Parkland Press

Thursday, August 17, 2017

Letter to The Editor

Wednesday, April 12, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Candidate for magisterial district judge states reasons for running for office

To The Editor:

First, let me say, it is a great honor and privilege to be endorsed by Lehigh County’s top law enforcement officer, District Attorney Jim Martin.

His confidence in my ability to perform the duties of magisterial district judge in District 31-3-1, which includes Lynn, Heidelberg, Lowhill, Washington, Weisenberg townships, and Slatington borough, is very important to me.

As a Lehigh County commissioner, I have had the opportunity to witness the hard work of the district attorney and his department.

volunteer Opportunities

Wednesday, April 12, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

·American Red Cross of the Greater Lehigh Valley, Allentown, needs volunteers to join the Lehigh Valley — Bucks Chapter’s Volunteer Recruitment Team.

Contact Susan Kalkhuis-Beam at 484-402-4718 or Susan.Kalkhuis-Beam@redcross.org.

·D&L National Heritage Corridor Inc., Easton, needs volunteers to help plan its spring dinner auction scheduled for April 27 at Northampton Country Club.

Contact Danielle Wolfrum at 610-923-3548 ext. 238 or Danielle@delawareandlehigh.org.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, April 12, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Once and Future King

He was the one

The one for whom they were waiting

Yet they did not recognize Him

Some called him the King of the Jews

But His kingdom was not of this world

He will come again

Sometime in the future

When He will reign forever

But now He reigns in our hearts

This once and future king

For He is the King of Kings

And Lord of Lords

And He shall reign forever and ever

D.J. Hausman-Hill

Lititz

Too much, too little, too soon

Wednesday, April 12, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

What do you think of when you hear the phrase “overindulged children?”

I always thought of kids who had a lot of stuff and opportunities.

You know, the kind of kids who rarely hear the word “no” and seem to get everything they want. The kind who act bratty and entitled.

But a recent read of a book called “How Much is Too Much?” by Jean Illsley Clark Ph.D. expanded my perception of what overindulgence really is.

And to my surprise, my score on a questionnaire I completed in the back of the book classified me as one who unintentionally overindulge my kids a bit.

Guest View

Wednesday, April 12, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

House approves Mackenzie bill to provide better protection of local tax dollars

We appreciate the men and women who step up and fulfill the role of tax collector within our municipalities.

Most of these individuals are hardworking citizens who do an outstanding job, however, we have had instances over the years in which some tax collectors have taken advantage of the current law and used it to steal money from the people they are supposed to be serving.

volunteer opportunities

Wednesday, April 5, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

·Center For Vision Loss, Allentown, is looking for volunteers to be “Annie’s Angels” to do home visits, read mail and provide companionship.

Contact Rita Lang at 610-433-6018 or rita.lang@centerforvisionloss.org.

·D&L National Heritage Corridor, Easton, needs volunteers to clean and organize the National Canal Museum.

Contact Scott Everett at 610-923-3548 ext. 232, facilities@delawareandlehigh.org.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, April 5, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The Book of Life

The book of life goes quickly by, the pages ever turning,

our future ever changing; our minds forever learning.

As science keeps advancing, our knowledge keeps expanding.

I say — turn back the pages!

Go back to days of yesteryear, when people had the time to care.

The days of 5-cent ice cream cones;

and kids were never left alone.

The days when we were satisfied,

and not embarrassed if we cried.

Turn back the pages!

When families were the living dream,

when marriage was forever.

another view

Wednesday, April 5, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Fishing: it’s not just about dinner

“Fishing is much more than fish. It is the great occasion when we may return to the fine simplicity of our forefathers.” – Herbert Hoover

***

I’ve only gone fishing three times in my life. The opening day of trout season in the Lehigh Valley Saturday got me to thinking, though, about the attraction and significance of the sport.

I only recall going fishing with my father one time. We were on a family vacation, and he took four of us, ranging in age from about 5 to 10, to fish along a creek bank. I was 9.

Guest View

Wednesday, April 5, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The fall of Trumpcare It was about Obama not Obamacare

The Bible warns that pride goeth before the fall. When Trump ran for office he said the Affordable Care Act, disparagingly referred to Obamacare, was a disaster and would collapse under its own weight and that when he becomes president he would fix it day one.

He said it would be beautiful. Well, he failed. But the reason for the failure started not when Trump allied himself with Paul Ryan, it started on the day Obama became president.