Parkland Press

Monday, June 18, 2018

A community of ‘ones’

Wednesday, March 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

In the aftermath of tragic events, I tend to feel very helpless and small.

Even though my every day is jam packed with activities that serve to improve the quality of life for others, I feel as if I somehow failed.

It sounds a bit ridiculous because I could never directly make a difference for every single person out there, especially those who live far away and have no connection to me.

Guest View

Wednesday, March 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Are you owed unclaimed property?

The Pennsylvania Treasury Department is currently holding more than $3.2 billion in unclaimed property, with about one in 10 residents eligible to recoup that property.

And one of those individuals could be you.

In fact, in 2013, our office helped one local person claim $577,662 that was in a mutual fund held by his mother, who passed away in 2003.

Unclaimed property is any financial asset that has been left inactive by the owner for a period of three years or more. If no lawful owner claims the property at that time, it is transferred to the treasury.

ANOTHER VIEW

Wednesday, March 21, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

‘All truths are easy to understand once discovered; the point is to discover them.’ (Galileo Galilei)

It’s been a big week in space, so to speak.

An American astronaut was found to have altered his genes through space travel, the science and space savvy the world over celebrated the 16th letter of the Greek alphabet, and a luminary scientist left us for worlds unknown.

Not that earthbound news did not keep headline readers and writers busy.

Guest View

Wednesday, March 21, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Redistricting discussed by Pennsylvania House Speaker

Sen. Joe Scarnati, as the Pennsylvania Senate Pro Tempore, and I, as speaker of the Pennsylvania House, filed an emergency application for a stay with the United States Supreme Court on Feb. 21.

Our application makes clear the Pennsylvania Supreme Court did not have the power to invalidate the constitutional, democratically passed congressional map.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, March 14, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Possessed

I am possessed by the words in my head.

I’d rather be sleeping in bed, instead.

They haunt me and taunt me, and drive me insane,

Until I get up and start writing again.

I sort of enjoy all those words, in some way,

It’s fun, and I’m anxious to see what I say!!

The words keep on coming, time after time,

The words continue to end in a rhyme.

I tried to give up, but that didn’t work;

I started to feel like I was a jerk.

Someone was feeding me words I could share,

And suddenly, I didn’t seem to care!

vOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

Wednesday, March 14, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·Center For Animal Health and Welfare, Easton, is seeking volunteers to walk dogs, assist with morning cleanings, attend off-site events to promote the shelter, cat and dog enrichment and general shelter help.

If interested, contact Walt Hoffman at 610-252-7722 ext. 4 or cahwvolunteercoordinator@rcn.com.

·Equi-Librium Inc., Nazareth, needs volunteers age 14 and older to be horse leaders and side helpers to assist during horseback riding and cart driving lessons for children and adults with special needs.

Another view

Wednesday, March 14, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Gap Inc. normalizes breast-feeding

I’m one happy Gap customer. Not only do the company’s jeans fit me well, its ad posted online featuring a mother breast-feeding her child made me especially happy and proud.

During a recent photo shoot, Adaora Akubilo, the model in the photo, paused a moment during the shoot to breast-feed her son Arinze, who got hungry while she was working. The mother and son moment was posted on Instagram Feb. 22 with two photos and the hashtag #LoveByGapBody.

Some of the comments to the photos posted on Gap’s Instagram page include:

Guest View

Wednesday, March 14, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Sunshine Week: March 11-17

Truth. Facts. Transparency. Simple words that shine even more brightly as we celebrate Sunshine Week.

This appropriately named week, organized 13 years ago by The American Society of Newspaper Editors and Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press, helps all of us realize the importance of what freedom of information truly means.

Information belongs in the hands of the people, and officials of government should never shield the public from this constitutional right.

Guest view

Wednesday, March 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

School property tax elimination act progresses

I want to provide constituents of the 40th Senate District with the latest update regarding the school property tax elimination fight in Harrisburg and what to expect in the near future.

Citizens across the commonwealth voted Nov. 7, 2017, to support the expansion of the state’s existing Homestead Exclusion program, allowing for up to 100 percent elimination of school property taxes on owner-occupied homes. Passage of the referendum was the first step in providing this critical elimination.