Parkland Press

Friday, June 23, 2017

ANOTHER VIEW II

Wednesday, March 1, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Fatal road crashes involving marijuana double after state legalizes drug

Fatal crashes involving drivers who recently used marijuana doubled in Washington after the state legalized the drug, according to the latest research by the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety.

New research also shows legal limits for marijuana and driving are arbitrary and unsupported by science, which could result in unsafe motorists going free and others being wrongfully convicted of impaired driving.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, March 1, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Wouldn’t it be Nice?

Wouldn’t it be nice if there’d be peace throughout the entire land?

Wouldn’t it be nice if you meet someone, you always extend your hand?

It wouldn’t matter who they are; what color, race or creed,

It’s simply another person, and perhaps ‘one in need.’

Wouldn’t it be nice if all the protests soon came to an end?

Wouldn’t it be nice if all those folks found love, instead, to send?

Wouldn’t it be nice if we didn’t hear those words that are so ‘foul’?

One would think they dig them up from deep inside the ‘bowel.’

We need to worry about climate change now, not later

Thursday, February 23, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

“The climate is changing, it’s our fault and we got to get to work on this.” Bill Nye, scientist, in a video release for the documentary “Bill Nye the Science Guy”

“The Lord God took the man and put him in the Garden of Eden to work it and take care of it.” Genesis 2:15

“If you besiege a town for a long time, making war against it in order to take it, you must not destroy its trees by wielding an ax against them. Although you may take food from them, you must not cut them down. Are trees in the field human beings that they should come under siege from you?” Deuteronomy 20:19

Chosen Words

Thursday, February 23, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

I Remember

I remember days of old when people used to care.

I remember hopes and dreams were things one used to share.

Friends were always true to you, they always

understood,

and I remember saying things not bad, but always good.

Things today are different and people sure have

changed;

You don’t know who your friends are or who might be

deranged!

You can’t go out alone at night for fear you might be mugged.

I remember people always wanting to be hugged.

It’s really sad to think about how nice it used to be,

Another view

Thursday, February 23, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

We need to worry about climate change now, not later

“The climate is changing, it’s our fault and we got to get to work on this.” Bill Nye, scientist, in a video release for the documentary “Bill Nye the Science Guy”

“The Lord God took the man and put him in the Garden of Eden to work it and take care of it.” Genesis 2:15

“If you besiege a town for a long time, making war against it in order to take it, you must not destroy its trees by wielding an ax against them. Although you may take food from them, you must not cut them down. Are trees in the field human beings that they should come under siege from you?” Deuteronomy 20:19

For well-being, make the right move

Thursday, February 23, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

I am a person who doesn’t like change.

In our fast-changing world, that’s not a good way to be, I guess, but it’s the way I am.

Usually I don’t think about the subject much, but this past weekend three things happened that put the focus on change and got my attention.

A friend in New Jersey told me she is selling her home and car and moving to a continuing care retirement community.

Another friend, who, for financial reasons, had moved to a senior high-rise apartment and hated his new living arrangements, died.

Letter to The Editor ‘We want our elections to be fair, our votes to count and our voices to be heard’

Thursday, February 23, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

In response to the brave and angry letter of Regina Clark in last week’s Press weekly newspaper, I heard you, Regina, and I support you.

Sen. Toomey is currently very comfortable with the extreme picks of Trump and why not?

Although Sen. Toomey squeaked by in his two senatorial elections, for the next five years he can cruise.

He can’t be bothered with the concerns of his constituents.

However, a powerful beast has been unleashed within the public. He will be hunted.

A resist movement has begun that won’t be silenced, won’t be put off.

Guest view

Thursday, February 16, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

No two couples are alike

One winter evening, I dropped in on a friend for a quick visit. A cozy fire glowed in the fireplace as my friend and her husband clad in their flannel jammies cuddled under a blanket on the love seat.

They were watching one of their favorite TV shows together. Mugs of hot chocolate sat on their laps.

After some conversation about the weather and our kids, I couldn’t help but comment on the way they were spending the evening.

“Do you do this every night?” I asked kind of incredulously.

Living the Vintage Years For well-being, make the right move

Thursday, February 16, 2017 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK in Opinion

I am a person who doesn’t like change.

In our fast-changing world, that’s not a good way to be, I guess, but it’s the way I am.

Usually I don’t think about the subject much, but this past weekend three things happened that put the focus on change and got my attention.

A friend in New Jersey told me she is selling her home and car and moving to a continuing care retirement community.

Another friend, who, for financial reasons, had moved to a senior high-rise apartment and hated his new living arrangements, died.

GUEST VIEW

Thursday, February 16, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Trump’s order and the Ninth got it wrong

On Feb. 9, the political drama of President Donald Trump’s executive order took an odd turn when his opponents translated a political fight into a constitutional question and thus dragged the courts into the ring of battle.

This is nothing new. But I will leave discussion of that political truth for another day.

Trump issued an executive order stopping immigration from seven specific countries. He did so under a federal statute — 8 USC § 1182(f) which states: