Parkland Press

Friday, June 23, 2017

Chosen Words

Thursday, February 16, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

The Wind

Did you ever wonder what it is

that “nips” at you and me?

That blows your hat right off your head?

Well ... it’s the wind, you see.

It howls and growls all winter,

its angry voice implies,

That it will be around a while,

at least ’til winter dies.

The wind can dance and it can sing,

it doesn’t skip a beat,

It has a kind of humming sound,

while whirling ‘round your feet.

It turns umbrellas inside out and whirls the paper all about;

It chants a sort of rhythmic beat

Another view

Thursday, February 16, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Travel ban shows White House ineptitude

President Donald Trump’s Jan. 27 executive order has led to some w results that are making me nervous about our country’s new leader and his White House staff.

I am not surprised the order, which blocks admission to the United States by individuals from seven counties, was issued.

After all, one of Trump’s campaign promises was to institute a policy of “extreme vetting” to keep the country safe from terrorists.

We did not have to wait long for him to take the action. The executive order was signed just eight days after his inauguration.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, February 16, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

‘We want our elections to be fair, our votes to count and our voices to be heard’

To the Editor:

In response to the brave and angry letter of Regina Clark in last week’s Press weekly newspaper, I heard you, Regina, and I support you.

Sen. Toomey is currently very comfortable with the extreme picks of Trump and why not?

Although Sen. Toomey squeaked by in his two senatorial elections, for the next five years he can cruise.

He can’t be bothered with the concerns of his constituents.

However, a powerful beast has been unleashed within the public. He will be hunted.

A resist movement has begun that won’t be silenced, won’t be put off.

Chosen Words

Thursday, February 9, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Sweethearts

Whether long term

or short term

Sweethearts are

the names we say

of those whose love goes beyond themselves

and focuses on another with sweet abiding love

Oh, the mystery

and the passion

that engulfs us

in such bliss

Never explaining where it came from

Always strengthening the bond

A bond that grows internally

as we live love day by day

in the words that speak devotion

in the deeds those words convey

Oh, how can words express such love?

Or, truly share what’s in our hearts?

Music to a parent’s ears

Thursday, February 9, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

There are some words that just make my day.

“How did you survive raising me?!” is a question that is truly music to my ears.

My oldest son called me one morning to say he was absolutely exhausted from dealing with his 5-year-old.

I smiled.

You see, Dan was my challenging child.

He went on to tell me how Jackson insisted upon dressing like a pirate to preschool that day.

They tried everything under the sun to convince him it was not appropriate to wear a costume to school in December, but Jackson persisted.

I smiled even more.

Guest View Attention span leads to snacking of news

Thursday, February 9, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

We may be living in a never-ending glut of information, but we are just snacking on the news.

On top of that, we are losing our focus and faced with countless distractions that make previous enjoyment such as reading a much more challenging task.

Whether it’s an incoming cellphone call, an email or text message, hanging out on social media for hours on end or the sudden thought that you haven’t listened to voice messages on your phone, we are constantly on high alert for checking on available information. How did we get to this point?

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, February 9, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Letter writer chides Toomey for support of Betsy DeVos

To the Editor:

Sen. Pat Toomey’s constituents have spoken.

We’ve spoken so voluminously and so loudly we’ve been unable to reach Toomey by phone or fax.

Today, I am dismayed at Toomey’s written response, in which he relays he will support Betsy DeVos for Secretary of Education despite the flooding of opposition to her from his constituents.

We see who Sen. Toomey serves and it is not the people in his state but the people with deep pockets: families like the DeVos family who have donated nearly $60,000 to his campaign.

VOLUNTEER opportunities

Thursday, February 9, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

·Pinebrook-Compeer of the Lehigh Valley needs volunteers for one-on-one friendship matches. Compeer matches volunteers from the community with members who are in stable, mental health recovery. Volunteers spend time with the member doing things such as talking over a cup of coffee, taking a walk, going to a free concert and many more. Hours are flexible and available in both Northampton and Lehigh counties.

Contact 610-774-1450 or email compeer@pbfalv.org.

Editor’s view Keep calm and …

Thursday, February 9, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

How would you complete that statement today?

In the wake of a highly contentious election, and an equally stressful postelection season, people seem to be struggling to find their source of calm and healing.

Would you choose to pray or protest?

Do you find comfort in the company of like-minded citizens, even if they are complete strangers? Or, do you find yourself staying close to home and holding your loved ones just a little closer?

I would complete the above statement in two ways: Keep calm and stay educated. And keep calm and journal.