Parkland Press

Friday, December 14, 2018

Children sometimes have to make mistakes to learn from them

Wednesday, August 1, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Over the years, I have written about how my three (now adult) children have vacillated between thinking their parents are bumbling idiots to believing that we are seers full of enlightenment and wisdom. As I move from being the parent to the consultant/coach for our youngest child, my ideas or suggestions are often met with “Yes, mother! I know that, mother!”

Clearly, we are currently in bumbling idiot mode.

My son moved out of his college apartment last May along with three of his roommates. The one remaining guy stayed until August.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, July 25, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The Roads of Life

There are many hills and valleys throughout life,

Just like the roads we travel;

There are many situations

That one must sometimes unravel.

We roll along and things are smooth

When suddenly there’s a bump!

We have to slow down and work things out,

Until we are over the hump.

Many times we’ve driven around and found,

A very curvy road ahead that we must get around;

As life itself can throw us curves

From which we must re-bound.

Sometimes we drive across a bridge

To get to the other side;

Editor’s View

Wednesday, July 25, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The last straw

National and local news reports over the last several weeks have focused on efforts by environmentalists to ban plastic straws, which endanger marine life once they make their way to the oceans and apparently live on forever in landfills.

McDonald’s began the movement, announcing June 4 biodegradable paper straws would be used throughout the United Kingdom by 2019.

The company also said it would begin testing plastic straw alternatives in the United States later this year.

McDonald’s CEO Steve Easterbrook spoke with CNBC’s “Squawk on the Street” in early June.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, July 18, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

The ‘Floater’ and the ‘Fly’

The other night I saw a fly,

it flew right past my eye;

I ran for the fly swatter, and I

really, really tried,

To kill that pesky fly.

Well, I looked left and I looked right,

And much to my surprise,

I saw that fly where’ere I looked,

It was a ‘floater’ in my eye!

Well, I relaxed and looked no more,

I thought that I was done;

When, suddenly, before my eyes,

There was another one!

Another floater, (so I thought),

Oh, there it goes again!

But then I KNEW it was a FLY,

Writer says fleeing immigrants can strengthen

Wednesday, July 18, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

Our country is being destroyed by immigration.

We are experiencing an invasion that threatens our health, our economy and our ultimate viability.

The immigration of insects, invasive plants, animals and pathogens can destroy us.

The immigration of families fleeing violence can strengthen our economy and our country.

William Klein

Master Watershed Steward

New Tripoli

Guest View

Wednesday, July 18, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Purple Heart Day to honor wounded, deceased soldiers

The Purple Heart is awarded to members of the United States Armed Forces who are wounded or killed during service.

It was created by Gen. George Washington, whose appreciation of the importance of a soldier in any campaign impelled him to recognize outstanding valor and merit by granting a commission or an advance in rank for the person concerned.

volunteer OPPORTUNITIES

Wednesday, July 11, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

·Center for Animal Health and Welfare, Easton, is seeking volunteers to walk dogs, assist with morning cleanings, attend off-site events to promote the shelter, cat and dog enrichment and general shelter help.

Contact Walt Hoffman at 610-252-7722 ext. 4 or cahwvolunteercoordinator@rcn.com.

·Meals on Wheels of Northampton County, Bethlehem, is seeking meal delivery volunteers 18 and older.

Contact Keri Young at 610-691-1030 ext. 20 or kerig@mealsonwheelspa.org.

guest view II

Wednesday, July 11, 2018 by The Press in Opinion

Whose ox is being gored?

As a liberal Democrat, I’ve been appalled by the potential harm done to our country by President Donald Trump’s administration, particularly to the environment and to our relationships with the rest of the world.

But I agree with the Trump supporters who have decried the attacks on administration officials in restaurants and other areas of their private lives.

There’s no excuse for asking people to leave a restaurant because you don’t agree with their policies, or for harassing them in public places.