Parkland Press

Friday, March 23, 2018


Wednesday, October 25, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The business of Halloween is big, $9.1 million BIG

When did purple become a Halloween color? And, for that matter, what about green?

Purple may be the harder to pinpoint. But green? The easy answer is — when Halloween became such big business.

According to statistics from the National Retail Federation and Prosper Insights and Analytics released in September, U.S. residents are expected to spend a record-breaking $9.1 billion on Halloween this year.

And that total is up a little over 8 percent from 2016 when sales touched $8.3 billion, also a record.

Travel need not end with old age

Wednesday, October 25, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Decades ago when older friends and relatives talked of meticulously-organized group tours and bus trips they had enjoyed, I silently vowed never to go that route when my husband and I became seniors. I wanted independence.

My, how we change. I was so wrong.

These days, since my husband quit driving last year and I don’t especially like being behind the wheel for more than an hour or two, we try to schedule at least one such organized excursion every month. Some months we splurge and travel twice.

Another view

Wednesday, October 18, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The debate on birth control medication needs to end

Talk to any woman you know, and there’s a good chance she has used birth control medication at some point in her life.

In fact, according to a December 2014 Center for Disease Control and Prevention article on a National Survey of Family Growth study, 2011-13, “61.7 percent of the 60.9 million women aged 15-44 in the United States were currently using contraception.”

Guest View

Wednesday, October 18, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The powerhouse that is Pennsylvania

When you think of the many things our state is famous for, energy production may not be at the top of the list; however, Pennsylvania ranks third in the nation for total energy production.

Thanks to our abundant natural resources and vast infrastructure we are an energy-producing powerhouse and have been for hundreds of years.

Pennsylvania first rose to the top of energy production due to our prosperous timber industry and plentiful coal reserves.

Letter to The Editor

Wednesday, October 18, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Writer supports Brad Osborne for Lehigh County executive

To the Editor:

I am writing as a Democrat to encourage everyone to vote for Brad Osborne as the next Lehigh County executive.

As a lifelong resident of Lehigh County and most of my life in South Whitehall, I have never met a “politician” with more integrity, class and civility.

Brad has paid his dues as a South Whitehall Township commissioner as well as a Lehigh County commissioner and is ready, willing and able to lead.

An even better person than a politician, Brad recently became a sounding board for my recently passed brother, Raymond, at Cedarbrook.


Thursday, October 12, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

‘We’re all still in this life together’

Nearly 60 people were killed and more than 400 injured Oct. 2 when 64-year-old Stephen Paddock opened fire on attendees of an outdoor country music festival in Las Vegas.

In the days since, we’ve read about or heard from survivors of the attack, who detailed the chaos and confusion during those moments.

Thousands were at this sold-out, three-day concert, Route 91 Harvest Festival, which featured country music stars such as Eric Church and Sam Hunt.

Jason Aldean was on stage when the gunfire erupted. He is said to have called the scene “beyond horrific.”

Chosen Words

Thursday, October 12, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

October 8-14

Fireman’s Prayer

When I am called

to duty, God,

Whenever flames

may rage;

Give me strength

to save some life,

Whatever be its age.

Help me embrace

a little child

Before it is too late

Or save an

older person

From the horror

of that fate.

Enable me to be alert

And hear the

weakest shout,

And quickly

and efficiently

To put the fire out.

I want to fill my calling

And to give the best in me

To guard my

every neighbor

Guest View

Thursday, October 12, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Stopping scammers before they steal from you

It seems you can’t look at the news or social media nowadays without reading about email and phone fraud.

Scammers will pretend to be just about anybody —utility employees, bank employees, even IRS agents — to try to get hold of your money or your personal information.

It’s enough to make you want to block everyone out. That’s unfortunate, because there are some genuine opportunities out there that can help you save. But sometimes it’s hard to separate them from all the scams and swindles.