Parkland Press

Thursday, August 17, 2017

CHOSEN WORDS

Tuesday, March 14, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Gusts of Change

Words portray the month of March

Lion...lamb... kites that arch

blown high by gusts of wind

that sail lofty colors

in brilliant contrast

against stark beige earth

Earth soon to become green again

When soaked by April rain

Ah, this month when earth awakens

And birth begets spring

spring… that anxiously awaited season of our hearts

when bulbs and buds emerge from winter’s sleep

A portend of awaiting millennial change

Gusts of change soon to move us to new days...new ways

VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES

Tuesday, March 14, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

·Allentown Rescue Mission has an immediate need for volunteers to make the annual gala event happen. If you love planning events, help is needed with silent and live auctions, setup and decorations, greeting and registration and centerpiece committees. Gala committee meetings are being held weekly. The date of the event is April 8 at DeSales University.

Call Deirdre Federico at 610-740-5500, ext. 22 or email dfederico@armpa.org.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, March 8, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

A very ‘Lucky’ adventure

Everyone loves a little adventure now and then, especially when you are a 3-1/2-year-old black-and-tan tabby named Lucky from Lower Macungie.

Oh, and did I mention he is blind?

Lucky’s adventure began around 1:15 a.m. March 1, somehow living the life of an escape artist and leaving the comforts of his home in the Ancient Oaks West development.

A flier was placed on social media sites and sent to various news outlets March 2 asking for help locating the escapee.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, March 8, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Colds

Along with winter comes

this thing that everyone just dreads,

It makes us feel real miserable

and settles in our heads.

Of course, I’m speaking of a cold,

that lousy little thing

That seems to follow us around

from winter into spring.

We must be very careful

and dress warmly all the times;

Although we cannot see them,

they are always on our mind.

When someone sneezes, you sure hope the germs don’t spread to you.

‘cause if you catch a cold, then you will soon be sneezing, too.

Guest View

Wednesday, March 8, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Road deicers cause $33 billion annually in vehicle rust damage

As the end of winter approaches, millions of Americans will face pricey vehicle repairs from rust damage caused by chemicals used to deice roadways.

According to a new AAA survey, U.S. drivers paid an estimated $15.4 billion in rust repairs caused by deicing methods over the last five years, or approximately $3 billion annually.

AAA warns drivers, especially the 70 percent (150 million) who live in areas affected by snow and ice, to take action to prevent dangerous rust-related vehicle damage to brake lines, fuel tanks, exhaust systems and other critical vehicle components.

ANOTHER VIEW I

Wednesday, March 1, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Wisdom in the age of dementia

Last week, former teen idol David Cassidy announced his dementia diagnosis.

According to media reports, the singer and television star, who once was the object of numerous fan clubs and had the ability to pack music venues with screaming tween and teenage girls, was struggling to remember lyrics to his songs while on tour.

Musician Glen Campbell announced his diagnosis of Alzheimer’s in June 2011 and headlined a farewell tour, with three of his children in the band, to perform for fans.

ANOTHER VIEW II

Wednesday, March 1, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Fatal road crashes involving marijuana double after state legalizes drug

Fatal crashes involving drivers who recently used marijuana doubled in Washington after the state legalized the drug, according to the latest research by the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety.

New research also shows legal limits for marijuana and driving are arbitrary and unsupported by science, which could result in unsafe motorists going free and others being wrongfully convicted of impaired driving.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, March 1, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

Wouldn’t it be Nice?

Wouldn’t it be nice if there’d be peace throughout the entire land?

Wouldn’t it be nice if you meet someone, you always extend your hand?

It wouldn’t matter who they are; what color, race or creed,

It’s simply another person, and perhaps ‘one in need.’

Wouldn’t it be nice if all the protests soon came to an end?

Wouldn’t it be nice if all those folks found love, instead, to send?

Wouldn’t it be nice if we didn’t hear those words that are so ‘foul’?

One would think they dig them up from deep inside the ‘bowel.’

We need to worry about climate change now, not later

Thursday, February 23, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

“The climate is changing, it’s our fault and we got to get to work on this.” Bill Nye, scientist, in a video release for the documentary “Bill Nye the Science Guy”

“The Lord God took the man and put him in the Garden of Eden to work it and take care of it.” Genesis 2:15

“If you besiege a town for a long time, making war against it in order to take it, you must not destroy its trees by wielding an ax against them. Although you may take food from them, you must not cut them down. Are trees in the field human beings that they should come under siege from you?” Deuteronomy 20:19

Chosen Words

Thursday, February 23, 2017 by The Press in Opinion

I Remember

I remember days of old when people used to care.

I remember hopes and dreams were things one used to share.

Friends were always true to you, they always

understood,

and I remember saying things not bad, but always good.

Things today are different and people sure have

changed;

You don’t know who your friends are or who might be

deranged!

You can’t go out alone at night for fear you might be mugged.

I remember people always wanting to be hugged.

It’s really sad to think about how nice it used to be,