seniors with fresh, nutritious, unprepared, locally grown fruits, vegetables and herbs from approved farmers in Pennsylvania.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, August 1, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The Anguish of August

Oppressive heat defines these days

Plants parched by lack of rain

Suffer dehydration unto death

While we humans succumb

to a malaise of sloth

What we face in our world:

Rampant corporate greed at high levels

Unemployed workers as Labor Day nears

Farmers whose crops are a loss

Drought here

Floods in other lands

Wars and rumors of wars

All of this produces for us

Not the cooler air of September

Not clear rational minds

But rather ...

The Anguish of August

D.J. Hausman-Hill

Lititz

Another view

Wednesday, August 1, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Share a beer with a friend on International Beer Day Aug. 3

“What care I how time advances? I am drinking ale today.” -Edgar Allan Poe

Beer lovers around the world are looking forward to a different kind of holiday. International Beer Day (IBD) will be celebrated Aug. 3 this year.

According to the official International Beer Day website, this event has taken place the first Friday in August since its inception in 2007, and is celebrated in 200 cities globally, 80 countries and six continents. The day is intended to “unite the world through beer.”

volunteer OPPORTUNITIES

Wednesday, August 1, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·American Heart Association/American Stroke Association, Bethlehem, is looking for individuals to volunteer at the 2018 Lehigh Valley Heart Walk Sept. 22. We will provide lunch. Event will be held at ArtsQuest SteelStacks on Founders Way. Contact Andrea King, 484-245-6262, andrea.king@heart.org.

·ArtsQuest, Bethlehem, needs volunteers as it celebrates its 35th anniversary of Musikfest, a volunteer-driven festival benefiting Lehigh Valley and surrounding communities.

Sign up at artsquest.org/volunteer.

Children sometimes have to make mistakes to learn from them

Wednesday, August 1, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Over the years, I have written about how my three (now adult) children have vacillated between thinking their parents are bumbling idiots to believing that we are seers full of enlightenment and wisdom. As I move from being the parent to the consultant/coach for our youngest child, my ideas or suggestions are often met with “Yes, mother! I know that, mother!”

Clearly, we are currently in bumbling idiot mode.

My son moved out of his college apartment last May along with three of his roommates. The one remaining guy stayed until August.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, July 25, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The Roads of Life

There are many hills and valleys throughout life,

Just like the roads we travel;

There are many situations

That one must sometimes unravel.

We roll along and things are smooth

When suddenly there’s a bump!

We have to slow down and work things out,

Until we are over the hump.

Many times we’ve driven around and found,

A very curvy road ahead that we must get around;

As life itself can throw us curves

From which we must re-bound.

Sometimes we drive across a bridge

To get to the other side;