Parkland Press

Monday, December 18, 2017

GUEST VIEW

Wednesday, August 2, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The unknowns of radiation made easier by Therapy Dog

I wasn’t sure what to think or ultimately expect, despite the radiation oncologist and other medical professionals explaining the process to me.

My first radiation appointment two weeks ago at Lehigh Valley Hospital, Salisbury Township, included meeting with the doctor and reviewing the goals of treatment and its side effects.

The doctor then escorted me into the radiation room.

As with most rooms reserved for running tests and conducting treatments on patients, this room was sterile, bright and cold.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, August 2, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

What is a “God moment?” I didn’t know, I cannot pretend,

Until I picked up the phone and called an old friend.

When she heard my voice, she was silent at first, then said ...

This is a “God Moment.”

I said, “What do you mean?”

She said, “I am now in a nursing home, sad and alone

hoping someone would visit or maybe just phone...

And here you are ... that is a “God Moment!”

I was in shock and in awe to think I was there

To help someone who was in despair.

It brought up some memories of times in the past:

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, July 27, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Coming together to support a colleague

The world was rocked July 19 when it was announced Sen. John McCain, R-Ariz., had been diagnosed with a primary brain tumor known as glioblastoma following a procedure to remove a blood clot from above his left eye at Mayo Clinic Hospital in Phoenix, Ariz.

“The senator and his family are reviewing further treatment options with his Mayo Clinic care team. Treatment options may include a combination of chemotherapy and radiation,” according to a statement the Mayo Clinic released July 19.

volunteer OPPORTUNITIES

Thursday, July 27, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

·Center For Animal Health and Welfare, Easton, is seeking volunteers to walk dogs, assist with morning cleaning, attend off site events to promote the shelter, cat and dog enrichment and general shelter help.

Contact Walt Hoffman at 610-252-7722 ext. 4 or ecahwvolunteercoordinator@rcn.com.

·Northampton County Historical and Genealogical Society, Easton, is looking for a library coordinator to oversee its daily operations and provide efficient, effective and integrated services.

Call Andrew Zellers- Frederick at 610-253-1222 ext. 11 or AndrewZF@northamptonctymuseum.org.

Guest View

Thursday, July 27, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Midyear wrap up

We have hit the halfway point in the state legislative year and I want to take this opportunity to update you on some of the legislative measures I have personally been working on to improve health care, the job climate, and education, while also implementing needed reforms and protecting taxpayers.

The greatest success thus far is that my legislation to improve stroke care in Pennsylvania was signed into law.

Chosen Words

Thursday, July 27, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

America

“My country ’tis of thee, sweet land of liberty,

Of thee I sing.”

Too many people forgot about this,

And they don’t want freedom to ring!

They don’t value the liberties we all enjoy;

Its anger and hatred they seem to employ.

I wonder where all of the anger comes from?

The freedoms we share are for everyone!

I wish we could turn it all around.

I wish we would all smile instead of frown.

I wish we would all share our joy and love.

I wish we would all thank the ‘man up above.’

One-in-three U.S. drivers can’t pay

Thursday, July 20, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

According to a new AAA survey, 64 million American drivers would not be able to pay for an unexpected vehicle repair without going into debt, highlighting the importance of taking every precaution possible to keep your car running smoothly.

Although an average repair bill can cost a driver up to $600, the price can soar higher when a vehicle has been poorly maintained.

LIVING THE VINTAGE YEARS The world is our classroom

Thursday, July 20, 2017 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK in Opinion

I am a lifelong student. I try to learn something new every day.

No, I don’t sit in a classroom semester after semester, year after year, or take courses on the Internet, although I would enjoy both of those pursuits, too.

I always loved school, from first grade through grad school.

To me, the whole world is a gigantic classroom, full of fascinating free lessons for all of us.

Some folks partake of this wonderful opportunity to gain more knowledge, while others pass up the chance.

ANOTHER VIEW

Thursday, July 20, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Let’s Build Construction Camp for Girls has a full house during inaugural week

Last month, the Lehigh Valley celebrated a first when it became home to the debut of the Let’s Build Construction Camp for Girls.

The camp welcomed teen girls ages 14-18 for a week of instruction, study and hands-on experience in construction trades, architecture, engineering and construction manufacturing.

Chosen Words

Thursday, July 20, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

God’s World

It truly is God’s world! I thank him every day, as I awake

And see the sun as nighttime rolls away.

When I arise each morning, there’s color everywhere;

The trees, the grass, the flowers, all swaying in the air,

The colors of the rainbow reflecting from the sun,

The vast blue sky, with wispy clouds, they float by one by one.

The shades of green are varied, and as you look around,

The yellows, reds, and purples are poking through the ground.

The time of year won’t matter; in summer, spring or fall,