Parkland Press

Thursday, August 17, 2017

Chosen Words

Thursday, March 30, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

We’re sitting here awaiting, the winter’s last snowfall,

Despite the peril it can bring, we always watch in awe.

The silence of the falling flakes

As they descend upon the lakes;

It casts a spell upon us all, as we sit here and watch them fall.

The snowfall is so humbling, so pure, so fresh, so white;

We almost hate to see it go, but it will soon take flight.

It must make way for summer; it mixes our emotions.

We start to think about the warmth and all the summer notions.

The colors bursting everywhere, as flowers nudge the ground,

Guest View

Thursday, March 30, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Stigma, shame often bar Muslims from seeking help for addictions

Alcohol and drug abuse is a serious community issue as well as global public health and medical problem affecting every faith and demographic group.

It is also a highly stigmatizing problem especially among Muslim populations, which limits the data collection and research.

We, as a Muslim community, have failed miserably to address forcefully the problem of substance abuse and have shoved it in the closet.

Substance abuse is frequently found in Islamic countries as well as in the luxury villas of Florida and California.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Thursday, March 30, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Punishment for littering has to hurt in order to be effective

I remember the commercial from my childhood: a Native American standing roadside, a tear rolling down his cheek as he sees the beauty of the landscape stripped away by litter.

That public service announcement, part of the Keep America Beautiful campaign, first aired in 1971.

LIVING THE VINTAGE YEARS

Thursday, March 23, 2017 by BONNIE LEE STRUNK in Opinion

March into spring

The old gray sweatshirt now has a hole.

Given to me more than 50 years ago, it looks like something I should be using to scrub the kitchen floor.

Yet I still wear it around the house and have no plans to banish the shirt to the rag bag.

Why? Because in faded letters it proclaims across the front, “I act different because I am different.”

The friend who gave me that sweatshirt really knew me. Truer words would be hard, if not impossible, to find.

VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

Wednesday, March 22, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

· American Cancer Society, Greater Lehigh Valley, needs volunteers age 21 and older to drive cancer patients to scheduled treatments. Drivers must have a valid driver’s license, a good driving record, a reliable vehicle and proof of insurance, complete a background check and driver check and attend a brief orientation.

Contact Jennifer Washney at 570-562-9749, ext. 320 or email Jennifer.washney@cancer.org.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, March 22, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Spring

Though April showers are coming your way,

Do not despair, do not dismay.

For they shall induce to your cheerful surprise,

A rainbow of color in front of your eyes.

Each raindrop that splashes will nurture a seed,

that lies there awaiting to fulfill its need,

to flourish and blossom and poke up its head,

to sculpture the beauty in each flower bed.

The days will lengthen; the nights grow short;

the bitter cold weather soon will abort.

The blazing sunshine, the flowers in bloom,

LETTER TO THE EDITOR

Wednesday, March 22, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Reader searching for local hero

To the Editor:

The March 15 East Penn Press carried an Another View (by Susan Bryant, Parkland Press editorial assistant) with the headline “How Altruistic Are You?”

Well, there’s one man in our town who is very altruistic indeed.

On Sunday afternoon, I was working in my home office and spotted the FedEx truck outside.

I had been anticipating a return shipment of my personal journals — covering my life from 1980 to 1982 — from a Utah company called Legacy Scribes, which was helping me with a memoir project. (I work as a book author.)

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, March 22, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Maybe the Secret Service should watch ‘The Wild, Wild West’

During the late 1960s, and now in playing in reruns, the television series “The Wild, Wild West” featured two Secret Service agents, James West, played by Robert Conrad, and Artemus Gordon, played by Ross Martin.

In 1999, the futuristic western, set in the late 1860s and ’70s, was made into a movie featuring Will Smith as West and Kevin Kline as Gordon.

Through the use of Jules Verne-sque gadgets and weapons, the duo were tasked with protecting the 18th president of the United States, Ulysses S. Grant, and saving the country from the evildoers of all stripes.

GUEST VIEW

Tuesday, March 14, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Trees are valuable resource for future health of the planet

In “Another View” for Feb. 22, Stacey Koch pushed for urgent action to counter climate change.

A part of this action should be the protection of the trees that we have across the state of Pennsylvania. Pennsylvania is “Penn’s Woods.”

The people of our state cherish their properties, their trees, their shrubs. Would you want it to be otherwise?

We understand the need to cut trees to maintain the reliability of the electric grid and to generate lumber, but we would like to make a plea for less aggressive tree clearing by electricity and commercial logging companies.

Another View

Tuesday, March 14, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

How altruistic are you?

Every day, someone becomes a victim of a crime. And, then there are those who risk their own lives and safety to help those in need.

When Daniel DeTurck, of Reading, Berks County, saw an Amber Alert Jan. 3 on his phone asking the public’s help to locate an infant abducted by alleged murder suspect Antonio Velazquez-Rupert, DeTurck didn’t hesitate to help.

When DeTurck, a security guard, saw a vehicle matching the description in the Amber Alert, he dialed 911 and took off after the vehicle — with no thought for his own safety or personal situation.