Parkland Press

Thursday, August 22, 2019

Another View

Wednesday, May 8, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Happy Mother’s Day

This coming Sunday, May 12, is Mother’s Day.

This is a day for all children, young and not-so-young, all across America to honor the woman who gave them love and guidance as they were growing.

According to History.com, celebrations of mothers and motherhood can be traced back to the ancient Greeks and Romans who held festivals to honor the mother goddesses Rhea and Cybele.

Mother’s Day arose in the 1900s due to the efforts of Anna Jarvis.

Her mom, Ann Reeves Jarvis, was a social activist during the Civil War era.

Candidate seeks votes for Parkland School Board

Wednesday, May 8, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

My name is Patrick H. Foose and I am a candidate for the Parkland School Board.

I believe we need to “Inspire the Next Generation.”

This is why I support the investment of programs that promote the health and development of the whole child.

The arts, sports, foreign language, finance, life and technical skills are vital in providing a well-rounded education.

In turn, this will enhance a student’s ability to understand culture, diversity, and learn 21st century skills.

Guest View

Wednesday, May 8, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

AAA: Don’t let prom turn deadly

Every year, the prom proves to be a special night for teens to celebrate the end of the school year with friends.

However, it can also turn deadly, as teens face additional risk factors with the celebrations at hand.

With prom season upon us, AAA East Central reminds parents and teens to take steps to avoid preventable and potentially deadly crashes caused by alcohol or distracted driving.

Election Policy

Wednesday, May 8, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 Municipal Primary Election, the Parkland Press and the Northwestern Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office was the May 2 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

Guest View

Friday, May 3, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Challenges for Muslim youth during Ramadan

Ramadan, is the ninth holy month of the Islamic lunar calendar, where the beginning of month is determined by the sighting of the crescent moon, which varies from year to year.

This year, Ramadan begins May 6 and end on June 4 with the celebration of Eid-ul-Fitr.

Fasting is an annual observance that is one of the five pillars of Islam.

Fasting requires Muslims to refrain from drinking or eating anything (yes, even water) between sunrise to sunset (up to 15 hours).

Editor’s View

Friday, May 3, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Cards anyone?

If you are in need of a deck of cards, contact Washington state Sen. Maureen Walsh. She has received hundreds of decks of cards in response to comments she made April 16 about nurses

While debating a bill proposing uninterrupted meal and rest breaks for nurses, as well as further protections against mandatory overtime, Walsh said nurses in critical access hospitals with relatively few patients “probably do get breaks” and “probably play cards for a considerable amount of the day.”

This from a woman whose mother was a registered nurse.

Chosen Words

Friday, May 3, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

I Don’t Agree

I don’t agree with everything I hear.

I don’t agree with everything I see.

You don’t agree with me and that’s OK.

America was made that way!

America means freedom, in all we say and do.

I think that is wonderful, and I hope that you do, too.

I don’t agree with burning flags,

I think that’s a disgrace.

I wish that everyone,

Could find a way for

Hatred to erase.

Shirley Binkley

Cedar View Apartments

shrobi53@gmail.com

Election Policy

Friday, May 3, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

A message to candidates, readers

As we approach the May 21 Municipal Primary Election, the Parkland Press and the Northwestern Press, in the interest of fairness, will halt publication of columns by local government officials and letters to the editor submitted by those running for office.

The last week for publication of columns by local government officials running for office is the May 2 edition.

We will, of course, continue to cover the local races, in news stories generated by our own reporters.

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Friday, May 3, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Writer questions swimming pool proposal

To the Editor:

I was not able to attend the recent Lynn Township board of supervisors’ meeting when a swimming pool project for our township was proposed.

I base this comment on the extensive coverage provided by the Northwestern Press in the April 18, 2019 issue.

The group proposing the pool offered their own survey.

The 89 percent favorable responses of the only 490 people surveyed represents support of only about 10 percent of our township.