Parkland Press

Friday, December 14, 2018

Chosen Words

Wednesday, September 26, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Autumn Leaves

When autumn leaves begin to fall,

That’s when my heart aches most of all.

Because, that’s when God took you home,

And left me here, all alone.

I knew that you were very sick,

But didn’t think you’d leave so quick,

I know that you have gone to stay,

But you’re not very far away.

I feel you deep within my heart,

We’re never really far apart.

When autumn leaves begin to fall,

The teardrops fall as well,

That’s when I miss you most of all,

When autumn leaves begin to fall.

Shirley Binkley

VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

Thursday, September 20, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·American Heart/ American Stroke Association, Bethlehem, is looking for volunteers for the 2018 Lehigh Valley Heart Walk Sept. 22. Volunteers are needed 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. Help is needed to set up, man tents, water stations and walk route as well as cleanup. Lunch will be provided. Event will be held at ArtsQuest SteelStacks on Founders Way.

Call Andrea King at 484-245-6262 or andrea.king@heart.org.

Another view

Thursday, September 20, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Let’s talk about it

September is National Suicide Prevention Month.

This is a time to forget the stigma surrounding suicide and to share our stories and resources as a lifeline to others.

The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention lists suicide as the 10th leading cause of death in the United States. The World Health Organization recognizes suicide as a public health priority and reports approximately 800,000 people die from suicide every year.

Guest View

Thursday, September 20, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The latest of Pennsylvania’s REAL ID rollout

Following the events of Sept. 11, 2001, the federal government put into action a more secure form of identification, known as REAL ID, for Americans seeking to fly domestically and/or enter certain federal buildings.

Full implementation of the new requirements will go into effect Oct. 1, 2020.

Although Pennsylvania is among the last of the states to make REAL ID available, the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation is preparing to offer the new identification starting in March 2019.

Chosen Words

Thursday, September 20, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

It Couldn’t Hurt

If you know someone

Who is down and out,

And is flailing all about,

Give them a call

To say hello,

It Couldn’t Hurt.

If you know of a neighbor

Who could use a hand,

Or who needs someone to care;

Pay them a visit

And give them a hug,

It Couldn’t Hurt.

If ever you get in a situation where

You are lonely, and hoping for someone to care,

Simply fold your hands and say a prayer,

It Couldn’t Hurt.

Shirley Binkley

Cedar View Apartments

shirleybentzbinkley@gmail.com

Chosen Words

Thursday, September 13, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Monuments

Monuments are memorials

To honor brave men and women;

Who fought in battle, and gave their lives,

For Americans to live in freedom.

Today’s youth has “too much freedom of speech,”

They do not know what they say!

They trample on our Commandments,

And our Constitution they threw away!

They didn’t fight for their freedom!

It was given to them for free.

By the people who died in battle,

To save them, and you and me.

What makes them think they deserve the right

To destroy all our history?

Editor’s View

Thursday, September 13, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Lest we forget!

Tuesday was the 17th anniversary of the terrorist attacks on the Twin Towers of the World Trade Center in New York City, N.Y., the Pentagon in Arlington County, Va., and the crash of Flight 93 into a field in Shanksville, Somerset County.

On July 25, the remains of a 26-year-old man who worked at the World Trade Center were identified as a result of advanced DNA testing.

The remains of Scott Michael Johnson, which were recovered after the attack, were identified by the forensic biology division of the New York City medical examiner’s office.

Guest View

Thursday, September 13, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

More than 80 percent of older drivers aren’t talking about driving safety

Nearly 83 percent of older drivers report never speaking to a family member or physician about their driving ability, according to new research from the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety.

Of the small percentage of families who do have the conversation, 15 percent do so after a crash or traffic infraction has occurred, which could be too late.

Due to their fragility, older drivers are at a greater risk of death and injury if involved in a crash.

In 2016, more than 200,000 drivers ages 65 and older were injured in a traffic crash and more than 3,500 were killed.

VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

Thursday, September 13, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·Center For Animal Health and Welfare, Easton, is seeking volunteers to walk dogs, assist with morning cleanings, attend off-site events to promote the shelter, cat and dog enrichment and general shelter help.

Contact Walt Hoffman at 610-252-7722 ext. 4 or cahwvolunteercoordinator@rcn.com.

·Center For Vision Loss, Allentown, needs volunteers to assist clients with visual impairment during a weekly walk at the Lehigh Valley Mall 9-10:30 a.m. every Wednesday. Current FBI criminal background check is required.

Another View

Friday, September 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Brighten someone’s day, show a little kindness

I was recently touched emotionally when I read an article on nytimes.com about an Argentine police officer and another on foxnews.com on Pop star Pink, both showing kindness to young children.

The first article written by Ernesto Londono and published Aug. 23 is titled “Argentine Police Officer Promoted after Breastfeeding Neglected Baby.”

The article tells how Officer Celeste Ayala was promoted to sergeant after a photo of her breastfeeding a neglected baby at a hospital, while in uniform, went viral on the Internet.