Parkland Press

Friday, June 23, 2017

Chosen Words

Wednesday, April 5, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The Book of Life

The book of life goes quickly by, the pages ever turning,

our future ever changing; our minds forever learning.

As science keeps advancing, our knowledge keeps expanding.

I say — turn back the pages!

Go back to days of yesteryear, when people had the time to care.

The days of 5-cent ice cream cones;

and kids were never left alone.

The days when we were satisfied,

and not embarrassed if we cried.

Turn back the pages!

When families were the living dream,

when marriage was forever.

another view

Wednesday, April 5, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Fishing: it’s not just about dinner

“Fishing is much more than fish. It is the great occasion when we may return to the fine simplicity of our forefathers.” – Herbert Hoover

***

I’ve only gone fishing three times in my life. The opening day of trout season in the Lehigh Valley Saturday got me to thinking, though, about the attraction and significance of the sport.

I only recall going fishing with my father one time. We were on a family vacation, and he took four of us, ranging in age from about 5 to 10, to fish along a creek bank. I was 9.

Guest View

Wednesday, April 5, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The fall of Trumpcare It was about Obama not Obamacare

The Bible warns that pride goeth before the fall. When Trump ran for office he said the Affordable Care Act, disparagingly referred to Obamacare, was a disaster and would collapse under its own weight and that when he becomes president he would fix it day one.

He said it would be beautiful. Well, he failed. But the reason for the failure started not when Trump allied himself with Paul Ryan, it started on the day Obama became president.

Chosen Words

Thursday, March 30, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

We’re sitting here awaiting, the winter’s last snowfall,

Despite the peril it can bring, we always watch in awe.

The silence of the falling flakes

As they descend upon the lakes;

It casts a spell upon us all, as we sit here and watch them fall.

The snowfall is so humbling, so pure, so fresh, so white;

We almost hate to see it go, but it will soon take flight.

It must make way for summer; it mixes our emotions.

We start to think about the warmth and all the summer notions.

The colors bursting everywhere, as flowers nudge the ground,

Guest View

Thursday, March 30, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Stigma, shame often bar Muslims from seeking help for addictions

Alcohol and drug abuse is a serious community issue as well as global public health and medical problem affecting every faith and demographic group.

It is also a highly stigmatizing problem especially among Muslim populations, which limits the data collection and research.

We, as a Muslim community, have failed miserably to address forcefully the problem of substance abuse and have shoved it in the closet.

Substance abuse is frequently found in Islamic countries as well as in the luxury villas of Florida and California.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, March 30, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Punishment for littering has to hurt in order to be effective

I remember the commercial from my childhood: a Native American standing roadside, a tear rolling down his cheek as he sees the beauty of the landscape stripped away by litter.

That public service announcement, part of the Keep America Beautiful campaign, first aired in 1971.

LIVING THE VINTAGE YEARS

Thursday, March 23, 2017 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK in Opinion

March into spring

The old gray sweatshirt now has a hole.

Given to me more than 50 years ago, it looks like something I should be using to scrub the kitchen floor.

Yet I still wear it around the house and have no plans to banish the shirt to the rag bag.

Why? Because in faded letters it proclaims across the front, “I act different because I am different.”

The friend who gave me that sweatshirt really knew me. Truer words would be hard, if not impossible, to find.

VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

Wednesday, March 22, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

· American Cancer Society, Greater Lehigh Valley, needs volunteers age 21 and older to drive cancer patients to scheduled treatments. Drivers must have a valid driver’s license, a good driving record, a reliable vehicle and proof of insurance, complete a background check and driver check and attend a brief orientation.

Contact Jennifer Washney at 570-562-9749, ext. 320 or email Jennifer.washney@cancer.org.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, March 22, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Spring

Though April showers are coming your way,

Do not despair, do not dismay.

For they shall induce to your cheerful surprise,

A rainbow of color in front of your eyes.

Each raindrop that splashes will nurture a seed,

that lies there awaiting to fulfill its need,

to flourish and blossom and poke up its head,

to sculpture the beauty in each flower bed.

The days will lengthen; the nights grow short;

the bitter cold weather soon will abort.

The blazing sunshine, the flowers in bloom,