Parkland Press

Thursday, August 17, 2017

Guest View

Thursday, April 27, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Our role in reducing atmospheric carbon

Earth Week offered Lehigh Valley residents the opportunity to hear two environmental experts speak, Dr. George Woodwell from the Woods Hole Research Center, and Bill McKibben, founder of 350.org.

I was fortunate to hear both.

Their work, research and message emphasize the same thing: we all need to do something to lessen the amount of carbon in our atmosphere.

For so many, that seems like a daunting task. Most of us are everyday people with jobs, families and a multitude of other responsibilities.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, April 27, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Should girls be allowed in the Boy Scouts of America?

I recently read the story of 15-year-old Sydney Ireland, of New York, who had petitioned the Boy Scouts of America to allow girls into the organization.

Sydney had attended Cub Scouts with her brother “unofficially” since she was very young. She was not able to earn any of the recognition or badges her older brother earned because she is female.

Her brother is now an Eagle Scout.

According to news reports, Sydney went as far as she could with Cub Scouts, later joined the South African Scouts and then achieved the highest rank with the Canadian Scouts.

Chosen Words

Thursday, April 27, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Wild Flowers

While driving down the highway,

They suddenly appeared.

I didn’t see them yesterday,

But sure enough they’re here!

Wild flowers, wild flowers,

Bloomin’ here and there.

Kaleidoscopes of color popping

Up most everywhere.

Wonder where they came from?

Just poked up through the ground.

They pushed away the blades of grass

And spread themselves around.

Although most people like them,

Some seem to think they’re weeds.

I choose to think we’re blessed with them

Guest View II

Thursday, April 27, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Demand facts — support real news

The term “news media” can mean a lot of different things these days but at the Pennsylvania NewsMedia Association, the news media we work with are Pennsylvania’s newspapers and online-only news publications.

There are 77 daily newspapers in Pennsylvania, more than 175 nondaily publications, including college newspapers and a significant number of online-only news sites.

Election Policy

Thursday, April 27, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 16 Municipal Primary Election, the Parkland Press and the Northwestern Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials is the April 20 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Letters to the Editor supporting a candidate must be received by The Press no later than by 5 p.m. April 28.

Election Policy

Wednesday, April 19, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 16 Municipal Primary Election, the Parkland Press and the Northwestern Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt the publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials is the April 20 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Letters to the Editor supporting a candidate must be received by The Press no later than by 5 p.m. April 28.

LIVING THE VINTAGE YEARS

Wednesday, April 19, 2017 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK in Opinion

Achieve immortality

When I looked at the calendar this morning, I realized today is my late husband’s birthday.

It’s hard to believe he is dead for more years than we were married, because in many ways he influenced my life and thus continues to live in me.

Because of him, I stopped biting my nails. For the first 22 years of my life I was a consummate fingernail chewer.

Erasers and rubber dolls were not safe in my presence, either.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, April 19, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Story of a lifetime can sometimes come before high school graduation

On April 3, Amy Robertson, newly named principal of Pittsburg High School in Kansas, resigned.

An investigation into Robertson’s background uncovered questionable credentials.

And the best part?

Student journalists for Booster Redux, the high school newspaper at Pittsburg High, conducted the investigation.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, April 19, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Birds

Do you ever think about the birds?

We hear them every day.

Do you ever listen to the birds?

Do you wonder what they say?

Do you wonder what they chat about?

Do you wonder how they play?

At night they seem to hover ’round

to choose their resting place;

They seem to chatter endlessly and

then there’s not a trace

of sound, it seems they’re resting now

until tomorrow comes, and then they will

awaken and they soon will start to hum.

Do you wonder why they fly around?

Do you wonder where they go?