Parkland Press

Thursday, August 22, 2019

Guest View II

Wednesday, April 10, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Local Government Week, April 8-12

On average, township supervisors in Pennsylvania earn just $1,875 a year. For this, they attend countless meetings, maintain and plow roads, build parks, and balance budgets. On top of that, these local elected leaders represent more Pennsylvanians — 5.5 million — than any other category of local government officials in the state. That’s 44 percent of the state’s population.

You may read about them in the newspaper or see them along local roads, plowing snow in the winter or patching potholes in the spring.

EDITOR’S VIEW

Wednesday, April 10, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

College scam shows parents’ lack of faith in children’s own abilities

The court system is ably handling the parents involved in Operation Varsity Blues, and the man behind the scam to influence college admissions’ decisions at some prestigious American universities.

It’s now time to stop talking about those who’ve allegedly committed the crimes and start thinking about all those who’ve been negatively impacted by their actions.

Four words can make a caregiver’s day

Thursday, April 4, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

When the phone rang one midmorning, I considered not answering it.

A bit overwhelmed by my caregiving tasks, I was not in the mood to deal with sales calls or surveys.

But I answered it anyway. And I am glad I did.

A retired friend, Nancy, told me she was out and about doing errands.

“Do you need anything?” she asked.

What magic words. These four simple, wonderful words made my day.

Of course I needed something. I almost always need something.

Another View

Thursday, April 4, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

As the saying goes, ‘April showers bring May flowers’

Not only do the April showers give life to flowers, they also bring a host of hazards and concerns.

Spring weather can be unpredictable. The temperatures swing back and forth between cool and hot.

Mark Twain once said, “In the spring, I have counted 136 kinds of weather inside of four and 20 hours.”

We all are familiar with the usual temperature shift issues. You leave the house with a sweater on to protect against the morning chill, but by 2 p.m., you are sweating.

volunteer OPPORTUNITIES

Wednesday, March 27, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

·Cedarbrook Senior Care and Rehabilitation, South Whitehall, has residents who love going to the in-house beauty shop, but these residents often need someone to push their wheelchair or walk beside them.

Contact Kerry Magliane at 610-336-5684 or kerrymagliane@lehighcounty.org.

·Community Bike Works, Allentown, is looking for volunteers to teach the class in the Earn-a-Bike program.

Contact Hannah Miller at 610-434-1140 or Hannah@communitybikeworks.org.

·Lehigh Valley Active Life, Allentown, is looking for volunteers to help with bingo on Wednesdays.

Guest View

Wednesday, March 27, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Robocallers: Knock it off

When I visited the Panther Valley recently, some friends and I agreed one of the most annoying disruptions is the unsolicited and unwanted marketing call.

When I gave up my home telephone about three years ago to rely exclusively on my cellphone, I anticipated these robocalls were going to be a distant memory. Obviously, I had another think coming.

Editor’s View

Wednesday, March 27, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Journalists’ privacy takes flight like mythology’s winged horse

The reality of author George Orwell’s “1984” hit me one night when I coughed while sleeping.

A voice from my smartphone, which was on a nearby table, replied to the sound I had just made saying it was sorry, but it did not understand what I had just said.

The phone had been listening to me just like the telescreens of Orwell’s dystopian novel.

Egads! I wonder if I ever talked in my sleep.

Chosen Words

Wednesday, March 27, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Goodbye Winter! Hello Spring!

Goodbye winter; it’s time for you to go!

Goodbye to all your cold and wind,

And, all your ice, and snow.

Hello spring! It’s nice to see you here;

Your warmth and fragrant flowers,

Will be welcomed, everywhere.

Winter was a wonderland,

of that there is no doubt;

But sunshine, warmth, and showers,

Will bring the beauty out.

The hidden beauty ’neath the snow,

Was waiting for its time,

To raise its head and spread its joy

Of excellence, sublime.

The trees will bud and spread their leaves,

Letters to The Editor

Wednesday, March 20, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

Writer concerned with lack of N. Whitehall meeting coverage

To The Editor:

On March 7, there was a North Whitehall Township meeting. Jeff Bartlett presented the township board and a crowded audience, a plan to rezone a track of Kernsville Road and another track of Route 309 in Orefield to light industrial.

I feel it is important that all North Whitehall residents are informed that such an action is being discussed for approval.

Several residents shared complaints about the trucking company on Kernsville Road, and how they are not being compliant with ordinances.

Born or unborn: Made in God’s image

Wednesday, March 20, 2019 by The Press in Opinion

To the Editor:

I was appalled to recently see Hillary Clinton and the New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo celebrating the Pro Choice Law passed by the New York state Legislature permitting abortion to take place on babies from the time of conception to and including full-term births.

Children are a gift from God who are made in this His image. They each have their own DNA.

Is there no value to life anymore?

The abortion industry is making millions of dollars to kill innocent children and then selling their body parts. Our tax dollars support this industry, unfortunately.