Parkland Press

Tuesday, October 16, 2018

Another view

Thursday, June 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Think before speaking

“If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.”

Before acting, I ponder this phrase taught to me by my mother years ago. If whatever I am about to say or do does not fit the framework of “something nice,” I simply refrain from putting it out to the world.

This second look has stopped me from doing a lot of things I know I would have regretted.

“When anger rises, think of the consequences,” Confucius said.

Guest View II

Thursday, June 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Teen driver crashes kill 10 people a day during 100 Deadliest Days

As school lets out for summer, AAA stresses the importance of preparing and educating inexperienced teen drivers for some of the most dangerous driving days of the year.

More than 1,050 people were killed in crashes involving a teen driver in 2016 during the 100 Deadliest Days, the period between Memorial Day and Labor Day.

That is an average 10 people per day — a 14-percent increase compared to the rest of the year, according to data analyzed by the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety.

VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

Thursday, June 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·Allentown Youth Soccer Club, Allentown, has volunteer opportunities including coach, assistant coach, team manager, registration assistants and administrative (sort copies and deliver flyers). Open board positions include registrar — collect and manage player data, communicate with coaches; travel league representative and recreational league representative — attend quarterly league meetings and report back to board and coaches.

Contact Louis Holzman at 610-674-2870 or louisholzmannutrition@gmail.com.

CHOSEN WORDS

Thursday, June 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Hoist the balloons for the month of June

Month that you are those near and far

Attend celebrations as countless as stars

Sailing through birthdays, graduations, weddings, anniversaries, reunions

From the first to the 30th

We attend each event

Purchase gifts galore

So there’s ample delight

Such a splendid occasion is June

What a sight!

D.J. Hausman-Hill

Lititz

GUEST VIEW I

Thursday, June 7, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Some tips if you are planning to move

Are there new faces in your neighborhood?

If so, it’s no surprise. At PPL Electric Utilities, we know that more than 200,000 of our residential customers set up new electric service or transfer their existing service in an average year.

That’s about 15 percent of our residential customers, which might seem like a lot at first.

CHOSEN WORDS

Thursday, May 31, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

In my dream I could see it “clear as day”

There it was on the calendar

The 33rd day of May

I wonder ... Is this some metaphor? ... or a portent?

So much happening outside our frame of reference

Terrorist attacks

Climate and environmental changes

Severe seismic shifts

Another Arab Spring?

“Wars and rumors of wars”

Person’s sensibilities are shaken

The Mayan calendar ended Dec. 21, 2012 (winter solstice)

Will a new calendar emerge?

Or will there be collapse and chaos?

Perhaps a new world order ...

Editor’s View

Thursday, May 31, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A weekend of love vs. hate

The weekend of May 18 to May 20 was a study in the contrast between love and hate, good vs. evil.

On Friday, hate prevailed as Dimitrios Pagourtzis, a 17-year-old student at Santa Fe High School, Santa Fe, Texas, walked into the school’s art complex with a shotgun and a handgun and began shooting at his fellow students.

In the end, 10 people were slaughtered. Another 13 were wounded. Pagourtzis was taken into custody following a shootout with police.

Guest View

Thursday, May 31, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Summer travelers seeking sunny destinations

Millions of Americans are counting down the days until their summer vacations begin, with most U.S. travelers planning trips to warm-weather destinations.

Orlando has retained its top spot as the most visited domestic travel destination, while Honolulu and Maui, Hawaii, have both grown in popularity compared to last summer.

Care for the caregiver first

Thursday, May 31, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A few weeks ago I heard a startling statistic that frightened me.

During a caregivers’ class at a local hospital, the facilitator told attendees that 80 percent of caregivers die before their patient does.

Initially, that news sounded unbelievable. Surely there was some mistake.

But the more I thought about that high figure, the more sense it made.

Often caregivers are consumed by the strenuous routine required in providing 24-hour care for a loved one who is dependent on them.

According to studies, the caregiving role is tremendously stressful.

Tribute planned for Vietnam veterans

Thursday, May 24, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Photos are needed

The Department of Military and Veterans Affairs wants to help pay tribute to all of the men and women from Pennsylvania who died as a result of the Vietnam War.

For the past two years, the DMVA has partnered with the Vietnam Veterans Memorial Fund, Washington, D.C., to find a photo of every Pennsylvanian whose name appears on the Vietnam Veterans Memorial Wall.