Parkland Press

Tuesday, December 11, 2018

Guest View I

Wednesday, October 10, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

National Newspaper Week, Oct. 7-13

Newspapers explore many of the topics that affect your senses.

The stories we report may get your blood rushing, wrinkle your brow, inspire you to call a friend about an event or simply entice you to relax and read about your favorite team that pulled out a victory destined to be a loss.

We cover the hard stuff. As curious watchdogs who investigate and report the truth, we are sometimes taken down any number of roads that may not be very popular.

National Fire Prevention week

Thursday, October 4, 2018 by DEBRA PALMIERI in Opinion

OCTOBER 7-13

According to the National Fire Prevention Association website, this year’s National Fire Prevention Week, Oct. 7-13, campaign, “Look. Listen. Learn. Be aware. Fire can happen anywhere,” is about educating people on the three basic but essential steps to take to reduce the likelihood of having a fire — and how to escape safely in the event of one:

LOOK

Look for places fire could start. Take a good look around your home. Identify potential fire hazards and take care of them.

LISTEN

Chosen Words

Thursday, October 4, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Fireman’s Prayer

National Fire Prevention Week

October 7-13

When I am called to duty, God,

Whenever flames may rage;

Give me strength to save some life,

Whatever be its age.

Help me embrace a little child

Before it is too late

Or save an older person

From the horror of that fate.

Enable me to be alert

And hear the weakest shout,

And quickly and efficiently

To put the fire out.

I want to fill my calling

And to give the best in me

To guard my every neighbor

And protect his property.

Another view

Thursday, October 4, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A voice for the millions

Many Americans tuned in Sept. 27 to live coverage of the testimony hearing of Dr. Christine Blasey Ford and Supreme Court Justice nominee and U.S. Circuit Judge Brett Kavanaugh before the Senate Judiciary Committee.

If you were like me, you were hanging on to every word of Blasey Ford and Kavanaugh.

Additionally, if you were like me, you were personally familiar with the actions (or similar actions), responses and feelings she described of the alleged summer 1982 sexual assault in Maryland.

There have been two other women who made allegations against Kavanaugh as well.

Guest View

Thursday, September 27, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

‘Unopposed’ is key word in state House races

In a year when both major political parties are underscoring the importance of the midterm elections, 41 percent of all Pennsylvania House of Representatives seats are not contested going into the Nov. 6 general election.

That’s right: 83 of the 203 seats have just one candidate, usually the incumbent (the person already holding the office).

The Democrats have been much more successful than the Republicans in filling ballot positions. The rate has been 2 to 1.

There are no Republicans in 56 state House districts and no Democrats in 27 others.

VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

Wednesday, September 26, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·Bethlehem Special Olympics needs volunteers to work one-on-one or in small groups with their athletes in the pool. Practices are 6 to 8 p.m. Tuesdays starting in October. The greatest need is first shift 6 to 7 p.m. Volunteers must be strong swimmers, but do not need to know all strokes; freestyle, side stroke and treading water are a must. Volunteers must complete their Class A Volunteer process which includes a background check if over age 18 and a few online trainings.

Call Dana Lindsey at 610-264-3616 or volunteers@bethlehemsopa.org.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, September 26, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Only yes means yes

The year Jeanne Anne Clery was raped and murdered in her dorm room at Lehigh University, I was a freshman at nearby Moravian College in Bethlehem.

On April 5, 1986, Clery awoke during an attempted robbery by Josoph Henry, a fellow student at Lehigh, who beat, cut, raped, sodomized and strangled her. She was a freshman. He was a sophomore.

During his trial, he claimed alcohol consumption caused his crime. The state rejected the argument. He is serving a life sentence in prison.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, September 26, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Autumn Leaves

When autumn leaves begin to fall,

That’s when my heart aches most of all.

Because, that’s when God took you home,

And left me here, all alone.

I knew that you were very sick,

But didn’t think you’d leave so quick,

I know that you have gone to stay,

But you’re not very far away.

I feel you deep within my heart,

We’re never really far apart.

When autumn leaves begin to fall,

The teardrops fall as well,

That’s when I miss you most of all,

When autumn leaves begin to fall.

Shirley Binkley

VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

Thursday, September 20, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·American Heart/ American Stroke Association, Bethlehem, is looking for volunteers for the 2018 Lehigh Valley Heart Walk Sept. 22. Volunteers are needed 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. Help is needed to set up, man tents, water stations and walk route as well as cleanup. Lunch will be provided. Event will be held at ArtsQuest SteelStacks on Founders Way.

Call Andrea King at 484-245-6262 or andrea.king@heart.org.