Parkland Press

Friday, October 20, 2017

Chosen Words

Thursday, July 20, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

God’s World

It truly is God’s world! I thank him every day, as I awake

And see the sun as nighttime rolls away.

When I arise each morning, there’s color everywhere;

The trees, the grass, the flowers, all swaying in the air,

The colors of the rainbow reflecting from the sun,

The vast blue sky, with wispy clouds, they float by one by one.

The shades of green are varied, and as you look around,

The yellows, reds, and purples are poking through the ground.

The time of year won’t matter; in summer, spring or fall,

Guest View

Wednesday, July 12, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Protect yourself against identity theft

It is a sobering fact to learn that more than 10 million Americans annually have their personal information stolen by identity thieves.

That is why it is more important than ever for individuals to safeguard their personal information.

Identity theft can devastate a person’s finances and credit rating, which can impact one’s ability to get a loan, purchase a car or even get a job.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, July 12, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

I Wonder

I wonder ‘bout a lot of things,

I wonder every day,

I wonder why we fight and kill,

Just to have our way.

I wonder why our Lord don’t stop

The ugliness we see;

I wonder why the world has changed,

And why it has to be.

I wonder what protesters feel

As they march along and scream;

I wonder what they scream about,

Or if they ever dream.

There is a LOT to shout about,

There’s love and hope and joy!

I wonder if all people

Could find love they could employ.

Another view

Wednesday, July 12, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Engage your child’s mind!

Ahhh … it’s the summer — when kids rejoice in having no homework, assignments and school responsibilities for a few months.

But is that really a good thing? A New York Times Op-Ed contributor says no, it’s not, according to a July 27, 2011, article.

Jeff Smink said, “If students are not engaged in learning over the summer, they lose skills in math and reading. Summers off are one of the most important, yet least acknowledged, causes of underachievement in our schools.”

Guest View

Wednesday, July 12, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Dangerous road conditions arise from downpours AAA East Central offers rainy day driving tips

With more summer rain in the forecast, AAA East Central reminds motorists that driving in adverse weather conditions requires preparation, good tires, well-maintained brakes, and streak-free wipers. To maximize driving safety be aware of road conditions, reduce speed appropriately, and be prepared for challenging situations.

Chosen Words

Thursday, July 6, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

I believe in all things good,

I believe in doing as you should.

I believe all people are good,

Some are simply misunderstood.

I believe in helping each other,

I believe in loving one another.

I believe in broken hearts

I believe in brand-new starts.

I believe that hearts can heal,

I believe that God is real.

I believe in Santa Clause,

Although he’s just a myth.

I’ll always think it’s Santa, who

Brings us all our gifts.

I believe in love at first sight,

I believe in moonlit nights.

Chosen Words

Thursday, June 29, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A Patriotic March

God bless America!

She means so much to me

Glory laud and honor, and love for my country.

Our forefathers died for us,

so we could be free,

With their lives they paid the price, for our liberty!

Hail to our red, white and blue

Always hold them close to you.

Proudly fly our flag on high —

let it lead the way

As we proudly stand and say,

I LOVE THE USA!

Come, march along with me.

Come along and sing,

Let our flag forever wave and

LET OUR FREEDOM RING!!!

Shirley Binkley

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, June 29, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Kempton Fair on its way to becoming official state fair

To The Editor:

The 2017 Kempton Fair — three days of viewing beautifully formed and cared-for livestock; graphic, horticultural, and culinary artistic expression; regionally famous musical talent; kids having non-computer-based fun with rides, games, and theater; fire-spewing truck and tractor power pulls and truck drag races; startlingly impressive fireworks; grown men trying to look like Willie Nelson; beautifully restored farm and garden implements; impressive new farming equipment; and, of course, amazing food to eat!

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, June 29, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

It takes a village

Last week, people took to social media about an incident in the Village of Hokendauqua, Whitehall Township.

A neighborhood block had been taped off by police, cruisers and other emergency vehicles lined the street, and word spread that the coroner had been called to the scene because two bodies were discovered there.

Some surmised online that it was an overdose. Some suspected a murder-suicide. The latter might have seemed a bit far-fetched had Whitehall not had such a tragedy the week before.

Editor’s View

Thursday, June 22, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

EDITOR’S VIEW:Politicians need to call an extended Christmas Truce to their rancor

Snoopy’s Christmas

“Christmas bells, those Christmas bells Ring out from the land

“Asking peace of all the world

And good will to man ...

“The Baron had Snoopy dead in his sights

“He reached for the trigger to pull it up tight Why he didn’t shoot, well, we’ll never know...

“The Baron made Snoopy fly to the Rhine And forced him to land behind the enemy lines

“Snoopy was certain that this was the end ...

“When the Baron cried out, “Merry Christmas, my friend!” “The Baron then offered a holiday toast