Parkland Press

Monday, June 18, 2018

Chosen Words

Wednesday, January 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

A Winter Day

A winter day is quite confusing!

It starts out sunny, oh so nice, then changes every hour.

I look outside and see the drops, we have a little shower.

It’s raining now, and I say “yea,” at least it isn’t snow.

I go outside to take a walk; the wind begins to blow!

It’s only wind; I don’t mind that; I‘ll hang around a while.

I walk around and wave at friends, and give a little smile.

I’ve walked about a mile now, it’s time to turn around,

When suddenly, it’s SNOWING, and it’s really coming down!

Letter to The Editor

Wednesday, January 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Writer offended by Editor’s View

To The Editor:

The Editor’s View by Deb Palmieri titled “My New Year’s Wish for 2018,” in the Jan. 4 Parkland Press offends me.

It is very upsetting that women are being questioned by a woman in a position of influence, being accused of seeking a moment of fame and/or not telling the truth.

Obviously the writer has never been in a vulnerable position where screaming, physically retaliating or running away are not viable options.

Guest View II We must fight against proposed newspaper tariffs

Wednesday, January 17, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The viability of local newspapers, including the one you are reading now, is being challenged by the proposed newspaper tariff on the import of uncoated groundwood paper — the type that is used to print this newspaper and others across Pennsylvania — from Canada.

Simply put, newspapers in the commonwealth cannot absorb the additional financial burden this proposed tariff is sure to create.

Another view

Thursday, January 11, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Feminism and the ‘glass ceiling’

On Jan. 10, 1878, the amendment granting women the right to vote was first proposed.

This right wasn’t permitted for women until the passing of the 19th Amendment Aug. 18, 1920. I know there is a lengthy process for such changes, but 42 years seems excessive.

It’s worth noting Merriam-Webster’s 2017, word of the year is “feminism.”

According to a Dec. 13, 2017, article on BBC News, the spike in interest for this particular word originated from the increase in women’s marches, sexual assault allegations and new television shows and movies focusing on women’s issues.

Guest View I

Thursday, January 11, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Nourishing the family

If you want to know how many items come up when you enter “manure” in the search box on the Penn State Extension home page, the answer is 61.

That is just between the various agricultural programs that provide education to farmers and growers. Really, there should be more.

Manure is a “nice” word or technical term for something else we also call fertilizer. But let’s face it — even in family relationships, sometimes things can get pretty ... well, you know.

Guest View II

Thursday, January 11, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Honoring veterans using special ID card

One of the many ways in which our communities show their appreciation of our veterans and current servicemen and servicewomen is by stores and companies offering them discounts and other promotions or services.

In order to receive the discount, a person typically needs to show his or her DD-214 form, which most people do not feel comfortable carrying around with them.

Chosen Words

Thursday, January 11, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Judgment

Do not sit in judgment when new people you do meet.

Simply extend your hand to them and smile as you greet.

You do not know this person; do not judge them by their clothes.

They may be the sweetest one you’ll ever meet, who knows?

You should not judge a person by the color of their skin.

You need to get to know them first, and know them from within.

You should not judge a person by their body size, for sure!

You do not know their circumstance or what they must endure.

Letter to The Editor

Thursday, January 11, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Letter writer offers different view on mass incarceration

To the Editor:

Regarding the Another View by Mohammed Khaku in the Dec. 28, 2017, edition of the Parkland Press on mass incarceration, I believe the motivation for Mr. Khaku writing his opinion letter is he feels the criminal justice system disproportionately harms minorities.

His goal is to offer the false logic of social justice as a way to protect minorities from becoming modern day slaves, (using his words).

Justice is the deserved treatment of people, be it punishment or reward.

By definition, justice is social because it is of, for and by the people.

Guest View

Thursday, January 4, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Stopping scammers before they steal from you

It seems like you can’t look at the news or social media nowadays without reading about email and phone fraud.

Scammers will pretend to be just about anybody — utility employees, bank employees, even IRS agents – to try to get hold of your money or your personal information.

It’s enough to make you want to block everyone out. That’s unfortunate, because there are some genuine opportunities out there that can help you save. But sometimes it’s hard to separate them from all the scams and swindles.

Chosen Words

Thursday, January 4, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Silver Hair

Silver hair usually indicates

That you are growing old.

Along with all that silver hair,

Comes stories to be told.

We’ve lived a long time to earn that hair;

We’ve been through many hard times;

We always managed to work things through,

Without committing crimes.

We watched our brothers go off to war,

And prayed until they came home.

When they did return, they were welcomed with love,

And they no longer felt so alone.

We respected our country,

Our anthem, and flag;

We treated our military with respect.