Parkland Press

Friday, June 23, 2017

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, March 22, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Reader searching for local hero

To the Editor:

The March 15 East Penn Press carried an Another View (by Susan Bryant, Parkland Press editorial assistant) with the headline “How Altruistic Are You?”

Well, there’s one man in our town who is very altruistic indeed.

On Sunday afternoon, I was working in my home office and spotted the FedEx truck outside.

I had been anticipating a return shipment of my personal journals — covering my life from 1980 to 1982 — from a Utah company called Legacy Scribes, which was helping me with a memoir project. (I work as a book author.)

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, March 22, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Maybe the Secret Service should watch ‘The Wild, Wild West’

During the late 1960s, and now in playing in reruns, the television series “The Wild, Wild West” featured two Secret Service agents, James West, played by Robert Conrad, and Artemus Gordon, played by Ross Martin.

In 1999, the futuristic western, set in the late 1860s and ’70s, was made into a movie featuring Will Smith as West and Kevin Kline as Gordon.

Through the use of Jules Verne-sque gadgets and weapons, the duo were tasked with protecting the 18th president of the United States, Ulysses S. Grant, and saving the country from the evildoers of all stripes.

GUEST VIEW

Tuesday, March 14, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Trees are valuable resource for future health of the planet

In “Another View” for Feb. 22, Stacey Koch pushed for urgent action to counter climate change.

A part of this action should be the protection of the trees that we have across the state of Pennsylvania. Pennsylvania is “Penn’s Woods.”

The people of our state cherish their properties, their trees, their shrubs. Would you want it to be otherwise?

We understand the need to cut trees to maintain the reliability of the electric grid and to generate lumber, but we would like to make a plea for less aggressive tree clearing by electricity and commercial logging companies.

Another View

Tuesday, March 14, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

How altruistic are you?

Every day, someone becomes a victim of a crime. And, then there are those who risk their own lives and safety to help those in need.

When Daniel DeTurck, of Reading, Berks County, saw an Amber Alert Jan. 3 on his phone asking the public’s help to locate an infant abducted by alleged murder suspect Antonio Velazquez-Rupert, DeTurck didn’t hesitate to help.

When DeTurck, a security guard, saw a vehicle matching the description in the Amber Alert, he dialed 911 and took off after the vehicle — with no thought for his own safety or personal situation.

CHOSEN WORDS

Tuesday, March 14, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Gusts of Change

Words portray the month of March

Lion...lamb... kites that arch

blown high by gusts of wind

that sail lofty colors

in brilliant contrast

against stark beige earth

Earth soon to become green again

When soaked by April rain

Ah, this month when earth awakens

And birth begets spring

spring… that anxiously awaited season of our hearts

when bulbs and buds emerge from winter’s sleep

A portend of awaiting millennial change

Gusts of change soon to move us to new days...new ways

VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

Tuesday, March 14, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

·Allentown Rescue Mission has an immediate need for volunteers to make the annual gala event happen. If you love planning events, help is needed with silent and live auctions, setup and decorations, greeting and registration and centerpiece committees. Gala committee meetings are being held weekly. The date of the event is April 8 at DeSales University.

Call Deirdre Federico at 610-740-5500, ext. 22 or email dfederico@armpa.org.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, March 8, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A very ‘Lucky’ adventure

Everyone loves a little adventure now and then, especially when you are a 3-1/2-year-old black-and-tan tabby named Lucky from Lower Macungie.

Oh, and did I mention he is blind?

Lucky’s adventure began around 1:15 a.m. March 1, somehow living the life of an escape artist and leaving the comforts of his home in the Ancient Oaks West development.

A flier was placed on social media sites and sent to various news outlets March 2 asking for help locating the escapee.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, March 8, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Colds

Along with winter comes

this thing that everyone just dreads,

It makes us feel real miserable

and settles in our heads.

Of course, I’m speaking of a cold,

that lousy little thing

That seems to follow us around

from winter into spring.

We must be very careful

and dress warmly all the times;

Although we cannot see them,

they are always on our mind.

When someone sneezes, you sure hope the germs don’t spread to you.

‘cause if you catch a cold, then you will soon be sneezing, too.

Guest View

Wednesday, March 8, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Road deicers cause $33 billion annually in vehicle rust damage

As the end of winter approaches, millions of Americans will face pricey vehicle repairs from rust damage caused by chemicals used to deice roadways.

According to a new AAA survey, U.S. drivers paid an estimated $15.4 billion in rust repairs caused by deicing methods over the last five years, or approximately $3 billion annually.

AAA warns drivers, especially the 70 percent (150 million) who live in areas affected by snow and ice, to take action to prevent dangerous rust-related vehicle damage to brake lines, fuel tanks, exhaust systems and other critical vehicle components.

ANOTHER VIEW I

Wednesday, March 1, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Wisdom in the age of dementia

Last week, former teen idol David Cassidy announced his dementia diagnosis.

According to media reports, the singer and television star, who once was the object of numerous fan clubs and had the ability to pack music venues with screaming tween and teenage girls, was struggling to remember lyrics to his songs while on tour.

Musician Glen Campbell announced his diagnosis of Alzheimer’s in June 2011 and headlined a farewell tour, with three of his children in the band, to perform for fans.