Parkland Press

Sunday, August 19, 2018

Editor’s View

Thursday, April 12, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

And, what will you do when spring finally arrives?

The brave daffodils are long peeking through the frozen ground. Although bent over, as if weeping, they remain defiant, blooming bright yellow despite nighttime and early morning below freezing temperatures.

Patches of short, blue flowers cover the ground where the grass has dared not to grow.

Twigs and branches lay scattered across the backyard, ripped from the trees during damaging winds that marked this past winter.

volunteer OPPORTUNITIES

Thursday, April 12, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·Center for Animal Health and Welfare, Easton, is seeking volunteers to walk dogs, assist with morning cleanings, attend off-site events to promote the shelter, cat and dog enrichment and general shelter help.

Contact Walt Hoffman at 610-252-7722 ext. 4 or cahwvolunteercoordinator@rcn.com.

·Independent Senior Transportation Network LV, Bethlehem, is looking for volunteers to drive seniors to medical appointments, grocery stores, physical therapy, and other places.

Contact Lois Favier at 610-419-1645 or lois.favier@itnlehighvalley.org.

CHOSEN WORDS

Thursday, April 12, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Humble and Proud

Humble: modest, respectful

Proud: honored, gratified

Regarding my gift of writing:

I am “humble” for my ‘task’ God bestowed,

Although I’ll never know why;

As words continue to flow into my mind,

I’m very “proud”

that I can comply.

When I sit down to write,

words hang in thin air;

I don’t even take time to think,

When, suddenly,

words just appear.

I’ve had this “affliction” for many years,

And I write as much as I can;

I never know when it might suddenly stop,

Guest View

Thursday, April 12, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Protecting you and your child’s identity

Identity theft doesn’t only happen to adults with credit cards and bank accounts — it is also happening to children.

The Federal Trade Commission has noted identity thieves deliberately capture the Social Security number of a child in order to obtain employment; apply for government benefits, car loans and mortgages; and open new accounts.

Stealing the identity of children is a growing trend because no one thinks to check the credit records of a child.

Guest View

Thursday, April 5, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Distractions top list of growing dangers for drivers

Distracted driving tops driver’s list of growing dangers on the road, according to a new survey from the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety.

The annual Traffic Safety Culture Index shows that 88 percent of drivers believe distracted driving is on the rise, topping other risky behaviors such as:

•Aggressive driving: 68 percent

•Drivers using drugs: 55 percent

•Drunk driving: 43 percent

The proportion of drivers who report talking on a cellphone regularly or fairly often when behind the wheel jumped 46 percent since 2013.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, April 5, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Writer says solution to problem in schools is following God

To The Editor:

“As the schools go, so goes the nation” has been quoted many times throughout the decades.

When I attended public school from 1949 through 1961, there was always a Bible on the teacher’s desk.

Every morning we read 10 verses of Scripture, prayed the Lord’s Prayer, pledged the American flag, and sometimes sang a hymn or a patriotic song. We were then dismissed for class.

We were protected under God’s umbrella, so to speak. Now, there is no longer a Bible on the desk, or prayer, or a song.

Another View

Thursday, April 5, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Will a surge of women running for political office change government?

Ever since the 1700s, most political offices in the United States have been held by men at both the state and federal levels.

However, all across America today, Americans are seeing a surge of women running for political offices.

Just recently, actress Cynthia Nixon announced she is running for New York governor.

According to the Center for American Women and Politics at Rutgers University website, approximately 708 women have filed to run in 2018, for either U.S. Congress or in statewide elections.

CHOSEN WORDS

Thursday, April 5, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

In the Shadow of the Cross

As I gazed upon the shadow of the cross ...

our faithlessness became more despicable

He died on the cross

not just for you and me

But for all peoples of all times

Miraculously, he arose from death

giving us hope for another life

A life beyond the darkness of this world

into the brilliant light of His presence

How then can we live onto ourselves?

How can we not serve our neighbor?

It is this reality that prompts us

as we live our lives

In the Shadow of the Cross

D.J. Hausman-Hill

Lititz

Invite some natives to your property this year

Wednesday, March 28, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

I have been busy making a list and checking it twice. And thrice.

No, I am not trying to get an absurdly early start to Christmas.

I am trying to decide what new plants to add to my many containers and small backyard plots.

My recent visit to the Philadelphia Flower Show put me in the mood, as it always does, for working in the garden.

And plant and seed catalogs have been filling my mailbox for months, enticing me with gorgeous photos and bargain prices.

Admittedly, small-space gardening is a challenge.