Parkland Press

Friday, March 23, 2018

Guest View II

Thursday, October 5, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Internet gambling is wrong for Pennsylvania — and dangerous for America

If you are reading this sentence, chances are you are doing so on a computer, a mobile phone, or a tablet.

Scroll or swipe up a few centimeters and you aren’t just in your home or in your office — you’re suddenly in a full-fledged casino that’s open 24/7.

Just as you are one click away from the dangers of predatory internet gambling companies, so too are our kids, seniors, low-income individuals, and those with debilitating gambling addictions.

I learned of the true problems with internet gambling when I served on the House Gaming Oversight Committee.

Editor’s View

Thursday, October 5, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A lemon of a decision by Judge Smith on Lehigh County’s official seal

The secular zealots who originally challenged Lehigh County’s official seal in 2015 will not be happy until all symbols of Christianity are removed from public view.

The Freedom From Religion Foundation in Wisconsin, which supported four Lehigh Valley members’ efforts to have the Latin cross in the center of the county seal removed, must be smiling smugly after a federal judge’s decision Sept. 28.

U.S. District Court Judge Edward Smith upheld the group’s viewpoint — well, sort of — that the Latin cross should not be part of the county government’s official seal.

Guest View I

Thursday, October 5, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

National Newspaper Week

National Newspaper Week, Oct. 1-7, is the time to celebrate the impact newspapers have on their communities, and to recognize the dedicated individuals who work diligently so that you, the reader, receive the news and information that you want and need, day in and day out.

A free press is more important than ever and newspapers have always been at the forefront of serving our communities.

Chosen Words

Thursday, September 28, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The Toilet Seat

May I ask you a question about the toilet seat?

Why is it so important to so many folks you meet?

Was it up, or was it down, when you went in the “room?”

Does it really matter, and, if so, to whom?

Leave it up? Put it down? Whatever shall I do?

Whichever way I choose to go, most likely won’t suit you!

We want our bathrooms beautiful, as rooms go that’s the prime!

But is the toilet seat’s position part of that design?

People shouldn’t argue over such a silly thing.

Another View

Thursday, September 28, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Every day, American families place their loved ones in nursing homes and trust they will be properly cared for by the staff.

Eight senior citizens died Sept. 13 from excessive heat inside the Rehabilitation Center at Hollywood Hills, Hollywood, Fla., when the nursing home’s air conditioning stopped working during a power loss and its backup generator failed after Hurricane Irma hit Florida Sept. 10.

Guest View II

Thursday, September 28, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Hunting abounds in Pennsylvania

With the change of seasons comes the anticipation of many residents to hit the woods and begin the long tradition of hunting in the commonwealth.

Pennsylvania boasts one of the largest hunting populations in the country, with nearly 1 million hunting licenses sold each year.

We are blessed with an abundance of state parks, game lands, forests, and mountains that are home to everything from fox, turkey, deer and bear.

Guest View I

Thursday, September 28, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Trump, the NFL, the flag and protest

So once again Trump has started a fire-storm to distract attention to the failure of his party, with complete control of the government, to pass a health care bill or anything else. Rather than talking about the tension regarding North Korea, America has been in a debate over NFL players protesting by taking a knee when the national anthem is played under the flag of the United States.

As the distraction has occurred and there is no way around it, let’s consider the biases that have come to light over the NFL players’ protest.

volunteer Opportunities

Wednesday, September 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

·Center for Animal Health and Welfare, Easton, is seeking volunteers to walk dogs, assist with morning cleanings, attend off-site events to promote the shelter, cat and dog enrichment and general shelter help.

Contact Walt Hoffman at 610-252-7722 ext. 4 or email

·Allentown Rescue Mission, Allentown, is looking for volunteers to help plan its WAEB Spaghetti Dinner on Oct. 14.

Contact Deirdre Federico Snyder at 610-740-5500 ext. 322 or

Chosen Words

Wednesday, September 13, 2017 by The Press in Opinion


What is all that ruckus that we hear in football season?

For wives to be so darn upset — I just don’t see the reason.

To watch some men who run around and try to catch a ball,

Some times is rather funny, especially when they fall.

At times they look quite silly while running in the rain;

Although they don’t give up, no way, they want that ball again!

They act like little children, sometimes they even fight;

They push, they shove, they grunt, they groan, and run with all their might.